Royal Mail Employee Reviews for Mail Sorter

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero hours contract
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Exeter11 May 2018
Almost no hours, most I worked in a week was 12 hours. Good for seasonal work but not really worth it unless you're desperately in need of some extra cash to help your main job.
Pros
Easy
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Carlisle28 April 2018
The is a strong sense of community when you work for Royal Mail. People are friendly and very welcoming. The job is varied and there of lot's of opportunities to progress within the company.
Pros
Well paid
Cons
physically demanding job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorting office/walks
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim19 April 2018
Was at royal mail tomb street belfast mostly on nights sorting belfast central mail and central firms and when needed was out in walks on tomb street in belfast or northern ireland
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  West Midlands16 April 2018
I was Christmas temp whilst working with the royal mail team. We worked very hard over the Christmas period to make sure everything was delivered and sent on time to where it needed to be. All off the staff at royal mail were welcoming and instantly made me feel part of the team.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working atmosphere.
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Northampton15 April 2018
Friendly helpful staff and management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the associates I worked with. Excellent teamwork.
Also, the fact that it had three canteens, So you could always get a seat.
Pros
Locality
Cons
Standing in the same spot for ten hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoybel ,fast pace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol12 April 2018
everyone there was nice ther and helped out if u did not get it .ther was lot of maikl to get trough so need to to work harm and fast as possibel to get throu it all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas casual
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton10 April 2018
Responsibilities included covering various indoor roles in a warehouse environment,
unloading mail from vans, moving large volumes of mail around in trolleys, sorting parcels
and letters manually and operating machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place and Enviroment and only continues to get worse
Indoor Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 March 2018
Poor Management and Leadership. Poor opportunities for Part-time staff to become Full-time. Bullying and harassment still continue to staff and temporary managers.
Pros
People/ Staff
Cons
Royal mail
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Mail Sorter and Christmas Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds15 March 2018
I was sorting letters and parcels for royal mail. It was enjoyable to be part of a team and we all worked together as one. The management were very good and the training was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Leeds6 March 2018
A very fun and busy job i learnt a kot about the process of sorting mail however availsablity was stressful, not enough days of work. easy to learn and i thoruoghly enjoyed the job when i worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Preston26 February 2018
everybody works hard all the time. great atmosphere to be in. Everybodyt works in teams and it is very fun getting to know your team, everyone in the team knows you which is very motivating
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
hardly any breaks and breaks at very bad times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming and friendly
Casual Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire23 February 2018
I have enjoyed working with the company as there are very nice and accepting people. The job has many mixed races creating a welcoming atmosphere. I have learnt to be more sociable and to complete my task with perseverance. The hardest part of the job is the physical aspects as there is a lot of heavy lifting and the tasks need to be completed quickly and efficiently, however there are always people around me that help me lift my spirit and I can complete the tasks without any issues, and that has to be the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Very positive atmosphere
Cons
Late night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  London22 February 2018
really enjoyed working here had a great time and the staff were very friendly. facilities were great and i cant really find any fault at all. overall a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mail sorter
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire19 February 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at royal mail learning the mail sorting bull ring then got put on dispatch which I enjoyed working in a string team of workers and having a tight unit of getting people loaded on time and out working over the busy Christmas period black Friday cyber Monday and generally busy days
Pros
leant dispatch and paperwork
Cons
it was only temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY time in Royal mail
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bathgate, West Lothian16 February 2018
Worked on and off now for many years hard to get full time, great company good pay overall, I was not pushed hard for the work I done, plenty of over time available if you want to make money.
Pros
Flexible shifts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal Mail
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire15 February 2018
Royal mail is a good company and their once again provided a great amount of opportunity for a variety of people. My role usually consisted of sorting out mail in the building into the chosen categories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Mail sorter (Current Employee) –  Daventry14 February 2018
Good place to work, very busy and can easily get permanent. Only down fall is why am I being forced to leave a feedback on top it has to be 150 characters?
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorter
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol8 February 2018
good job , nice salary, hard work long hours but easy to make friends and pretty hard to mess up. Management make sure you know what you are doing and are there if needed.
Pros
good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding at times
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire29 January 2018
Although the work in itself was very straightforward, we were often very pressed for time, if not running behind.

Organisation could have been improved.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham26 January 2018
i enjoyed working for royal mail but only issue is pay which was terrible. Royal mail was very busy while i was working for them.The staff where very friendly.
Pros
poor pay
Cons
no long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,054 reviews
51.2K
41K
3571
2171
1122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Royal Mail Reviews by Location