Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable ..friendly workforce
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  Lancaster11 February 2018
I loved working for royal mail....the work was hard but the atmosphere inside the building and the people employed there far out weighed the English weather and the door to doors...it was lovely on a cold winter morning to be offered a hot drink or a bit of shelter from the rain by people you hardly knew...and the smiling faces of people as they go about there lives..people smile at you when your a postie and I miss that..
Pros
Loved working out side..and made friends with alot of your regular customers ..
Cons
Very early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All information is included in my CV
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim9 February 2018
I found the Royal Mail Warehouse a good environment to work in. The majority of the management team where good to work for and had no problems whilst working under them. Overall I enjoyed my time working here and enjoyed the hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a reasonable place to work
Indoor Postman (Former Employee) –  Manchester, UK8 February 2018
moving work to correct areas, and keeping work area tidy. hardest part of the job is trying to get all work done before the next shift arrives to setup there section where we have just finished working at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Post Woman (Former Employee) –  Liverpool8 February 2018
First job, fond memories but was unsociable hours, to many mangers to staff (or it felt like it) good canteen.
good be boring at times as repetitive work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorter
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol8 February 2018
good job , nice salary, hard work long hours but easy to make friends and pretty hard to mess up. Management make sure you know what you are doing and are there if needed.
Pros
good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parmod Kad
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  South West London, Greater London8 February 2018
Royal mail is a good and caring employer to work for. Working conditions are good.

Work under tight deadlines. Customer orientated.

I have learn diverse management and customer care skills.

Workplace culture is committed staff with cheap banter.

Hardest part of the job is to cover the sickness as there are no surplus staff.

Overall the employment is enjoyable with good working conditions.
Pros
Caring & Competitive work environment
Cons
minimum Development opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
straight forward work, for adequate wages
Support the Manager and Admin (Former Employee) –  Gloucester Road North7 February 2018
working for royal mail was excellent I worked there for 28 years. plenty of different types of work and covers all hours. the wages are good for the work that is involved.
Pros
plenty of job types
Cons
progression isnt simple
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable organisation
Work area manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 February 2018
Workplace is very good.
Working environment is good
Health & Safety are in place.
Caring organisation towards the employees with good benefits.
Different shifts available to suite your family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Post Lady (Former Employee) –  Witney7 February 2018
Great place to work, keeps you on your toes, as well as fit and healthy with all the walking around.

Great hours and amazing pay on a weekly basis! With the option of overtime available.
Pros
Hours and pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good option for Xmas work
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  Hendon7 February 2018
Unusually, I worked on Christmas deliveries, within the sorting office as a sorter. I got the impression that most Xmas jobs involved delivering mail. In addition, I would assist the collection drivers to empty the street post boxes.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Indoor Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff6 February 2018
Indoor mail sorter, Almost from to start to finish, i would be indoors sorting letters, parcels and so, Carefully reading the packages and making sure they are delivered on time.
Pros
bouns pay
Cons
Not getting paid for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very interesting place to work
Christmas Casual (Former Employee) –  Sheffield6 February 2018
great atmosphere. lovely people to work with and the works pretty easy too. manager are easy to talk to and do listen if you have any problems and do try and sort them for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit all targets, enjoyable
Business Facing HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Dudley6 February 2018
Busy, learning new rules and procedures to help with all Management skills.
Hardest part of the job is trying to ensure all Managers work towards the same guidelines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire5 February 2018
Fairly reasonable place to work. told what to do and just get on with it. if help needed just ask. managers can be rude unnecessarily. rest of staff pretty friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but enjoyable
Christmas Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Leeds5 February 2018
I was employed as a Christmas Casual. The work can be hard but I've always enjoyed the atmosphere and working with the other members of staff. The hours were good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor wages terrible management!
Owner Driver (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire3 February 2018
As an owner driver avoid! Massive bias on employed drivers and more fines than any other company ie slight mis spell name of signature you don't get paid! This is not in contract!
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.
Post sorter (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk3 February 2018
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.Good salary, friendly people ,nice environment, good organisation.
I learnt how the postal system work and enjoy my job to helping people all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, No compassion for agency work.
Postman/Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire2 February 2018
Terrible management, poor training experience. Promises of employment by management are empty promises they'll hire people with no previous experience and leave it to agency staff to train.
Pros
Short hours if on mail rounds
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Christmas Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Medway2 February 2018
My time at Royal Mail was much better that I imagined at first,
Soon after starting I enjoyed the goo disposition of the managers to help us understand the job.
Altogether my time with them was very nice and I would like to do it again.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No paid lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid, but toxic culture
Customer Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon2 February 2018
They take great advantage of the fact that you are an agency worker and will push you to and beyond your breaking point.

Unnecessarily strict dress codes, they expect an almost cult like devotion. The pay is pretty much the only thing this job has going for it. If you suffer from any sort of depression or anxiety then avoid this place like the plague. If you don't suffer from depression or anxiety, you might by the time you leave here.

Please note that my only experience is in the customer services department, this review should not be applied to any other area of the company.
Pros
Pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,922 reviews
51.1K
4979
3546
2156
1115

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture