Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Found 3,710 reviews matching the search See all 3,791 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  North Yorkshire16 November 2019
Stressful, bullying, disorganised, underpaid work. I managed to work here for 9 weeks and didnt enjoy much of it. The people I worked with were very helpful and very knowledgable. As a part timer I was treated as a burden by the management team, left standing for ages while they decided what to do with me. I really really wouldnt recommend working for these jokers, if you have a drop of self respect then keep away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Postman (Former Employee) –  Ludlow, Shropshire16 November 2019
Worked at Ludlow for a boss who was a bully and a liar. The atmosphere of the place was dreadful. I had previously worked in the south of England for Royal mail and experienced no problems there, but this place and probably Royal mail as a whole is now to be avoided in my opinion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues
Christmas Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Strood, Kent16 November 2019
Sorting letters for onward delivery, resolving errors with delivery addresses and invalid postcodes to ensure the letters reached their destination. Good atmosphere, with music playing in the background, all staff supported each other
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp xmas job
MAIL SORTER (Former Employee) –  Gateshead15 November 2019
Not a bad place to work, tipping sorting and pigeon holing mail. Working as part of a team I would've stayed on if could have, but it was just to cover their busiest time of the year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't work for royal mail property and facilities
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Normanton, West Yorkshire15 November 2019
I wouldn't work for these as the stand in manager as a vendetta against me. Posties are ok ish to work along side. On site canteen staff are nice to talk to and you can have a laugh with. Cleaning staff you work with are hard to work with and not to be trusted to talk to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two sides of a coin.
Postman/driver (Former Employee) –  Walton-on-the-Naze, Essex14 November 2019
Early morning with lots of other posties sorting mail, chatting, meetings and presentations. Then, once ready, you spend 4 to 6 hours delivering the mail on your own. You may share a vehicle with another postie but he/she will have their own separate delivery route (walk) to do.
I found it a comfortable enviroment in and out of the depot, but then, I like people and being outdoors.
Winter time can be a challenge, but Royal mail provide all the necessary protective gear and uniform, so one shouldn't suffer bad weather conditions. Although, keeping the mail dry was always difficult.
Christmas time is very busy and there is plenty of overtime to be had. The workload increases 10 fold in some cases and one may find that they have to return to the depot to pick up extra bags of mail. Most depots will assign a dedicated packet delivery vehicle for the larger stuff, but still, the individual walks see much higher levels of mail and packets.
I really enjoyed my time at Royal Mail and would recommend it to anyone who is fit enough to walk 6 times a week for up to 6 hours a day, outside and sometimes on hilly or rural areas.
If my age was not an issue I would definitely go back to being a postie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work colleagues
Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent14 November 2019
Work was easy and enjoyable going out and delivering and collecting. Meeting different kinds of people Work colleagues were really good, great fun. Sadly things change and you ended up getting more and more on your delivery. Hardly ever finish on time and managers have favourites!!
Reason why I moved on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postman (Former Employee) –  Sherborne, Dorset14 November 2019
Great place to work, learned to socialise better, great manager and understanding, best part was talking to people, hardest part was sorting all the mail in the mornings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire14 November 2019
A great place to work in for extra money or as a student. That is because the work hours are about 3h a day. Easy to book in for shifts the Chrismats shifts go quite fast though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favour... DON'T DO IT!!!
Postman (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset13 November 2019
If you enjoy working for free then this is the place for you! The time allocated for a shift is inadequate especially for new employee's who will naturally take longer. The Royal Mail's attitude is that once you take the mail it does not return. If you need to work past your six hour shift you have to tell your manager in advance of leaving the depot and argue for overtime which they do not want to give you! therefore if you finish your shift late you will not get paid! I was regularly doing 12 - 15 hours a week unpaid!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEFRA is my present employer
traffic management officer (Current Employee) –  Carlisle13 November 2019
PO was a Zombie job. Current job far more challenging dealing with animal welfare issues, farmers payments, fielding Brexit questions on export and import certificates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
POSTMAN DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear12 November 2019
Started at Royal Mail in 1978 left 2016, 38 years later,
Loved the job as a foot postman ..then driver from 1978 to 1990s then the job changed as profits became more important than providing a service but that was in the past, Bullying Managers unrealistic workloads, always being asked to do more work even if you finished after agreed contracted hours, i hated the job when i left and was so pleased to get out......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, stay fit
Royal Mail Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Wadebridge11 November 2019
Good fun love to work, like being outdoors, keeps you fit and active, had a good group of colleagues we could have a laugh whilst sorting mail in the morning before going out on our rounds, pays really good for unskilled work. Defiantly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experince and productivity
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Langley Slough11 November 2019
Good staff to work with the management was great and the shift patterns
suited me I got much work experience and this has helped when working with different companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having a laugh with the managers
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Skelmersdale, Lancashire10 November 2019
I enjoyed my time there but 1 of the managers waa horrible to the women staff so i called him a name and i got sacked but he was horrible and he got away with treating women like like
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty
Postman (Former Employee) –  Banbury10 November 2019
Worked 7 years for them clean record bend over backwards to help them out over the years with over time, even change my annual leave at times to help them out and have one accident delaying a few letters by one day and get dismissed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Leeds10 November 2019
They help you to understand what it is they need from you, they let you work with someone else so that you can get the hang of things and there is always someone there to help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Postal Worker (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester10 November 2019
Good money.Job not difficult.Management not helpful.The most enjoyable part of the job meeting new people.A typical day first few hours are busy.And then not so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Operational Grade Postman (Former Employee) –  Petersfield8 November 2019
Working for royal mail is stressful. Even though you get paid breaks, management dont encourage you to take them, even though it's a legal requirement. Very rare you finish on time. If you want to finish on time, you have to tell them before or they expect you to finish the job. It is very clicky in that job and favour certain individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
New Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 November 2019
Competitive, run as own business, satisfaction and excellent work opportunities.
Need to be self motivated and want to work hard to earn a lot of money.
Need to be able to work on your own but also to be a part of a team.
Must be a good Sales negotiator and be adaptable to change. For myself I found you need strong sales skills to hit theground running.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,791 reviews
51.4K
41.2K
3686
2252
1221

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture