Royal Mail Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham26 January 2018
i enjoyed working for royal mail but only issue is pay which was terrible. Royal mail was very busy while i was working for them.The staff where very friendly.
Pros
poor pay
Cons
no long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mangers and joyful
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 January 2018
Great company, everyone gets along with each other. I learnt that if you have a good environment around you do work will get done quicker and to high standers
Pros
Management
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy fun work place
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 January 2018
Really good environment safe happy
Friendly staff busy work environment
Lovely staff
Great work can be tiring but happy to work happy
................
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a happy work place
Postman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 November 2017
I enjoyed my years at the royal mail they helped me get my driving licence and I only left because I wanted to try something new that is when I joined the HSS team.
Pros
Getting my driving licence
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a chill environment
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham11 October 2017
atmosphere is pretty chilled out but also has an emphasis on efficiency. management is good and the workload is not as stressful although there are large deadlines to meet on some days.
Pros
firm but fair management and good atmosphere
Cons
can be tiring standing in one place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the workplace was efficient, safe and fun
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 September 2017
i enjoyed working at royal mail. i felt respected, the job wasn't too difficult and i had fun. My colleagues were nice and friendly so i got along with them just fine which made the job much more easier and enjoyable for me.
Pros
good pay, fun people
Cons
after work i used to be tired and sometimes in pain
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a contract
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham25 July 2017
I hope to get a permanent and contract in the royal mail company, because I was working in this type of work sine 2001 I I have a good experience in this type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working conditions!.
Mail Parcel sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 July 2017
signing in going to your place to sort incoming parcel.
learned to work efficiently in a team. Culture was vibrant.
Hardest part would be when if your working at the end of a conveyor belt where letters would be left to be sorted by the person on end. sometimes too much would come and you had to make sure no a4 letters mixed with normal letters.
Working with your mates was enjoyable.
Pros
good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great little job, just boring!
Postman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 July 2017
Not for anyone with a brain lol. Its monotonous, mundane, but the good part is that the quicker you become at your round, you get to go home by 12 / 13.00 and you still get paid until 14.00.
The salary is quite good and there are plenty of opportunities to get overtime. The bad thing is that they don't take on FT anymore.
Oh and they tend to mess your pay up on a regular basis and then its your job to prove when you've worked lol. The good side of that, is that you get paid weekly!!!
Pros
Paid weekly, Transfer easily, Lots of overtime if u want it, Finish by lunchtime
Cons
Early starts lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham19 July 2017
Sorting items by hand into compartments on a sorting frame
Bagging and labelling mail for its destination.
Moving mail around between conveyor belts, loading docks and trolleys.
Moving mailbags from cages, sorting mailbags and bundles of mail into cages.
Loading and unloading wheeled containers from vehicles to the dispatch areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

Want to know more about Royal Mail?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driver CPC Periodic Training (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 July 2017
Working here gave me a varied and variety of experiences
Great to work for and had a great family atmosphere everyone knew everyone fantastic co workers and life long friends
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money but no job security
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 July 2017
Excellent rates of pay however 0hr contracts and shifts are not guaranteed so no Job Security. Management is good overall staff go out thier way to support you.
Pros
flexible, good pay
Cons
short shifts, 0hr contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun laidback
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham30 June 2017
Work hard and go home.
great management, friendly people, positive atmosphere.
learned how the mail system works
most enjoyable part was leaving to go home.
Pros
good management, friendly enviorment.
Cons
Location, organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands19 June 2017
It was fun to work there and I really enjoyed it this is because all the people there were friendly and the management was also good and the manager was respectful
Pros
Work ain't tiring
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 June 2017
Varies dependant on the days challenges. It isn't just about getting all of the mail and parcels delivered anymore, we are a shareholder and have to think of the most efficient way when making decisions.
Pros
Good rapport with staff
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a busy workplace
Parcel Sorting (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 May 2017
A workplace of hardworkers and dedicated people who are willing to work hard and get on with the job. Also a team who help one another when help is needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging yet rewarding
Business analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, UK8 May 2017
a typical day involves meetings or workshops where i will be gathering information or seeking agreement on the contents of the project produced. it is company where there is a lot of opportunity to align technology with business needs. the workplace culture is good and the union is heavily involved in a the sign off process. As a result this is the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham21 April 2017
All good very fast paced work.
Night shift work is good and the people are good the hardest part of the job is picking up. The parcels and putting them in the lorries.
Pros
Big car park and reasonable breaks
Cons
Can't moan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good christmas period work
Package sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 April 2017
A very fast pace and friendly environment and good staff and managers. Was happy to work for them at the Christmas casual job and provide them with my service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 March 2017
Its a good place to work, good people, simple work, Holiday benefits. The pay is good. Only problem is job security its not there as an agency worker because its 0 hours contract. They call you when they need you. I would love it if this job was permanent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,062 reviews
51.2K
41K
3573
2172
1122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture