RSA Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be improved
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside11 April 2019
Not the worst place to work for but considering i’ve worked in other contact centres I’m surprised that the Liverpool office has won contact centre of the year in 2018. From previous experience I’ve had plenty of support from floor walkers and leaders that know exactly what they’re talking about, coming to here i’ve noticed on most occasions my leader has to confirm what they’re telling me is the right answer with others and there is hardly any support on the floor, especially when most leaders are in meetings day in day out. Leaders are always reluctant to help you with your query and look as though they have better things to do? Salary could be improved for current staff as many of us are still on low salaries considering they’ve upped the pay for new starters - I suggest they look after their own staff first. Will most likely leave this place after a while not been here long but don’t see any career progression worthwhile. I think they should also put their funds into more support staff than upping new starters salaries. Departments in the office are no help and are always cold transferring customers through to wrong departments. Better to avoid this place to be honest
Pros
Good benefits/discounts, paid training
Cons
Unpaid lunch, uncompetitive salary, no help, lack of knowledge in leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
Claims Handler (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire13 March 2019
If your a little different in personality hear then this is not the job for u, they expect far to much from you as an individual especially for the money.
If u have an opinion then its fround upon. You have to walk on eggshells and be careful of the knives u get in your back. You are unable to express feelings, opinions and most of all u have to pretend to be someone your not.
As for management we'll let's just say they couldn't manage a drink up in a brewery! This is the worse place I have ever worked and I have never been treated so unfairly in a work place. However if u are someone that just wants a boring job with no stress and they say jump and u request how high then this is the job for you.
Pros
Free tea and coffee, benifits
Cons
Management, salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere.
Home claims handler (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire9 February 2019
Managers are bullies, you are simply a number to them. Once you've been there 1 year they will do anything to make you quit your job. I don't understand why they don't just terminate but the truth of it is, you get go up in pay quickly which is the incentive so from 16250 to 18000 in a year is normal but you have to put up with so much abuse.

The other downside is they advertise this job at 16250 but will openly email around for you to recruit friends starting at 17500.

Communication is terrible and it's frowned upon to talk to other departments. You may sit 2 meters from them but you have to email as speaking off the phone is not allowed.

I would advise you go elsewhere no progression and you will only gain health problems as a result.
Pros
Free tea and breaks are decent.
Cons
Clueless management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory
Customer Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire4 April 2018
Go through the motions of reviews etc; but even if you have worked your butt off and there isn't the budget for you area then you don't pass go. When they decide they want to save money regardless of the loss in customer service and make you redundant you are tossed on to the scrapheap without any support. Very disappointed in how they treat their loyal staff and thought they would be a more responsible company to work for especially with their long history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They expect a lot
Claims Handler (Current Employee) –  Halifax1 February 2018
Excellent initial training, but support in the job is very hit and miss. It’s high pressure and extremely stressful dealing with customers motor claims. The hours and shifts are awful and the annualised hours are dropped on your schedule every week, sometimes working 40+. There is no life work balance and it’s virtually impossible to get the holiday dates you want.
Pros
Free tea coffee hot drinks. Lots of benefits
Cons
They don’t expect you have a life outside work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at RSA
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire27 November 2017
Your just a number at RSA. They don't value their employees. Managers look after each other. Call centre environment. Salary is not competitive due to work involved. I worked in household claims
Pros
None
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Bicester11 June 2017
my roles within the company ranges from picking and making up orders to fulfil customer needs.
Unloading lorrys with a forklift, ensuring all products are to the highest of quaility and fit for sale.
Proof reading paperwork form the drivers To ensurre all is correct and all stock is as documented.
picking from the warehouse and to reload Lorry's using a forklift.
General house-keeping duites to ensure the warehouse is easily accessable,
organised and free from any damaged stock or equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Operations Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex23 March 2017
A lot of training and support is given especially when you first join. Depending on who your manager is, you receive one-on-one training.
The company invest in their empployees.
Pros
Flexi days
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training program
Drama Teacher (Current Employee) –  Coventry31 January 2017
I am half way through my training with the RSA, it has been fantastic so far.

I have found that the schools direct program has given me a good platform to move forward with my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training provided exciting challenges. Everyday is different.
Technical Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 January 2017
I had a wonderful career at RSA over a number of years. I have actioned many different roles within the cmpany statring in accounts and handling the cash payments to underwater at a basic level to Team leader and finally high licence level Technical Underwriter.
During the latter position my daily duties ranged from dealing with high licence level underwiting queries, complaints. Negotiating and presenting risks to Head Office.
Coaching and Developing department team. Introducing new products and delivering training to the Customer Teams. Testing Knowledge and appliying relevant working licences to developing staff.
Investigating risks Auditing outcomes and producing reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Claims Advisor (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford15 November 2016
Personally at great place to work and met many life long friends there. Work was diverse, challenging and rewarding. Again personally I was able to work with many different areas and disciplines during my time with RSA.

RSA provided excellent benefits and really engendered a family attitude which resulted in many people like myself having lengthy careers there.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lost its way
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filled with good people.
Consultand ProFin (Former Employee) –  Glasgow22 September 2016
A great workplace with lots of nice people. The office is centrally located l and I don't have a bad word to say about anyone who works there. It's busy with lots of dedication. Early starts and late nights are not too much of a chore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Household Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sheffield5 August 2016
RSA were a great employer, their employee benefits are brilliant. They always recruit great staff and everyone is passionate about the job. The customer benefits from this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Customer Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough2 May 2016
At RSA you be part of a team where you share the same goals. Opportunities are given for those who would be looking to develop their career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax29 March 2016
On the phones dealing with queries as they come through from policy queries to sales and accounts..
I have learned i can do a multiple ogf jobs from sales, service, retentions, accounts queries, complaints handling, The hardest part of your job is dealing with complaints and handling them with care to make sure they are dealt with within the company guidelines and also being subject to treating the customer fairly, the most enjoyable part is being able to provide a very quick and efficient service to customers so they can walk away happy and also leave feedback of the service offered and willing to tell other about it.
Pros
Being able to provide a high class service
Cons
Not much available as in regards to progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work - great team ethos
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Halifax8 March 2016
A great place to work with great team ethos. Very close knit work community, with people that are always willing to help - on site library, parking and cafe
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going call centre job
customer manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax1 March 2016
RSA is an insurance company, the office in Halifax is an easy going place, there are no uniforms and suits are not necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
M.I. Analyst (Current Employee) –  Manchester City Centre24 February 2016
Typical day
Your tasks and priorities changing hourly
challenging and interesting requests
What I learnt
to analyse and interpret data
gained faith in management
Management
excellent managers in that not only did RSA recruit on skills alone
but also ensured their personalities would fit
Co-workers
brilliant team working
everyone supported each other
Hardest part of the job
Systems - in that information was spread across numerous different
systems and ETL was a must
Enjoyable part of the job
challenging and varied work
brilliant co-workers
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usual office enviroment - Limited Skills required, No career
SME Underwriter (Former Employee) –  GLASGOW2 December 2015
Decent enough place to work if you want to sit with a headset all day and not really engage your brain to much, typical day is taking calls from brokers who have querys about insurance they are putting through for all kinds of businesses, you have a set guideline on stuff you can allow and cant allow and if its something your unsure about or above a certain limit (quote wise) you set a case up for a higher level underwriter/adviser who then talks you through what decision you should make, they use the job term underwriter when you complete your training but overall you are more just a contact center advisor you dont generally underwrite anything yourself, and part of the job is making minor amendments to policy's, the progression is minimal its like you have to complete a spreadsheet working on certain cases and then present your case for moving up a licence (which means you may be able to agree slightly more stuff on the system) kind of like being good in school and getting moved to a harder workbook. Worked with people who had been there 10 years and were on same level or slightly higher. The training you are given is alot of product knowledge but can be irrelevant as after 4 or 5 weeks you are told just to go on the phone, and then the person who trained you does not answer questions, just says 'speak to the team' , hours and salary are decent enough and the majority of staff i worked with were all decent and friendly, although most people who work on the floor cannot be bothered answering questions! and you get left to alot yourself. Management staff were all ok, although  more... they didnt actually know the job that well and i felt whenever you approached them they kind of try to make you feel like a child, but thats contact centers/offices for you. I felt alot of staff didnt take any responsibility for stuff, again you get that in contact centers, i have now moved onto a job on something i studied and no longer work in an office enviroment and i am thrilled! Overall a decent enough job, but limited prospects and under qualified management and neg your salary well on arrival as it will not go up much no matter how long you work there!  less
Pros
Nice office Grounds, staff nice
Cons
No career progression, poor bonus scheme, training is not given properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you dont want progression
Lead Legacy Investigator (Former Employee) –  Liverpool13 August 2015
People just coming into work will find this a rewarding job, but cannot ever be settled because it cant offer secure career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RSA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 101 reviews
541
426
316
29
19

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture