Royal Mail Employee Reviews for Mail Sorter

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maol sorter
Christmas mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol15 July 2018
The period of me working here was a wonderful experience in that i learnt the cruciality of delivering items to customers on time. Her majesty post office mail sorting was indeed very important to community especially in delivering items for special people on special days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne10 July 2018
Wish I could work there again and leave the NHS such a good bunch when I worked here even if it was for a short time the work was easy the money was good who can complain.
Pros
Amazing place to work everyone is so friendly
Cons
Didnt see a fault personally
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Working Environment
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Derby5 July 2018
to comment about this company, is very difficult because, I worked there for a short period (November to December, Christmas job). but it was an amazing experience everyone was so welcoming and greet-able.
Pros
Good salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Nottingham25 June 2018
we had to sort mail, we would be assigned a place to work and we would stand there all day sorting mail, doing the same thing for 8 hours, staff and management were friendl.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Sheffield12 June 2018
In the work place we would be constantly doing work at the same time it was fun because you see new people, and you can make friends and talk to them,the managers are quite kind and nice.
Pros
constant work but fun as well
Cons
sometimes you stand to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Port Talbot Town11 June 2018
I enjoyed working here as there was always work to be done. Staff were always helpful and I enjoyed my time at the Royal mail sorting office in port talbot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work Poor management
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland25 May 2018
Hard working
Good timekeeping
Honest and reliable
Willing to learn
Can work in a team or alone
Good under pressure



Worked night shift
A good company - strong union representation
Good colleagues to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable work place
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Penarth21 May 2018
I have been working at Royal Mail full-time More than a year. Royal Mail provide substantial amount of training, good pension and attracts good talent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero hours contract
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Exeter11 May 2018
Almost no hours, most I worked in a week was 12 hours. Good for seasonal work but not really worth it unless you're desperately in need of some extra cash to help your main job.
Pros
Easy
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Temp Parcel Sorter Royal Mail (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff2 May 2018
grate place two wOrkney I love it there is only work there just for Christmas the staff was fab job very interesting two I work all over the place
Pros
Lots
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Carlisle28 April 2018
The is a strong sense of community when you work for Royal Mail. People are friendly and very welcoming. The job is varied and there of lot's of opportunities to progress within the company.
Pros
Well paid
Cons
physically demanding job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorting office/walks
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim19 April 2018
Was at royal mail tomb street belfast mostly on nights sorting belfast central mail and central firms and when needed was out in walks on tomb street in belfast or northern ireland
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  West Midlands16 April 2018
I was Christmas temp whilst working with the royal mail team. We worked very hard over the Christmas period to make sure everything was delivered and sent on time to where it needed to be. All off the staff at royal mail were welcoming and instantly made me feel part of the team.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working atmosphere.
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Northampton15 April 2018
Friendly helpful staff and management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the associates I worked with. Excellent teamwork.
Also, the fact that it had three canteens, So you could always get a seat.
Pros
Locality
Cons
Standing in the same spot for ten hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoybel ,fast pace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol12 April 2018
everyone there was nice ther and helped out if u did not get it .ther was lot of maikl to get trough so need to to work harm and fast as possibel to get throu it all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas casual
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton10 April 2018
Responsibilities included covering various indoor roles in a warehouse environment,
unloading mail from vans, moving large volumes of mail around in trolleys, sorting parcels
and letters manually and operating machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place and Enviroment and only continues to get worse
Indoor Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 March 2018
Poor Management and Leadership. Poor opportunities for Part-time staff to become Full-time. Bullying and harassment still continue to staff and temporary managers.
Pros
People/ Staff
Cons
Royal mail
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Mail Sorter and Christmas Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds15 March 2018
I was sorting letters and parcels for royal mail. It was enjoyable to be part of a team and we all worked together as one. The management were very good and the training was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Leeds6 March 2018
A very fun and busy job i learnt a kot about the process of sorting mail however availsablity was stressful, not enough days of work. easy to learn and i thoruoghly enjoyed the job when i worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Preston26 February 2018
everybody works hard all the time. great atmosphere to be in. Everybodyt works in teams and it is very fun getting to know your team, everyone in the team knows you which is very motivating
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
hardly any breaks and breaks at very bad times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,159 reviews
51.2K
41K
3593
2184
1132

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Royal Mail Reviews by Location