Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Christmas Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire20 March 2018
A very hectic workplace which meant the time went quickly. It was great to come across such a variety of people from differing backgrounds, interests and ages.

Learned to work as part of a team but also was left to carry on with our duties when necessary. The hardest part of the job was when the first class post needed to be dealt with as this was so time crucial.
Pros
Meet some great people from variety of backgrounds, ages etc.
Cons
Working environment chaotic and impersonal. Space at break times was very limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place and Enviroment and only continues to get worse
Indoor Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 March 2018
Poor Management and Leadership. Poor opportunities for Part-time staff to become Full-time. Bullying and harassment still continue to staff and temporary managers.
Pros
People/ Staff
Cons
Royal mail
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire18 March 2018
Night shifts worked with some amazing managers and colleagues.
Got to know a variety of different people
Hardest part of the job try not to fall asleep
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company to work for
Royal mail Collections Driver (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent17 March 2018
Brilliant company to work for, this knowledge comes from my previous experience from working for the company for over five years and being contracted for them individually for two years as a professional driver.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ancient
Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  London17 March 2018
I didnt particularly have a great experience at the time - it was stresful and the lead was very pushy almost threatening. I didnt know what the best way to handle or if I could involve HR hence decided to move out.

Lack of transparency - it was awful for me. Long hours and I was learning so it felt like I was trapped to do it or just get out.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Mail Sorter and Christmas Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds15 March 2018
I was sorting letters and parcels for royal mail. It was enjoyable to be part of a team and we all worked together as one. The management were very good and the training was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freindly working enviroment
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Swansea15 March 2018
I enjoyed working at the Royal Mail. I did mail sorting, stamping and helped colleagues scanning incoming mail.

Great place to work, but I never had enough shifts, and I needed more to get better money
Pros
good hourly rate
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Postman (Former Employee) –  Tunbridge Wells, Kent15 March 2018
Basically start the day by sorting mail and prepping duties ready for delivery. Then, after van checks go out and deliver mail. On return to office return any items to their respective places.
Overtime is available. Mainly going out to collect mail from businesses and post boxes.
From this job good time management, working as a team and on one's own, how to route a delivery can all be learned.
Hardest part of job is the early starts and the easiest is being out on delivery. Though the management did use bullying and harassment techniques to coerce the workforce into compliancy.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Bad management culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Reserve Delivery Driver / Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Nottingham14 March 2018
Not bad to work in pleasant atmosphere. Always busy never stop working hard, focus on health and safety, honest people to work with, managers always under pressure from higher up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough workplace
Ordinary Postal Grade (Former Employee) –  Great Yarmouth14 March 2018
Very hard to please management at local level. Management expectations often unrealistic.The weather can play a big part in the enjoyment of the job. Need to be fit
Pros
Pension
Cons
Bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Royal Mail?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employees ,poor managers
Postman/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Marborough13 March 2018
A hard working team of post men and women completely ruined by bullying, humiliation and poor management, very little to say other than a poor working culture.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rubbish employer
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire13 March 2018
rubbish company run by bullies who sit on their backsides all day and earn a living off the backs of delivery staff, a constant battle every day with bully boy managers who know nada about the job.
Pros
none
Cons
multiple
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Postman (Current Employee) –  Newcastle Upon Tyne12 March 2018
Excellent employer, good salary . Early start times, various jobs available, large company, work Saturday, good pension scheme, great workmates and managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
production mail processor (Current Employee) –  langley12 March 2018
Great Company to work.Really good benefit and pension package and reasonable pay deal.Handling customer mail in a secure and orderly way and dispatching mail according to priority
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Postwoman (Former Employee) –  Wymondham12 March 2018
Hard work but worth it. You could walk up to 15 miles. So it is good exercise and will improve both your fitness and waistline. It is fairly well paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postman (Former Employee) –  Cosham11 March 2018
My only regret in life is leaving ROYAL MAIL, the job is fantastic and i enjoyed all the walking that came with the job, working in all weathers didnt bother me and it made the job more exciting
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for
New Business Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Warrington9 March 2018
A good place to work when looking for progression in a sales oriented role.
Work/life balance is manageable and the management does try to meet you half way.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a sales position
Pros
Atmosphere on the team
Cons
Sometimes too much pressure resulting in not enough support from other departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal worker
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  Belfast8 March 2018
Was at royal mail tomb street for 3 years ,sorting mail on nightshift from 200-2003 ,was sorting belfast central firms mail and belfast central ,on days i was out in the walks delivetying mail
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, amazing employer
mdec keyer (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon7 March 2018
I worked here for a year. The staff, job and pay were good. The hours not so much as you have to work every weekend.
I can't fault MDEC. Definitely I'd encourage anyone to work for Royal Mail.
Pros
many
Cons
few
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by union
Inbound/outbound customer service (Current Employee) –  Doxford6 March 2018
permanent staff get everything while you'll be threatened with sack after 1 or 2 sick days (months apart). You will be moved onto whatever campaign the permanent staff don't like and will be messed around with hours to suite the permanent staff.

This place is basically run by the union and permanent staff who constantly cry about any little thing.. Then the temporary staff are messed around to suit the whims of this or let go with only a few hours notice.

Never worked for a company with such contempt of it's temporary staff
Pros
great hourly wage
Cons
Treat like a dog.. the Nissan of call centre's
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,053 reviews
51.2K
41K
3570
2171
1122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture