Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Found 3,254 reviews matching the search See all 3,325 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent internal training programme
Cover Manager (Current Employee) –  South London, Greater London4 November 2018
Royal Mail has provided part time work but I am now seeking full time work. Their internal policy of not offering other roles within 18 months is prohibitive which is why I am seeking other positions elsewhere.
Pros
Very structured business
Cons
limited opportunities as a pert time manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job would be better without the managers
Postman/Driver (Current Employee) –  Scotland28 August 2018
I really enjoyed working at Royal Mail. The job itself is great for keeping active and meeting a variety of people.

The only downfall is culture/management. The hours can also be quite inflexible for appointments etc. but the work/life balance is generally very good if you don't mind getting up early.
Pros
Active, outdoors, customers, locations
Cons
Management, culture, workload at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Postwomen (Former Employee) –  Ammanford29 August 2018
I loved working for Royal Mail. I would sort and deliver the post. the job started to become unreasonable with too much of the door to door without being paid extra, or at all for it. the managers wanted much more from you without paying the extra. the routes were becoming much longer but the time was not being given to accommodate it.
Pros
out and about, seeing lots of people, and the banter in the office.
Cons
managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A satisfying job made a lot easier now once over the delivery and a pal
Postman (Former Employee) –  Derby18 January 2019
When i worked there 2 deliverieds overtime offered if u wanted it
Management poor
Dogs
The public
Workplace hectic
Not a good place to work hard work carrying the sacks and the walking
Pros
Free uniform training for forl lift and hgv
Cons
Bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive and Friendly work environment
Manual Data Entry Keyer (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon29 August 2018
Always something to smile about each day.
Management is caring and helpful.
Your team is friendly and kind, feels like a second family
Keeping up a high accuracy whilst maintaining speed.
Listening to audiobooks whilst working.
Really good induction to an office environment.
Pros
Had a gym and such inside the office
Cons
Nights can get a little slow around 4am
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn new skills
postal transport tech (Former Employee) –  Watford21 November 2018
learned to change the way they work each year on return its changed again not all ways for the better found if you worked hard the mangers try to reward you with little extra breaks 5 mins here and there to get adrink
Pros
shifts to suit
Cons
sometimes heavy and delays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer/ no problems or concerns
Sorter/Packer (Current Employee) –  sheffield outhouse24 August 2018
no problems or concerns, employed as Christmas casual
nights 22;00 to 06;00
learned how to work for a different company after being employed in another industry for 24yrs
relaxed management
good workplace let to get on with work with minimal interference
no problems or concerns with work
meeting new people and interacting
Pros
enviroment
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Postman/Driver (Current Employee) –  Hampshire21 August 2018
Only issue I’ve got is the Seniority of workers .i work extremely hard doing 50 hrs a week .
This is where the Seniority comes in . I’m now down to 30 hrs a week as the hours I was doing is now gone to another post person who’s been there longer than me . I’ve got to work my day off to help make ends meet .
I’ve now had to start looking for other work sadly .
Pros
Meeting ppl and being out in the open
Cons
Cold & wet weather DOGS
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
PHG/Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  North East23 August 2018
Early start times if on delivery not to bad for collections good uniform standard for staff with drying facilities for those caught in the wet. Management some good some not but most have come up through the ranks so have the knowledge. Pay good for the work done and is you want holidays can be purchased to top up the normal ones that come with the job.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not enough full time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganised
Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Swindon7 January 2019
Disorganised workplace.

Permanent employees not managed and get away with laziness.
Favouritism is rife selecting agency employees to work especially at weekends, whereas the agency workers are supposed to be in a pool and equal.
Pros
nice lunches
Cons
ineffective management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable salary - Very hard physical work.
Postman (Former Employee) –  London9 January 2019
I believe this company is on the decline regarding working conditions and salaries. Since going private they expect staff to work more hours however as it is a very physical job there is only so much a human can do in a day.
Pros
Security
Cons
Out in all weathers
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Parcel sorter- temporary night time shift role (Former Employee) –  Skelmersdale3 January 2019
Salary was very good for a night time role and job was easy to do and instructions where given very clearly. Staff very friendly and understanding that was a night time role so may be tired at times. Gave free drink vending machines also
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be so much better.
Collections Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon1 October 2018
Obviously a huge organisation with security and good salary for what the work is. However, terrible management at local level as the Royal Mail managers have no or very little previous managing experience, instead they are simply ex postmen drafted through the Royal Mail system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postwoman (Current Employee) –  Leigh, Lancashire10 August 2018
I love my job at royal mail thanks to my work mates who have great banter in the mornings The job suits my family life and the money is great, and there Is always overtime available if you want some.
Our managers are constantly changing, which is the only downfall at the minute ohhh and them pushing you all the time to do extra which sometimes we cannot do.
Pros
Wage, Work mates school hours
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Postman (Former Employee) –  Fleetwood, Lancashire20 August 2018
I ma currently employed at Blackpool Pleasure Beach,as a catering assistant.
This involves food preparation,serving drinks,keeping the kitchen and food preparation area clean and to a high standard of hygiene when on duty,working weekends and shifts.
I am therefore used to working shifts and weekend and used to working long hours.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 19Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forced over time lack of support
post person (Current Employee) –  Paisley, Renfrewshire10 September 2018
Alot of being told what you can and can't manage.
Bullied into over time by management made to feel bad if you can't. Forced over time on large untested walks.
No breaks of you want to finish in time and then you have to to be paid the money for over time
Pros
Get fit
Cons
No full time, no breaks every day is a fight with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Secure job.
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire29 October 2018
I have worked for the Royal Mail twice. Once in 2007 and last year 2017.

Both times were very good. I was part of the agency staff but i knew that Royal Mail did have overall better benefits and a lot more efficient. There is no time wasting and people have to work hard.

I felt a bit let down last year with the amount of excessive volume from other workers on the night shift.

At times it was hard to focus due to the noise volume. However, they were never really warned about it. Which as a mature worker, i didn't like and felt disrespectful.

However, were these noisy individuals able to do their work? yes, they were. Which is the reason they were never fired. However, i do think management as a whole need to step in and do more on the issue. It cannot be just one sided because you are having good results. Results like that don't last forever and surely at some point the gloves will come off!
Pros
Pay, job security, overtime
Cons
noise volume on night shift, lacking a leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rates of pay and generous holiday entitlement.
Conference Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Rugby, Warwickshire6 November 2018
Productive and fun place to work.
Excellent rapport with colleagues.
Good rates of pay and generous holiday entitlement.
Good working/home life balance.
Pros
Good rates of pay and generous holiday entitlement.
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow2 December 2018
Loved working here, loads of people on shift at the same time, made some really good friend, working together as a team to meet deadlines. Set shifts so you could life outside if work. Overall l really enjoyed working here.
Pros
Set shifts, part time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Postman (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh9 November 2018
This company is falling apart. They expect you to carry the same amount of packages that you’d need a van for. Your areas are massive and they want you to cover other areas on top. Worst company I’ve ever worked for AVOID.
Pros
Left to do the job
Cons
Bad pay, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,325 reviews
51.3K
41.1K
3619
2201
1152

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture