Royal Mail Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds18 July 2018
this job is high demanding and need to work very fast to hit targets or deadlines
the staff are some what ok to work with but if you made a simple mistake there not so nice
Pros
wellpay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postman - St Helens
Postman (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside17 July 2018
Terrible company to work for, bad organisation & no progression, treated terrible by management who were untruthful and untrustworthy, which also included not paying employees for overtime, some long standing employees not having a 1 in 6 on the rota which was in their contract entitlement, whilst new employees were doing so. Felt trapped inside the office.

Other side of the job was great, Working outdoors was a bonus and being your own boss, Fantastic salary, pension, shares with other benefits, enjoyed the challenge.
Pros
Working Outdoors, Salary, Other Benefits, Enjoyed Challenge
Cons
Bad Management, No Progression, Bad Organisation, Being Indoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sorting (Former Employee) –  Coventry15 July 2018
It was a good enviroment the workers around were all welcoming the management was good i would definetly work there again shame it was only for christmas.
Pros
The pay was good
Cons
The breaks were not paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rm
Delivery Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Bradford-on-Avon13 July 2018
Is now a challage but with most jobs there are good and bad eggs.
My current area has a bad egg and location is a long way from home there are always jobs local but to progres you havbe to move.
Pros
Sallery is OK
Cons
Distance from Home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne10 July 2018
Wish I could work there again and leave the NHS such a good bunch when I worked here even if it was for a short time the work was easy the money was good who can complain.
Pros
Amazing place to work everyone is so friendly
Cons
Didnt see a fault personally
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be.
Weekend Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire9 July 2018
Not confident in the direction of the business. Very much financially driven these days. This company has enabled me to provide for my family but at the cost of not spending time with them.
Pros
Good rate of pay, annual leave.
Cons
Politics. Culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Study hard at school kids
Postman (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire8 July 2018
Gone from being the best job to do to the worst in such a short time. Its just all about profits now and they dont care how they get them . Management bullying is on an industrial scale. I would hate to be a new starter now as they get so much abuse
Pros
Half Decent pay
Cons
The abuse of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a lot to learn
Mail Sorting (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire6 July 2018
It was based on the fact that my limited time with the company was really impacting than I anticipated. Both the hours and workload were minimal to compare most other companies
Pros
Not really
Cons
Nope
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and can be hard work
Postman (Former Employee) –  Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire5 July 2018
Enjoyed my time there even if it was for a short period....Saturday job only. People there were great and very helpful, management were well spoken and always acknowledged you. Would defo go back.
Pros
Out and about....good wage
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Working Environment
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Derby5 July 2018
to comment about this company, is very difficult because, I worked there for a short period (November to December, Christmas job). but it was an amazing experience everyone was so welcoming and greet-able.
Pros
Good salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with colleagues, but need to be mentally prepared and stable
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Bangor, Gwynedd26 June 2018
typical day is being on the phones talking with customers about enquiries and complaints about royal mail services. I have learnt to stand up and be more confident within my self (as i used to be very shy and nervous). Management will try their best to help you out when they can, but there is regularly miss-communications between them and this causes issues with staff down the line (when one promises leave then the other say you cant have it).work culture is pretty good within the office, between colleagues you get along well with the office, there is hardly any concerns in this area. Hardest part of the job is when you get a customer who is not prepared to listen to you or take your advise and makes you feel victimised by shouting and swearing, this is why you need to be mentally prepared and have thick skin to realise that it should not be aimed directly at you but the company you are working for, also sometimes its hard to hit expected targets. The most enjoyable part of the day is the laughs you have with your colleagues, and the fun and games the managers sometimes set up to make you feel like part of the team and appreciated.
Pros
benefits (discounts and offers)
Cons
shouting customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Government Account Director (Current Employee) –  Location independent25 June 2018
Good variety of roles available in Operations, Admin or Sales, Well know company seen in positive light by customers and public, Parcel market is growing hugely so more opportunities to work in growing sector. Quite a few employee benefits.
Pros
Good employee relationship
Cons
A little slow to move with market demands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will always go back
Christmas Casual (Former Employee) –  Filton25 June 2018
Loved working here Always been part of a good team.
varied job roles. really good work hours suited me well.
good atmosphere in work, especially towards Christmas eve and new years eve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Delivery Officer (Former Employee) –  bitterne25 June 2018
Loved my time at royal mail great work place culture management very helpful great benefits thought i retire there till i picked up shoulder injury and got ill heath retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and testing experience
POSTAL WORKER (Former Employee) –  Strood, Kent20 June 2018
Plenty to do and not much time to rest, the jobs can be menial and a bit on the tedious side but it is a good way for a young worker to make money in hard times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management structure
Postman Delivery (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire13 June 2018
Not forthcoming in telling you what you are entitled to, especially when it comes to expenses , breaks etc..Expectation that you should be at 100 mph all the time.
Pros
Secure employment
Cons
No enhancement for working saturdays. Very poor attitude towards staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overrated
Postman (Current Employee) –  Rickmansworth13 June 2018
Good job with good hours but high pressure from management and difficult work environment and reluctant overtime, poor pension, lack of clarity on future of company
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place too work.
Postal Sorter (Former Employee) –  Ipswich10 June 2018
Royal Mail is generally a good place to work . Bonuses and shift allowances
Plus overtime make the earning potential very rewarding. A generous holiday
Entitlement is allocated according too length of service. extra leave can also be
Purchased with a small deduction from your weekly pay. Advancement into
Management is also encouraged with training and support available too those who wish to do this.
Pros
Extra earning potential. Generous holiday entitlement.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the job but had to leave
Postman (Former Employee) –  Wales7 June 2018
the job as a postman was the best but the overtime was to much i had a accident while i was in work and it took me 2 yrs to recover and dont want to go back because i want to try something new
Pros
the outdooors
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prospects
temp manager covering various parts of Scotland (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh7 June 2018
Good job and plenty opportunities to go forward and meeting lots of people but how company is designed to deal with their customers sometimes its very difficult to make everyone happy.
Pros
Sick pay, free dentist, private health care.
Cons
Long hours and odd shifts and very physical job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,131 reviews
51.2K
41K
3588
2179
1130

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture