Royal Mail Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Found 106 reviews matching the search See all 3,261 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast work place
Christmas Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 October 2018
temp job, work levels vary sometimes you end up finishing the work early and get sent home. supervisors go around telling you to work at unsustainable rate so that they can send you home early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham1 October 2018
on a typical day at work I would have to be distributing letters to various home addresses, or I was sorting letters. it was a nice and quiet place to work, not too much noise, everyone was concentrated and well manered
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail Sorter
Mail sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham29 August 2018
A great place to work, the training is given at the induction where you get the opportunity to learn how to sort, mails, parcels of a different kind, first class, second class, local, foreign, recorded or tracked parcels.
There is two sections of letters sorting and parcels sorting. and always have the opportunity to ask any question if you forget or don't know where the parcel or letter should go. you don't really need to have a qualification to do that. Be able to scan parcels using a PDA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
harder work than everyone imagines
Postman (temporary) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 April 2018
Being a Postman is a good job but the pay isn't as good as everyone seems to think. It can be really hard in the winter and I thought it was a myth about dogs chasing postmen...i found out the hard way!
Pros
Early finish
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham26 January 2018
i enjoyed working for royal mail but only issue is pay which was terrible. Royal mail was very busy while i was working for them.The staff where very friendly.
Pros
poor pay
Cons
no long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mangers and joyful
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 January 2018
Great company, everyone gets along with each other. I learnt that if you have a good environment around you do work will get done quicker and to high standers
Pros
Management
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy fun work place
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 January 2018
Really good environment safe happy
Friendly staff busy work environment
Lovely staff
Great work can be tiring but happy to work happy
................
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a happy work place
Postman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 November 2017
I enjoyed my years at the royal mail they helped me get my driving licence and I only left because I wanted to try something new that is when I joined the HSS team.
Pros
Getting my driving licence
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a chill environment
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham11 October 2017
atmosphere is pretty chilled out but also has an emphasis on efficiency. management is good and the workload is not as stressful although there are large deadlines to meet on some days.
Pros
firm but fair management and good atmosphere
Cons
can be tiring standing in one place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the workplace was efficient, safe and fun
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 September 2017
i enjoyed working at royal mail. i felt respected, the job wasn't too difficult and i had fun. My colleagues were nice and friendly so i got along with them just fine which made the job much more easier and enjoyable for me.
Pros
good pay, fun people
Cons
after work i used to be tired and sometimes in pain
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a contract
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham25 July 2017
I hope to get a permanent and contract in the royal mail company, because I was working in this type of work sine 2001 I I have a good experience in this type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working conditions!.
Mail Parcel sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 July 2017
signing in going to your place to sort incoming parcel.
learned to work efficiently in a team. Culture was vibrant.
Hardest part would be when if your working at the end of a conveyor belt where letters would be left to be sorted by the person on end. sometimes too much would come and you had to make sure no a4 letters mixed with normal letters.
Working with your mates was enjoyable.
Pros
good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great little job, just boring!
Postman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 July 2017
Not for anyone with a brain lol. Its monotonous, mundane, but the good part is that the quicker you become at your round, you get to go home by 12 / 13.00 and you still get paid until 14.00.
The salary is quite good and there are plenty of opportunities to get overtime. The bad thing is that they don't take on FT anymore.
Oh and they tend to mess your pay up on a regular basis and then its your job to prove when you've worked lol. The good side of that, is that you get paid weekly!!!
Pros
Paid weekly, Transfer easily, Lots of overtime if u want it, Finish by lunchtime
Cons
Early starts lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham19 July 2017
Sorting items by hand into compartments on a sorting frame
Bagging and labelling mail for its destination.
Moving mail around between conveyor belts, loading docks and trolleys.
Moving mailbags from cages, sorting mailbags and bundles of mail into cages.
Loading and unloading wheeled containers from vehicles to the dispatch areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driver CPC Periodic Training (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 July 2017
Working here gave me a varied and variety of experiences
Great to work for and had a great family atmosphere everyone knew everyone fantastic co workers and life long friends
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money but no job security
Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 July 2017
Excellent rates of pay however 0hr contracts and shifts are not guaranteed so no Job Security. Management is good overall staff go out thier way to support you.
Pros
flexible, good pay
Cons
short shifts, 0hr contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun laidback
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham30 June 2017
Work hard and go home.
great management, friendly people, positive atmosphere.
learned how the mail system works
most enjoyable part was leaving to go home.
Pros
good management, friendly enviorment.
Cons
Location, organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands19 June 2017
It was fun to work there and I really enjoyed it this is because all the people there were friendly and the management was also good and the manager was respectful
Pros
Work ain't tiring
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 June 2017
Varies dependant on the days challenges. It isn't just about getting all of the mail and parcels delivered anymore, we are a shareholder and have to think of the most efficient way when making decisions.
Pros
Good rapport with staff
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a busy workplace
Parcel Sorting (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 May 2017
A workplace of hardworkers and dedicated people who are willing to work hard and get on with the job. Also a team who help one another when help is needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,262 reviews
51.3K
41.1K
3607
2196
1143

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture