Rolls-Royce Work-Life Balance reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company undergoing change
Manufacturing Engineer - Purchasing (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire16 September 2018
world renowned company working in the marine propulsion sector that is forward thinking with regards to improvement and cost saving to support customer demands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rolls-Royce is a good place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire8 September 2018
Rolls-Royce is a good place to work with many different opportunities provided. It has a good work life balance ethos and a diverse workforce and stresses the importance of ethics.
Pros
Complex processes
Cons
Opportunities and a professional workforce and environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Mechanical technician (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 August 2018
This was an excellent company to work for .Great working enviroment great money and many benifits.Forward thinking and ongoing training was provided all the time.
Pros
share issues
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
manufacture Engineer (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire16 August 2018
Working at Rolls Royce Areospace has been an amazing. Great people and good career opportunities here in Derby. Great pay and makes me proud to be a part of a great company. Only down side I would say is sometimes I wonder how people are engineers as most are lazy and feels like most people only come to work for the good pay Rolls Royce give to thier employees. Can be frustrating sometimes but apart from that they care about thier employees and it’s hard to find on a job now a days.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
PTF can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manufacturing Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Derby13 August 2018
Great company with good salary and job security.
Culture is difficult to change
Difficult to progress upwards in management unless you are on the favoured list
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Company that Make You Proud to Work For
Manufacturing Capability & Acquisition Leader (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire30 July 2018
There are new challenges everywhere that you can pick and learn, so you will never feel board. It is a company that with great heritage and reputation. As an engineer, this is probably the best engineering company you can work for in UK that with cutting edge technology development everywhere in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Internship (Former Employee) –  Derby20 July 2018
Good company to work for and do an internship. I enjoyed moving around different departments for my internship. Gave me a feel for the different fields of engineering, and has influenced my university degree choice. I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Team
3D Architectural Designer (Former Employee) –  Derby18 July 2018
Great Design Team with bags of knowledge, plenty of laughs at times. Job progression and training wasn't provided on a consistent basis due to poor management. This I feel was a one off, I would recommend working for these guys, they are truly amazing at times. So happy I worked here.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place
Senior Electrical and Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire2 July 2018
Rolls-Royce has given me a great career post armed forces. This is a great place to be for career advancement and professional development, however the processes and a major downfall of the company and something i hope they improve
Pros
Career progression
Cons
Company processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Intertek23 June 2018
Good Customer and Good company to work for! approachable and easy to communicate in comparison to Intertek! I would personally apply for positions their if I had the opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for in a non managerial position
Programme Manager (Former Employee) –  Derby31 May 2018
Great company to work for who takes very good care of its employees. Benefits are good and work/life balance is excellent at "staff" level.
However life as a manager is different and the salary/benefits do not match the pressure and expectations compared to the "staff" level rewards.
The company is going through a major reorganisation which if achieved will mean a bright future for all RR employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protected good workplace
I’m retired (Former Employee) –  Ansty r coventry20 April 2018
Worked there a long time did not want to leave it but it closed down it was a great place to work no one realy bothers you as long as you did your work
Pros
Good workmates
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place.
Filing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands22 March 2018
Really enjoyed the job that i had. I was Filing important documents, sometimes it got a bit boring but its always best when you have a good laugh with the co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Maintenance team member (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire25 January 2018
Good job, but poor management, and a poor work life balance.
All about graduates, spreadsheet's, unfortunately they can't see the wood for the trees at the moment.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team work environment
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Derbyshire24 January 2018
Working amongst many people who all keep the company afloat gave me an insight into the business from an outsiders perspective. It was interesting to learn how the business ran beind closed doors.
Cons
long hours 8-5
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace but very slow paced
Manufacturing Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire18 January 2018
Although all colleagues are helpful and friendly, many people have been in the company too long to know anything different to how they do things today. Coming from an external setting you can see what needs to be changed but the business processes to realise such change are prohibitive. The workplace culture is very positive and everyone is supportive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid with good prospects for Engineers
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Worldwide8 January 2018
A great product with good people.
Quality orientated organisation that shines above the rest

Management tend to be reactive and need to be forward thinking at lowest levels.

Change in senior management at CEO levels has affected policy throughout the company but this change is occurring too often.

The job is always firefighting and some times leaves time management behind.

All in all there is no better career company right from finance to design, its all there.

Global brand. Ive gone through the change from one airframe to lots of airframe opportunities.
Pros
Solid excellent engineering
Cons
Moves slowly in terms of change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex4 January 2018
Good place to work, very challenging, no two days the same.
Good working environment with subsidised canteens
A very varied skill set required in the maintenance role.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure
Manufacturing Engineer Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire1 December 2017
High profile employer.
Looked after feeling
Training excellent.
Career oportunitied high.
Distance from home a disadvantage
Good friends met there.
Varied work day.
Pros
High pride organisation
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Repair & Overhaul Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol20 November 2017
This is coming from a new persons perspective. The management is a joke and wants to be your friend more then your boss, people are lazy and want to do the minimum for the same amount of money (embarrassing are my thoughts personally) but it could get better or maybe I just expected more
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rolls-Royce. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 951 reviews
5390
4329
3156
245
131

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture