Rixonway Kitchens Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury29 March 2018
8 00 - 17 00 typical day at work so its 8 uhr
Lerned: Picking packing do order (plotbags) so put each parts in bag for single customer end later silit. replanish staff. bring palets.

The hardest part: Stand 8 uher in one place no sit.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Time go fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun culture
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire23 March 2018
First, the good things:
Decent pay for a small town
Hour lunch
Some employee activities
Good quality products
- I would buy a kitchen from them but not work for them

Unfortunately, parking was limited and difficult. Canteen was non-existent even though there's about 500 employees and kitchen was too small. The office is too overcrowded with small d3sks and no room to swing a cat. It's a shame as site was purpose-built but looks like no thought was given to employee use

Software was extremely old and outdated. You would come in the morning full of energy and be dragged down by how slow the system was. I made suggestions but didn't receive any feedback

Company policies could be draconian on lots of little things so employee morale could be bad, as management were not always open to negotiate.
Management were overworked and didn't make eye contact. Some were promoted too young, it got to their head, and had no respect for subordinates or colleagues a lot older than them and could be extremely rude. Issues could be made out of being slightly late, which meant employees came just on time but left on time too- which meant the company overall lost more time than if they had been flexible and understanding

Most employees are overrun, overworked and had low morale. When I started most employees had only been there 6 months as I assume many others left

Would recommend older employees being made managers as soft skills were sometimes non existent from young managers. This would reduce staff turnover
Also young managers are poor on motivation- people should be shown
  more... around and meet new people-not just see the warehouse
Spread the teams around the building so it's not so claustrophobic
The director should have walked around the company sometimes with sweets and made small talk with employees

Some good changes like newer software and managers from outside were bought in whilst I was there but I left as some of the newer ones had little compassion, common sense and understanding and respect
  less
Pros
Decent pay for a small town
Cons
Bad culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dictatorship
Sales processor (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire22 February 2018
Poor management that cannot accept its own and company failings. Time constraints and pressures through high expectation of workload. High turnover of staff in the sales processing team leading to mistakes and creating a blame culture. If your face doesn’t fit, they will hound you out. Always advertising for new staff as old staff are always leaving.
Pros
The exit gate
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire17 August 2017
Management have a terrible view towards shopfloor staff, you are seen as just a number towards them.
Pay is completely backwards, machine operators are required to ensure the safety of themselves and others working on and around the machine, usually with agency staff who speak little to no English and are regularly replaced therefore having to train up new, none English speaking staff. They are also required to hit unreasonable targets on machines that require extensive repair work yet are paid a lot less to the assembly line whose job in comparison is much easier and stress free. (I have worked in both sectors)
Apprentices are just cheap labour basically, who find themselves stood stacking panels day in day out learning next to nothing.
Progression is none existent. They have their own "academy" system which does allow at times operatives to be trained up to run certain machines however they then find themselves stuck on academy pay for years to come, being given ridiculous reasons as to why they cannot have their pay rise. (Equates to roughly £20 a week more).

Nobia took over Rixonway and we were promised it would become a better place to work. That did not happen, however many people have found themselves being forced to take up extra roles such as Health and Safety reps for with no benefits to themselves. There are more meetings for staff than I care to mention. Daily meetings, monthly briefs, random meetings each day for random issues, problems and just a general telling off. "Work harder, faster etc".

Overall I would not recommend Rixonway unless you are out
  more... of work.

The one positive is the shop floor staff are a brilliant set of lads who deserve a much better workplace.
  less
Pros
Great bunch of lads on the shopfloor
Cons
Poor management. Poor pay/progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work place
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury5 November 2016
Very poor working system. Bad health & safety. Only 2 breaks in 8 hours. I had to teach untrained new agency staff when performing my day to day tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people, easy job
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury23 September 2016
the job is not too difficult, easy to get used to, fantastic colegues, always ready to help, no time pressure, work in your own pace. I enjoyed working there for almost 2 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard.
i never got paid because it was work experience (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury20 September 2016
i'm 16 years old i have never work at any shops but i did work experience at Rixonway kitchens in Dewsbury the jobs where hard but i enjoyed packing boxes and using my ability. i never got in trouble also i never miss behavior and always had a positive work head on.
Pros
no
Cons
9 aclock to 5 aclock
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Handball deliveries, Nice vehicles, Friendly staff.
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury18 July 2016
Rixonway Kitchens are on the whole a good employer, the job is well organised and wages and expenses are always paid on time.

Your weekly route is scheduled out with little room for error, traffic hold ups or slow staff at the delivery points can easily put you behind and then your playing catch up.

Most days are 4am starts and you very rarely finish before 2pm.
Often upon return to the yard having completed a long day you are expected to run further errands, lengthening your working day.
This would be fine if you were being paid by the hour but as its salary pay, no one wants to be doing 15hr days three times a week.

All the drivers and management staff are friendly and they run a fleet of 15 plate dafs.
Pros
good staff, stay dry in wet weather, well organised.
Cons
Long hours, Handball deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fun place to be
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury3 March 2016
I like working there, because my team mates have been really good to me, they are always willing to help if you're struggling, but the payment isn't great, even though the job is quiet difficult, depends on which side you're working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury29 February 2016
During my time at rixonway a typical day was the day to day repairs of the factory machinery as well as carrying out a daily tpm schedule. Other duties involved was site installation work such as machine moves,pipe work,and looking after the general condition of the building.During my time i learned a vast amount of experience in repairing machinery such as fault finding plc problems to mechanical problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Temp Receptionist/ Admin (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury1 March 2015
Good work ethics ,Friendly work place and working as a team,on the job training with a chance to progress in the company.
They employ a large number of people and the company has just been bought out by a Swedish company.
Pros
local, car parking
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Estimating Supervisor & New Build Design Manager (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury31 January 2015
A great company to work for, I have learned a myriad of skills whilst being part of the Rixonway team. Thank you Rixonway!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Role- Labourer (Former Employee) –  shaw cross19 January 2015
wage and hours was ok people i worked with was a laugh apart from 1 team leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Packer (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury4 April 2014
- Worked as part of a team.
- Performed a variety of duties.
- Worked five days at week.
- Three shifts.
Pros
Very clean and tidy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but fun.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury8 January 2014
i made kitchen drawer boxes. i learnt how to use some power tools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace enjoyed it very much
loader (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, ENG4 December 2013
i liked working for Rixonway kitchens i enjoyed the role i held.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rixonway Kitchens. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 17 reviews
53
45
34
22
13

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Rixonway Kitchens Reviews by Location