Robertson Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and hardworking environment
Joiner and Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Dundee17 August 2018
Very good orginasation without a doubt very helpful and skill full group would go work with them again dead friendly and welcoming great staff and HSE very well orginasised
Pros
Clean friendly good environment
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
urveying, and planning (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City25 July 2018
was here on work experiance and its a great place to work alot of the guys there are a helpful bunch theyre all over scotland and getting more and more work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear24 April 2018
The worse place I've worked in twenty five years, the company is built on roamers and backstabbing, poor company employs poor staff. No communication or organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good.
Grounds maintenance operative (Former Employee) –  Silverlink12 March 2018
Management speak to staff like rubbish
Small money grabbing jobs are prioritised over large regular contract work.
Contracts are low quoted in order to undercut competition by miles, and because of this, to save money, the machines are neglected in proper dealership maintenance making them unsafe and often dangerous to use.
Management are suspicious, but rightfully so, though should get to know someone before suspecting them of something.
Manager will and does lie frequently to calm staff down when there is rightful unrest.
Their trailer is dangerous.
Loading machines into vans is dangerous as ramps arent able to be secured and often fall from the back of the vans causing the user to fall from the machine.
I wouldn't work here again if I was offered 50 quid an hour.
If you're a proper gardener and want to do real work, avoid Robertson GM at all costs, no matter how desperate you are.
I'd rather be on the dole.
Pros
None
Cons
Manager, machines, regard for health and safety and running on a shoestring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Redcar school6 March 2018
So far so good. Not been with the company long but very happy upbto now. Only transferred due to liquidation of Carillion. My job has more or less stayed the same so no major changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Semi Skilled Operative (Current Employee) –  Elgin, Moray30 January 2018
learned how to use timber frame maker and computer side of timber frame maker. Not a really hard job just alot of running around and making sure the panels are good enough to be sent to site
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Construction (Former Employee) –  Birkenhead, Merseyside30 January 2018
hardworking people who know how to balance work with fun they know what they are talking about and help to provide younger peole with a good knowledge of there chosen trade.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workforce
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stirling, Stirlingshire16 December 2017
Job enrols various skills. Everyday is a different day with new skills and learning. Work van supplied as well. All ppe given as well. Great job and get to work all over Scotland
Pros
work van
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Says it’s a family friendly company not
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scotland12 November 2017
Have worked for many years with the company constantly feel degraded certain management claim cleaners are two a penny Management can’t be trusted they back each-other up in everything/ sneaky big overturn as pppl leave to have better wages better working conditions it’s very poor for very big growing global company not great work :Home balance of u have children not helpful in giving new opportunities or extended training if ur face fits ur fine if u question regarding pay or benefits hrs Holliday ur causing trouble from then it’s difficult to work ur made to feel like ur idiot for asking can’t trust most employees always backstabbing going on work colleges taking credit for other employees hard work but do have a great busy schedule everyday and the work load keeps coming good bunch of clients
Pros
Term time work
Cons
Minimum wage no benefits not fair company
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, great management
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear9 November 2017
Great company, had met some good people and had worked hard but all treated well and all staff on site were very helpful with learning me new things .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly work place
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City18 October 2017
i love working for Robertson,the staff are lovely and the jobs aren't too hard to get into a routine with. The team are very helpful,even when working on your own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upcoming Company
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Denison university6 October 2017
Robertson is good company to work for if you have experience going in. You will get what you give and that's a fact. The owner and Vice President will give you the respect you want if you are honest. As a current employee that has the opportunity to leave and have a job before I even got home. I stay because in this day and age finding a company that will not rush to decisions and make observations for experience attitude and compatibility. You will not find this type of company anymore. I have personally witnessed Robertson go thru great lengths to make sure there personal is not working to the point they burn out and mentally frustrated. Yes there are times we work longer then expected and we get frustrated but you can always pick the phone up and talk to someone if it's possible Robertson will help. If your a experienced in construction you will understand what I am saying.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
Growing pains
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviroment
Labourer (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Muirton Perth16 September 2017
my typical day was to help other labourers keep the site clean and tidy, also move items into the houses for who ever required those items, cover the Gatemans duties when he went for his break and lunch also clean out the houses that where needing to be cleared and Cleaned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was brilliant work experience
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Dundee City14 August 2017
Had a brilliant 3 weeks work experience / working with others ad being part of a team learning lots of new things was always out ad about taking part

Done banksman where u are trying to make sure everything is nice ad safe for others around u
Pros
Got free breakfast in the morning ad bought some lunch at dinner time
Cons
Got about 20/30 mins max for ur lunch or brake
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Joiner/Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray14 June 2017
excellent job - great guys and a sound agent - all you could ask for.
One of soundest bunch of guys ive worked with for a long time---------------------
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Work Experience Construction Management (Former Employee) –  Bolton11 June 2017
Okay nothing to brag about wasnt there long but seen a lot of staff come and go they dont stay long after projects as the companies about making money not employing staff just contractors
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in team
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen8 June 2017
In My opinion, the teamwork should be motivating and the organization should be kept same than the last month, I have almost 2 years working in this job and it was the best time in all aspects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience with great people and fantastic enviroment
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Stirling, Stirlingshire5 June 2017
Typical day at the robertson construction for me was going in at 9am getting my PPE on then asking for a task if not given one id make sure i do somethinf in the mean time, wait for the trainee manager and go out on site to patrol if everything is going okay and everyone is doing their job correctly, problem solving on a daily basis, meetings and individual tasks with huge responsibly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Placement Review
Work placement Electrician (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, West Dunbartonshire28 March 2017
During my time doing a work placement with Robertsons Construction I was very happy with their treatment towards me and towards my career progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Contracts Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester21 March 2017
okay nothing to brag about nothing major
learnt a lot met a lot of new and interesting people and skills
the team was excellent work together well under pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Robertson Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 71 reviews
530
412
314
210
15

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture