Royal Mail Employee Reviews for Sorter

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fun
Post Sorter (Current Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex9 April 2018
Good work place. Lots of people to talk. Benefits such as coffee and tea and water. Managers are okay they don't help very much but are good. People also get treated better then others
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorter
Indoor Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hounslow1 April 2018
loved every minute as a mail sorter working night shift was so different and the culture was busy at all time.
management and staff members was great.
there was no hard work
the job was most enjoyable
and learning to read different address
Pros
good break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and fun work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London26 March 2018
parcel sorter
easy job
Greenford mail center
Christmas casual
i have learned time keeping,sorting speed warehouse working method learned how postcode work
Pros
free car park
Cons
long standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring with little reward
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands22 March 2018
This was just a christmas temp sorting parcels and the best part was i got to work in a group which was fun and i got to make some good friends. However i was working 12-13 hour shifts with only 1 small break.

Also being in a very large warehouse it was extremely cold, the floor being so cold to the point your legs do hurt so shorter but frequent breaks would have been better.
Pros
Made good friends, had fun
Cons
Long hours, short breaks, very cold environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporay work but very enjoyable
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff21 March 2018
this was fast paced work and i enjoyed being part of the team, everyone had to do their share of the work to make sure that the whole team hit their targets
Pros
good teamwork
Cons
not permanent work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire18 March 2018
Night shifts worked with some amazing managers and colleagues.
Got to know a variety of different people
Hardest part of the job try not to fall asleep
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freindly working enviroment
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Swansea15 March 2018
I enjoyed working at the Royal Mail. I did mail sorting, stamping and helped colleagues scanning incoming mail.

Great place to work, but I never had enough shifts, and I needed more to get better money
Pros
good hourly rate
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be part of a clique to enjoy job role
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 February 2018
Very cliquey environment with too many conflicting management decisions that contradict each other leaving employees confused, isolated and under valued.
Cons
cliquey environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff26 February 2018
This was one of the most boring and tedious jobs I have had, the long hours spent putting parcels into baskets with the right postcode is just mind numbing
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds11 February 2018
nice people Not Bad Pay, Management could do with a touch up, royal mail is a huge industry with lots of work to keep you on your feet, Different Levels of services.
Pros
longer breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Indoor Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff6 February 2018
Indoor mail sorter, Almost from to start to finish, i would be indoors sorting letters, parcels and so, Carefully reading the packages and making sure they are delivered on time.
Pros
bouns pay
Cons
Not getting paid for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.
Post sorter (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk3 February 2018
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.Good salary, friendly people ,nice environment, good organisation.
I learnt how the postal system work and enjoy my job to helping people all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daunting
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands31 January 2018
I didn't enjoy working for the royal mail, as I feel like it's not for me, as there wasn't alot of moving space and the other co workers didn't feel like they wanted to work there at all.
Pros
Great for gaining skills
Cons
Can be a daunting atsmophire
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire26 January 2018
only worked there for a short while over the chirstmas break but it was good and played well lovely people and would definately take another job there
Pros
good break and holiday pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
parcel sorter
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands22 January 2018
was friendly staff, job was easy to learn and do, no hard part of the job, as i like to constantly be active to get the parcels sent out to the correct location on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Flexible
Parcel Sorter - Collections (Current Employee) –  Brighton9 January 2018
Flexible, great working hours wonderful and helpful staff. Winter times can be little harder due to the weather conditions however the job is still fun as you get to interact with friendly people through the working shift. The independent side of the job is what I consider to be the best part of the jobs, just do your rounds and head back.
Pros
Working hours, independence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bathgate9 January 2018
I had a great time working here, staff could not be more help in getting you started & happy go friendly place to work. definitely a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sorter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 January 2018
Good Company , Good salary, Team work , busy area , good managers , i really enjoyed work for them . The staff was friendly also the managers . I would like to work for them again
Pros
Not Applicable
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Parcel Sorter (Christmas vacancy) (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton4 January 2018
I really enjoyed working at royal mail and I made some new friends whilst working here which helped me build up my confidence up more and I did learn quite a bit. It was an easy job to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company to work for
Parcel sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton4 January 2018
sorting mail into post-code areas. I learned how to do the job I did. the managers where very helpful and pleasant people. we as employees where very organised by our shift managers. standing for ten hours a shift. work was easy to grasp to a new employee who had never work there before.
Pros
great pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,058 reviews
51.2K
41K
3571
2172
1122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Royal Mail Reviews by Location