Royal Mail Employee Reviews for Sorter

Found 212 reviews matching the search See all 3,261 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism is a big problem.
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands14 November 2018
I was there for 4 years. I was promised a contract over and over again and it didn't happen. I was a good, hard worker that saw people that had barely been there for any time given full time contracts. These people just so happened to be related to the managers. Nepotism should not be the reason people are given contracts. We should be judged on merit.

The Union isn't there to help the workers it seems but to help themselves and the company. Complaints were totally disregarded.
Pros
Good working conditions in terms of breaks and work load was manageable.
Cons
Nepotism and corruption at the higher levels, Abuse of 0 hour workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
LETTER SORTER AND DELIVERY MAN (Former Employee) –  cardiff llanishen3 October 2018
delivering letters to the public each day of the week except sundays sorting mail into differnt addresss putting elastic bands onto them putting them into bags delivering them to hpouses properties
Pros
good company
Cons
heavy job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham1 October 2018
on a typical day at work I would have to be distributing letters to various home addresses, or I was sorting letters. it was a nice and quiet place to work, not too much noise, everyone was concentrated and well manered
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Post woman/Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire30 August 2018
This was the best place to make a living and full of fun.There was flexibility team work and a lot of support from everyone.Always busy Productive and a lot of stuff to learn.Fun activities for charity too
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead15 August 2018
friendly and understanding bosses, really enjoyed working here as it was fun and always busy it kept me on my feet throughout i would always love to go back to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Coder / Sorter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow7 August 2018
moved to relocate and could not get a job to where i relocated otherwise i would still be there.
enjoyed my time there and met lots of lovely people whom i still keep in touch with .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Sorter
Postal Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands3 July 2018
I really enjoyed my time with Royal Mail as the hours an working environment suited my skills set. It provided me wit an insight in a company with large numbers of staff. It was a shame that it was only a temporary role.
Pros
Working with different people, gaing experience
Cons
Lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place too work.
Postal Sorter (Former Employee) –  Ipswich10 June 2018
Royal Mail is generally a good place to work . Bonuses and shift allowances
Plus overtime make the earning potential very rewarding. A generous holiday
Entitlement is allocated according too length of service. extra leave can also be
Purchased with a small deduction from your weekly pay. Advancement into
Management is also encouraged with training and support available too those who wish to do this.
Pros
Extra earning potential. Generous holiday entitlement.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fun
Post Sorter (Current Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex9 April 2018
Good work place. Lots of people to talk. Benefits such as coffee and tea and water. Managers are okay they don't help very much but are good. People also get treated better then others
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorter
Indoor Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hounslow1 April 2018
loved every minute as a mail sorter working night shift was so different and the culture was busy at all time.
management and staff members was great.
there was no hard work
the job was most enjoyable
and learning to read different address
Pros
good break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Royal Mail?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and fun work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London26 March 2018
parcel sorter
easy job
Greenford mail center
Christmas casual
i have learned time keeping,sorting speed warehouse working method learned how postcode work
Pros
free car park
Cons
long standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring with little reward
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands22 March 2018
This was just a christmas temp sorting parcels and the best part was i got to work in a group which was fun and i got to make some good friends. However i was working 12-13 hour shifts with only 1 small break.

Also being in a very large warehouse it was extremely cold, the floor being so cold to the point your legs do hurt so shorter but frequent breaks would have been better.
Pros
Made good friends, had fun
Cons
Long hours, short breaks, very cold environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporay work but very enjoyable
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff21 March 2018
this was fast paced work and i enjoyed being part of the team, everyone had to do their share of the work to make sure that the whole team hit their targets
Pros
good teamwork
Cons
not permanent work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire18 March 2018
Night shifts worked with some amazing managers and colleagues.
Got to know a variety of different people
Hardest part of the job try not to fall asleep
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freindly working enviroment
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Swansea15 March 2018
I enjoyed working at the Royal Mail. I did mail sorting, stamping and helped colleagues scanning incoming mail.

Great place to work, but I never had enough shifts, and I needed more to get better money
Pros
good hourly rate
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be part of a clique to enjoy job role
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 February 2018
Very cliquey environment with too many conflicting management decisions that contradict each other leaving employees confused, isolated and under valued.
Cons
cliquey environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff26 February 2018
This was one of the most boring and tedious jobs I have had, the long hours spent putting parcels into baskets with the right postcode is just mind numbing
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds11 February 2018
nice people Not Bad Pay, Management could do with a touch up, royal mail is a huge industry with lots of work to keep you on your feet, Different Levels of services.
Pros
longer breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Indoor Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff6 February 2018
Indoor mail sorter, Almost from to start to finish, i would be indoors sorting letters, parcels and so, Carefully reading the packages and making sure they are delivered on time.
Pros
bouns pay
Cons
Not getting paid for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.
Post sorter (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk3 February 2018
Very nice place to work and friendly workplace.Good salary, friendly people ,nice environment, good organisation.
I learnt how the postal system work and enjoy my job to helping people all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,261 reviews
51.3K
41.1K
3607
2196
1143

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Royal Mail Reviews by Location