Royal Mail Employee Reviews for Mail Sorter

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Angard - Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon10 October 2018
I worked for Royal Mail in their warehouse as a Mail Sorter. My responsibilities included sorting out parcels and letter to their respective locations and making sure that all the packages were logged accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overal good
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Chester21 September 2018
grand to work for, good wages, easy job considering the wage packet offered. good holiday allowance. good packages for perks and easy job to do with little experience needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail Sorter
Mail sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham29 August 2018
A great place to work, the training is given at the induction where you get the opportunity to learn how to sort, mails, parcels of a different kind, first class, second class, local, foreign, recorded or tracked parcels.
There is two sections of letters sorting and parcels sorting. and always have the opportunity to ask any question if you forget or don't know where the parcel or letter should go. you don't really need to have a qualification to do that. Be able to scan parcels using a PDA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds18 July 2018
this job is high demanding and need to work very fast to hit targets or deadlines
the staff are some what ok to work with but if you made a simple mistake there not so nice
Pros
wellpay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maol sorter
Christmas mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol15 July 2018
The period of me working here was a wonderful experience in that i learnt the cruciality of delivering items to customers on time. Her majesty post office mail sorting was indeed very important to community especially in delivering items for special people on special days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne10 July 2018
Wish I could work there again and leave the NHS such a good bunch when I worked here even if it was for a short time the work was easy the money was good who can complain.
Pros
Amazing place to work everyone is so friendly
Cons
Didnt see a fault personally
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Working Environment
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Derby5 July 2018
to comment about this company, is very difficult because, I worked there for a short period (November to December, Christmas job). but it was an amazing experience everyone was so welcoming and greet-able.
Pros
Good salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Nottingham25 June 2018
we had to sort mail, we would be assigned a place to work and we would stand there all day sorting mail, doing the same thing for 8 hours, staff and management were friendl.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Sheffield12 June 2018
In the work place we would be constantly doing work at the same time it was fun because you see new people, and you can make friends and talk to them,the managers are quite kind and nice.
Pros
constant work but fun as well
Cons
sometimes you stand to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Port Talbot Town11 June 2018
I enjoyed working here as there was always work to be done. Staff were always helpful and I enjoyed my time at the Royal mail sorting office in port talbot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work Poor management
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland25 May 2018
Hard working
Good timekeeping
Honest and reliable
Willing to learn
Can work in a team or alone
Good under pressure



Worked night shift
A good company - strong union representation
Good colleagues to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable work place
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Penarth21 May 2018
I have been working at Royal Mail full-time More than a year. Royal Mail provide substantial amount of training, good pension and attracts good talent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero hours contract
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Exeter11 May 2018
Almost no hours, most I worked in a week was 12 hours. Good for seasonal work but not really worth it unless you're desperately in need of some extra cash to help your main job.
Pros
Easy
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Temp Parcel Sorter Royal Mail (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff2 May 2018
grate place two wOrkney I love it there is only work there just for Christmas the staff was fab job very interesting two I work all over the place
Pros
Lots
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Carlisle28 April 2018
The is a strong sense of community when you work for Royal Mail. People are friendly and very welcoming. The job is varied and there of lot's of opportunities to progress within the company.
Pros
Well paid
Cons
physically demanding job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorting office/walks
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim19 April 2018
Was at royal mail tomb street belfast mostly on nights sorting belfast central mail and central firms and when needed was out in walks on tomb street in belfast or northern ireland
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Royal Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  West Midlands16 April 2018
I was Christmas temp whilst working with the royal mail team. We worked very hard over the Christmas period to make sure everything was delivered and sent on time to where it needed to be. All off the staff at royal mail were welcoming and instantly made me feel part of the team.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working atmosphere.
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Northampton15 April 2018
Friendly helpful staff and management. The most enjoyable part of the job was the associates I worked with. Excellent teamwork.
Also, the fact that it had three canteens, So you could always get a seat.
Pros
Locality
Cons
Standing in the same spot for ten hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoybel ,fast pace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol12 April 2018
everyone there was nice ther and helped out if u did not get it .ther was lot of maikl to get trough so need to to work harm and fast as possibel to get throu it all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas casual
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton10 April 2018
Responsibilities included covering various indoor roles in a warehouse environment,
unloading mail from vans, moving large volumes of mail around in trolleys, sorting parcels
and letters manually and operating machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,225 reviews
51.2K
41.1K
3601
2193
1137

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Royal Mail Reviews by Location