ROTHERHAM METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Childrens Services Team Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire17 January 2019
Was a little short notice at when the job ended. I also felt like I wasn't given enough to do and was capable of alot more. There were some great people in the team but also some bickering which was uncomfortable to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overstretched team
Systems Help Officer (Current Employee) –  Rotherham28 October 2018
A committed local authority who strives for the best for the local population of Rotherham.
However due to continued need to cut the budget staff are often pushed beyond what would normally be expected of them.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing
Social Worker Safeguarding Team (Former Employee) –  Locality office in Rotherham5 September 2018
Found this Local Authority developing from the previous Ofted report which rated them poor.found that the staff were busy and cleeky there was a lack of togetherness. Felt supported by the line manager. Overall Management was not supportive
Pros
Developing working Practice in Tackling past CSE issues
Cons
staff over worked and underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, but not enough staff
Housing Occupational Therapy Manager (Current Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire3 July 2018
Great job in principle, but not enough staff to be able to do a good job. I love being able to support people with medical needs to be rehoused to accessible housing, but there is not enough housing stock or staff to feel I can to a good job.
Pros
Great ethos and good teamwork.
Cons
Not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the children made this job
Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire15 April 2018
very busy but enjoyed working with children and families and supporing settings

poor management, communication and leadership from which led to many issues
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time working at one of Rotherham councils school
Early Years Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Redscope primary school12 March 2018
I enjoyed the job so much, however when they found out I was preganant there was miraculously no job role available for me in September 2017. The school is badly run and should be looked at with some serious thought as to who is running the place.
Pros
Doing a job I love.... looking after children.
Cons
No childcare cover
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management unsupportive & HR useless
Residential Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Masborough30 January 2018
Rmbc?! Unsupportive & useless. Lack of knowledge; interest & support within the service as a whole. Childish management with no people skills or regard to anything other than being manipulative & self centred. All about ticking boxes & very little focus directed towards the young people & their wellbeing. Very much aimed towards who you know than what you know confirming that staff are just a number.
Lack of confidentiality & easily led by the snakes within the workforce. Bullies is an understatement & constant threats to big it up to Ofsted or be faced with the loss of your job. Avoid at all costs
Pros
beautiful children & annual leave
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant experience
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Wickersley5 January 2018
Was trained and given a uni form. Trainers and team members were professional and pleasant.
I was given the opportunity for more hours. It worked for me at the time and was slightly more than minimum wage
Pros
Nice easy job
Cons
A little physically tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rotherham council
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Hellaby, South Yorkshire14 September 2017
not good at looking after a employees when he becomes ill i got finish on ill health when i got diagnosed with epilepsy i was treated like dirt because i could no longer work with machinary i was forced to take ill health and came out with peanuts
Pros
keeps u fit
Cons
treated like dirt
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Austerity measures are impacting on morale
Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside25 August 2017
Staff cut backs have resulted in more work pressures for the staff that are left hence morale can be low. There are good HR systems in place. Flexi time is a benefit.
Pros
Flexi
Cons
Low resources and morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waste Operative (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire4 May 2017
Good set of people work in the company was great working outdoors got to know all the areas of Rotherham all the places I never knew existed .........
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Registrar (Current Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire3 February 2017
Good place to work . Great work life balance. The people and staff and management are great to work with and there is an abundance of equal opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of support
Social Worker - Retired (Former Employee) –  Rotherham6 January 2017
No effective management. Lack of support for workers.
Co- workers were supportive.
One to one contact with client group was rewarding.
Hardest part of job was feeling unsupported by management.
Pros
Some degree of autonomy.
Cons
anti- social hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going backwards
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Riverside9 December 2016
A headstrong company which only see their point of view. No smart way of working in place. The company need to save money but seem to waste numerous amounts of it by investigating their workers, suspending them and paying them for staying at home. Those who are at work are thanked by heavier workloads and pay cuts to keep their job. Managers who are powerless to improve departments. It goes on.
Pros
Flexible working if it is agreed in your department
Cons
Hard working and concensious? You will be taken advantage of, Like to do the bare minimum? You will get on well here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot off responsability
Caretaker/Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Rotherham13 November 2016
start at 6am clean school finish work when last teacher leaves responsible for health and safety legionella testing fire alarm asbestos checks
Pros
its a job
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place!!! Avoid
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Riverside House29 September 2016
Horrible place to work, managers favouring boot lickers, breaching confidentiality on numerous occasions, absolutely no work ethics. Spent 7 years there and would never EVER get back to work for them again. Corrupt, rotten, nepotism driven place.
Pros
None!!!
Cons
Too many to mention!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informative
Junior Warden (Former Employee) –  Rotherham14 September 2016
During this experience, I learnt how to work efficiently as a team and how to deal with a troubling situation (e.g. anti-social behaviour)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Tutor/Assessor (Current Employee) –  Rotherham15 August 2016
Good place to work with a nice team of people delivering Adult community learning courses across the borough of varying topics and subjects at both accredited and non-accredited levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Working Exprience
Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Dinnington18 July 2016
My work with the Rotherham council has continued throughout my Teenage years and now during my employment. I am paid a set wage without fail and the people I have worked with have been friendly and helpful within my role. The hardest part of the job is probably the hardest part of working with young people in any setting. The most enjoyable part is knowing that I have made a difference in young peoples lives or added to
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor man-management, unable to take opinion
Clerk of Works Mechanical technician (Former Employee) –  Rotherham16 July 2016
Poor man management, the workforce has no motivation, and moral was at an all time low, unable to take anyones opinion, information provided when manager thought it required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ROTHERHAM METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 31 reviews
57
410
35
26
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

ROTHERHAM METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL Reviews by Location