Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work for
Mail sorter (Former Employee) –  Bathgatr21 January 2018
It is easy work all you are doing is sorting the Mail in to the right post code. The Managment are good if you need if you need more training You work at your own pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying job
Postman (Current Employee) –  Wisbech, Cambridgeshire20 January 2018
The job is perfect for someone who wants to put as many hours as possible per week into it, in the last 5 years the workload has become around 40% higher and the time and equipment given to compleat your tasks have not been changed to adjust to this sadly hence i am seeking other employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
sorting letters (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire20 January 2018
sometimes they gave hardwork like lifting parcels..the mangers were very friendly..the security is very good..they gace sufficient breaktime.the permanent employee were helping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Customer Serives /Complaints Adviser (Former Employee) –  Doxford19 January 2018
Long hours which I allways seemed to be on the late shift, No oppertunity for advancement as they only use agency staff. Very high turn over of staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile
MDEC Data handler (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent19 January 2018
The job doesn't require a lot of skills and is beneficial for those seeking for experience. The pay was good and didn't demand much - and were willing to further extend your position with the Royal Mail if they deemed you to be a credit to the team. It was a quiet job however It's only a temporary position.
Pros
Easily accessible
Cons
Only a month's partnership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Repetitive, Fast
Christmas Casual (Former Employee) –  Newtownabbey19 January 2018
I worked at Royal Mail as a Christmas Casual from 1st December 2017- 22nd December 2017. Monday - Friday 17:00 - 22:00. Working here aloud me to gain independent and teamwork skills. Working long hours (overtime) with different managers and other colleagues. Working here aloud me to work under pressure with a fast pace with the Christmas load meeting time deadlines.
Pros
Salary, friendly colleagues
Cons
Repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail Sorter
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 January 2018
I undertake mail sorting duties on an ad-hoc basis for this organisation and often attend at short notice.
Duties include:
• Sorting mail by hand, into address order on a sorting frame
• Operating automated mail handling equipment, known as integrated mail processors (IMPs)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Cricklewood18 January 2018
Sorting and delivering mail by van, trolley and foot.
Working in all weather conditions, from 6am to 2 or 3pm.
5 days a week, Sunday and another day on rotation off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Job Role various Job roles Manager/Postman (Former Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex18 January 2018
My typical day would be delivering letters or collecting from companies, I would also be driving around the country delivering mail, I would also work inside the building sorting post ready for dispaatching
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent
Royal mail platform operator (Former Employee) –  Cardiff17 January 2018
I enjoyed the Royal mail so much i was gutted when my time came to an end as a casual on the platform. All the managers we great and friendly towards me. I was asked to continue for 2 extra weeks during my time as a casual and had people who work there full time ask me to defiantly apply when a job comes up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy to get along with
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear17 January 2018
They had little perks that made the day fun and all the staff and management were easy to talk to if u had any problems. The staff also would help if u had any difficulties outside of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Atherstone17 January 2018
Royal Mail is a great and hard working place to work, as everyone knows what they need to do and get their job done.
A typical day at work was great but still got the job done.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas casual
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon17 January 2018
good to work with the royal mail over the Christmas period
and pay well over the busy time of the year and friendly and confident staff..............
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management of driving transport is not ok
HGV Driver class 1 (Former Employee) –  COVENTRY HUB16 January 2018
Money is ok but start times ar not ok.Not happy whit that .But so is whwn you working for royal mail true agencies.But if you like afternoon and night shift is ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of management bullying
Ex employee (Former Employee) –  Nowhere16 January 2018
All looks well to start but give it a while and managers soon turn on you and pressure you into achieving unattainable targets. Say no and they harass you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employer ruined by really bad, bullying management
Delivery Line Manager (Former Employee) –  Uk16 January 2018
Used to love my job but left after 13 years service. The money is good but there’s more to life than that! Company has been ruined by poor management and unrealistic targets. I would not recommend RM to a dog.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Poor management, stress, poor company on the whole
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal Mail MDEC Data Entry Keyer
Data Entry Keyer (Former Employee) –  Plymstock16 January 2018
Royal Mail MDEC Data Entry Keyer

First week seemed repetitive and boring.
After getting into the swing of things, it was easy money and well worth getting used to.
In the end I wish I could have carried on after the Christmas period.
Working from 6:30am to 12:30 was actually very enjoyable, having the rest of the day to any day to day activities and errands.
Good job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place satisfaction 50%
Postman/Driver (Current Employee) –  Ilford16 January 2018
Everything concerning the job is good but there is too much walking and the all weather type of working is really uncomfortable.Worker security is not 100% guaranteed and workers have to exercise maximum care in our daily duties despite the great risks involved.
A lot of benefits, side attractions and pension benefits.
Pros
Car salary exchange benefits
Cons
Workers security half guaranteed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Swindon15 January 2018
Normally, I would separate the first class, second class and return letter into different boxes. I learnt to manage my time, work efficiently and communicate well with my fellow workers. I think that the job wasn't too organised because at times we would be randomly pulled out and sent to machinery work which we weren't allowed to do. Therefore we would have to inform the manager that we aren't allowed. The hardest part was standing for hours in one spot for 5 hours with only a 15 minute break. However, the most enjoyable part was meeting new people who were around my age.
Pros
Very well payed job
Cons
Unorganised managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok ok
Postman/Driver (Current Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend15 January 2018
every day hard job to do
start at seven oclock in the morning
management staff- ok
job culture - ok
job secutity - is all fine, no problem
lots of time off, every five weeks week off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,852 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7