Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job colleagues drove me out
Postman (Former Employee) –  Essex24 June 2018
Worked for Royal mail for 19years. Had good time there wages good lots of overtime. Had a lot of ups and downs there over the years, if you was not in with the groups of colleges working there you become singled out for bullying and harrsment. When I started you go in at 5am get your walk together and go out on your bike. Then 2011 they brought out sheard van then I found myself carrying the other postman I was working with after 5 years struggling I managed to get a single round working on my own, But unfortunately for me was again bullying and harassed which became to much for me to cope and snapped.
Managment wasn't helpful speaking to you like dirt and other colleagues need thick skin or be a favourite.
Colleges spreading gossip, felt like someone trying to trip you up all the time.
Pros
Wages over time
Cons
Bullying management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with good staff
Christmas Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Normanton23 June 2018
Staff are nice and polite and many have a lot of experience of working for the company. The job was a good challenge and I would do it again if i was offered the post.
Pros
easy to get to
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and testing experience
POSTAL WORKER (Former Employee) –  Strood, Kent20 June 2018
Plenty to do and not much time to rest, the jobs can be menial and a bit on the tedious side but it is a good way for a young worker to make money in hard times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teamwork, good comradeship
Postman (Former Employee) –  Middlebank Doncaster - delivery19 June 2018
i was taught to value mail, value customers and the priority of the job.i enjoyed walking in the fresh air, meeting customers and all walks of life. i learnt alot of Royal Mail, group work - comradeship, working as a unit, help people if in difficulty. good terms with leadership. good or bad ? workplace was zero tolerance across the board, respect each other.
Pros
being included in your team
Cons
bad weather, if mail volume was heavy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management have not a clue
Parcelforce Driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire19 June 2018
The management go by what a computer says that tells them how your route should be run , not by a very experienced human !! They say the computer says it’ll take you 45 minutes to your first drop , yes I say on a quiet Sunday morning !! Parcel force tells you off even if your one single drop off your target, you have no breaks yet they tell you to have your break ?? If you took your break you would be very late back so you fail and guess what ? You get told off for failing, you have no free life , it’s get up early work non stop for ten hours go home shattered then bed then up early then work ..... get the picture
Pros
being out of the depot
Cons
Having a manager talk to you like he’s the headmaster and your a pupil
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sorting office and warehouse staff (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh18 June 2018
Productive working environment were everyone is treated well and is given plenty of opportunities to progress within the royal mail. Staff are friendly and everyone and welcoming
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management structure
Postman Delivery (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire13 June 2018
Not forthcoming in telling you what you are entitled to, especially when it comes to expenses , breaks etc..Expectation that you should be at 100 mph all the time.
Pros
Secure employment
Cons
No enhancement for working saturdays. Very poor attitude towards staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overrated
Postman (Current Employee) –  Rickmansworth13 June 2018
Good job with good hours but high pressure from management and difficult work environment and reluctant overtime, poor pension, lack of clarity on future of company
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Sheffield12 June 2018
In the work place we would be constantly doing work at the same time it was fun because you see new people, and you can make friends and talk to them,the managers are quite kind and nice.
Pros
constant work but fun as well
Cons
sometimes you stand to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brillant company to work for
Postman (Current Employee) –  Derbyshire11 June 2018
Loved my time at royal mail I have not a bad word to say about them I am just looking for something more exciting and new I am looking for a new challenge
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Port Talbot Town11 June 2018
I enjoyed working here as there was always work to be done. Staff were always helpful and I enjoyed my time at the Royal mail sorting office in port talbot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Postal assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea11 June 2018
Friendly staff always something to do work is easy to carry out and don't really need any special skills, working hours are ok even on nights, decent cafeteria serving hot and cold food,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place too work.
Postal Sorter (Former Employee) –  Ipswich10 June 2018
Royal Mail is generally a good place to work . Bonuses and shift allowances
Plus overtime make the earning potential very rewarding. A generous holiday
Entitlement is allocated according too length of service. extra leave can also be
Purchased with a small deduction from your weekly pay. Advancement into
Management is also encouraged with training and support available too those who wish to do this.
Pros
Extra earning potential. Generous holiday entitlement.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace
warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 June 2018
The workplace culture is really welcoming and people are there if you need any assistance or do not understand what to do. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the level of work rate as it is quite demanding. However working there means you get to meet all types of people who are really friendly.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work for
Postman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Stanmore, Greater London8 June 2018
Delivering mail. There was a bullying culture that the Management did not address. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with colleagues and my relationship with the customers.
Pros
The customers and colleagues
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company but doesn't seem like it
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield8 June 2018
To say Royal Mail is a large company, you wouldn't know at times when you work for it - in a good way. There is a friendly atmosphere at most sites I worked at with great people
Pros
People
Cons
Too many restructures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the job but had to leave
Postman (Former Employee) –  Wales7 June 2018
the job as a postman was the best but the overtime was to much i had a accident while i was in work and it took me 2 yrs to recover and dont want to go back because i want to try something new
Pros
the outdooors
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Atherton, Greater Manchester7 June 2018
My day to day at work at royal mail were excellent. I have loved every single time spent at Royal Mail. but it is a time that has come for me to do something different.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good envirnoment to work.
Relay driver (Current Employee) –  Yate, Gloucestershire7 June 2018
Great company to work for wish I could of stayed longer but things happen for a reason.

Overtime is a great and also available.

Comes with great espects
Pros
Free shares
Cons
Work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prospects
temp manager covering various parts of Scotland (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh7 June 2018
Good job and plenty opportunities to go forward and meeting lots of people but how company is designed to deal with their customers sometimes its very difficult to make everyone happy.
Pros
Sick pay, free dentist, private health care.
Cons
Long hours and odd shifts and very physical job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,092 reviews
51.2K
41K
3581
2176
1123

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture