Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Found 3,096 reviews matching the search See all 3,157 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace
warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 June 2018
The workplace culture is really welcoming and people are there if you need any assistance or do not understand what to do. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the level of work rate as it is quite demanding. However working there means you get to meet all types of people who are really friendly.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work for
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Stanmore, Greater London8 June 2018
Delivering mail. There was a bullying culture that the Management did not address. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with colleagues and my relationship with the customers.
Pros
The customers and colleagues
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company but doesn't seem like it
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield8 June 2018
To say Royal Mail is a large company, you wouldn't know at times when you work for it - in a good way. There is a friendly atmosphere at most sites I worked at with great people
Pros
People
Cons
Too many restructures
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the job but had to leave
Postman (Former Employee) –  Wales7 June 2018
the job as a postman was the best but the overtime was to much i had a accident while i was in work and it took me 2 yrs to recover and dont want to go back because i want to try something new
Pros
the outdooors
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Atherton, Greater Manchester7 June 2018
My day to day at work at royal mail were excellent. I have loved every single time spent at Royal Mail. but it is a time that has come for me to do something different.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good envirnoment to work.
Relay driver (Current Employee) –  Yate, Gloucestershire7 June 2018
Great company to work for wish I could of stayed longer but things happen for a reason.

Overtime is a great and also available.

Comes with great espects
Pros
Free shares
Cons
Work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prospects
temp manager covering various parts of Scotland (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh7 June 2018
Good job and plenty opportunities to go forward and meeting lots of people but how company is designed to deal with their customers sometimes its very difficult to make everyone happy.
Pros
Sick pay, free dentist, private health care.
Cons
Long hours and odd shifts and very physical job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Warehouse Worker, Part-Time (Former Employee) –  Newtownabbey4 June 2018
Royal Mail is a great organisation to work for as it offers the opportunity to develop many new skills such as time management and team-work. Great experience overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple and made easy
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  London1 June 2018
its a simple job really if you finish your located route and drop offs you can go home at that time which leaves you the rest of the day to do as you wish
Pros
early finish
Cons
small pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over before i even started
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire1 June 2018
Was never on a stable route after 10 days, then after that they put me on a route i never was shown how to put

letters into bundles or load your HCT trolley. Theres a map of you go
even though i never was shown the route.

you could be prepping your frame managers walk past not even a good morning or hello
Pros
nice shoes
Cons
not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Postman (Former Employee) –  Orpington, Greater London30 May 2018
I truly loved working at royal mail. Back when I worked there all the workers would catch up in the mornings while preparing there rounds and then go out alone delivering mail. Fantastic job.
Pros
Harder you worked the quicker you were finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only good thing was the money
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Carlisle30 May 2018
The manager continuously kept on changing my hours and then told me I owed her hours without any explanation why. They will use you and take advantage of you and then kick you to the curb when you least expect it. Its not a job you can rely on because you never know if your coming or going
Pros
good pay
Cons
changing the hours all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job is moving from castle donnington to derby
Postman/Driver (Current Employee) –  Castle Donington, Leicestershire28 May 2018
responsible for delivery of mail and packets.to organise the mail and packets in the most efficient way. preparation due to the fact that if you get it wrong you end up going back on yourself.being out in the fresh air.good
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking treatment by bullying manager.
Postman/Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Keighley, West Yorkshire26 May 2018
The job itself would be fine, lots of fresh air and exercise whilst getting paid. Unfortunately bullying from a manager is rife and said manager is hated by most of the workforce for his shocking behaviour and tactics. Seemingly untouchable he brings the entire workplace down.
Pros
Breaks which should take. Decent pay for work involved.
Cons
One bad manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you would expect
Post sorter (Former Employee) –  Talbot green25 May 2018
as it was only for a Christmas job it only went on for two weeks, we were well informed and taught what we should do and why, my main job was primary post code sorting which is the 1st two letters of any post code.
Pros
no pros
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work Poor management
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland25 May 2018
Hard working
Good timekeeping
Honest and reliable
Willing to learn
Can work in a team or alone
Good under pressure



Worked night shift
A good company - strong union representation
Good colleagues to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yh
Paparazzi Nightclub Cocktail Bartender March (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London24 May 2018
Working here was very good I was treated with respect and earned a lot of money very happy. Typical day included 8 hours work and was very good work to do and i enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work flexible job but long hours
Sub Postmaster (Current Employee) –  London24 May 2018
Free tea and lunch break half an hour.Meet different culture people, goodn management, nice friendly staff very near to my home.I really enjoy my work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of expearence gained
POSTAL ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  London24 May 2018
Good job with lots of variety.
It included industrial/domestic/ commercial .
3 Phase / fire alarm / communications / steel wire armoured cable installation and a whole lot more.
Pros
Regular work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Bexhill23 May 2018
A good company to work for gives you job security and a pension you get to meet all kinds of people and make some friends on your way the work very’s from day to day some days it can be very busy and not so
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,159 reviews
51.2K
41K
3593
2184
1132

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture