Rs McColl Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place of work with a friendly team in place.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Livingston11 January 2018
Very busy small shop and post office.
Many aspects of this job has taught me about good customer service.
An overall intersting and challenging work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
paper round (Former Employee) –  Perth, Perth and Kinross1 August 2017
Typical day would mean waking up at around 6am and working for about an hour to an hour and a half. From the job i learnt what its like to have a basic job part time job. I'd say the hardest part of my job was mixing it with getting ready for school straight after. the most enjoyable part of my job way the exercise, helped to wake me up every morning and put me in a good mood
Pros
Working meant I had spare money
Cons
Can become stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy all the time!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 March 2017
Frantic and busy fast pace is what you need for this, along with a drive to be the best. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the long hours and managing your work life balance.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Team
Paper Boy (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen14 December 2016
I enjoyed going there everyday and seeing the people who work there before I went off to do my papers. I have learnt hoe to deliver papers. The manager was very friendly and liked working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Trainee Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Glasgow9 June 2016
best job I have ever had and would love to have another job like that but had to be full time as I have my own house and a daughter to provide for.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Carluke20 October 2015
I would typically start at 9 and would be on the tills straight away until my half an hour lunch break at 12, after lunch I would help either re stock the shelves or do general cleaning.
My co workers were all very nice helpful people and my manager was very helpful and very easy to approach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
paper boy (Former Employee) –  haddington, edinburgh13 October 2015
worked early mornings, never got in the way of anything. worked for 45 minutes and day at 6:30am. getting up early was very hard on Saturdays.
Pros
..
Cons
..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glenrothes, SCT23 August 2015
I enjoy working at RS McColl as it allows me to gain experience in retail and further my knowledge of financing. I love working with the staff as they are all friendly and very cheerful all the time.
Pros
Other staff know how to have a good laugh too.
Cons
Not sure there is any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT22 September 2014
I enjoyed working with my own team and enjoyed solving problems as and when required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard job - no job security
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Scotland24 April 2013
Depending on what store you work in the hours can take over your work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers, not a great company.
supervisor (Former Employee) –  glasgow18 November 2012
my co-workers were great to work with, they were fun and easy to get along with. the most enjoyable part of the job was getting appreciation for the work we done by the customers. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with ignorant customers.
Pros
good customers, great co-workers.
Cons
long hours, single manning, poor salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rs McColl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 12 reviews
54
44
33
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
3.7Culture

Rs McColl Reviews by Location