River Island Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace - depending on the store
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire8 January 2018
Worked at a River Island close to where I used to live and LOVED the staff and management there. Went to another and hated it. With RI it all depends.
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Sometimes iffy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester16 December 2017
overall a friendly and genuine workplace, a lot of part time students and not many staff over the age of 20 but I had fond memories at my short time working here. very easy work and the managers are very professional. would love to go back.
Pros
discount and uniform bonus
Cons
9 hour contracts :(
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex14 December 2017
the staffs at river island were not so friendly to me which made me not want to work there anymore, even though it was only a christmas period.i learned a lot of reasonable skills but always felt under pressure which i did not like
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time here
Recruitment Manager - Retail (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 December 2017
I enjoyed working for River Island but it was more about working for a well known brand.

I worked really hard here and unfortunately there was little praise or appreciation of my efforts.
Pros
Staff Shop
Cons
Lack of appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast28 November 2017
It was fun as I had a different range of tasks to complete throughout my shift and this was good as I was not bored all of the time- there was always something to do, and it was interesting doing things. However, when it was busy in the store it was quite stressful.
Pros
having your break the same time as someone else
Cons
breaks were very short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
service assistant (Former Employee) –  Renfrewshire27 October 2017
ok place to work, really good when its busy during the Christmas period, but not so good when its quiet. not really got much of a team spirit either
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Order Input Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hanger Lane Station22 October 2017
A great place to work. The benefits and incentives are amazing from 50% discount to company, events always happening. The working environment here is like no other. Its working environment is let down by poor management and lack of progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very friendly staff
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Silver link Retail Park16 October 2017
Worked as a christmas temp and the permanent staff were very rude and not nice to work with and also the pay was not very good compared to other retail businesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Merthyr Tydfil5 October 2017
It was a great first job but the management i had made things very difficult with the manager and assistant manager not being very helpful. Salary was decent along with benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable job
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire30 September 2017
I like the job but it’s not worth the money and effort I put in it. I don’t get enough time off and I feel like I work all week. The hours are rubbish and I wouldn’t recommend anyone to work there unless they don’t want a career
Pros
50% discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work long hours not enjoyable
Christmas temp Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 September 2017
long hours , pressured to work overtime even when you tell them your a student. benefit of work uniform and discount however if your new they seemed annoyed that you bothered asking
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and nice enviroment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Inverness, Highland21 September 2017
Lovely place to work and the discounts you get is amazing. If you enjoy fashion then river island would definitely be the place to work for you. However extra hours available are limited if looking for over time at any point.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire12 September 2017
I liked being constantly occupied and working hard for my money. I liked working with different staff and getting to know new people and I like fashion.
Pros
Getting to meet new people and good wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance not good
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South Shields, Tyne and Wear8 September 2017
Really good to work for but work / life balance is not good, good discount and salary good. Very hard work especially busy times. Uniform allowance good.
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing fun and friendly work place.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corby, Northamptonshire5 September 2017
Working in river island is amazing, they have so many opportunities to give. You are praised for your hard work if something doesn't go as straight forward you are asked if there was something you could improve on before every shift starts you receive constructive and positive feedback. not to mention the amazing 40% discount! you are made part of the family as soon as you join the team, you are able to meet amazing costumers who become regular people that come into the store. they support you in every situation even if its outside of work.
Pros
discount and hourly pay.
Cons
monthly pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrific
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 September 2017
they take students and then bully them to do all the work while management relaxes. They do not appreciate the staff and always try to overwork you. Not a good experience
Pros
discount
Cons
no time to breath.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for young people starting up
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset1 September 2017
This job fell at my feet when I was desperate for any work, they gave me more hours on my contract when I needed them. I struggled to have much time of a weekend with my family and friends because the hours of work I was contracted became more and more outrageous. I had to work every Sunday without agreeing to it,
Pros
Discount
Cons
No free weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing and helpless workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff28 August 2017
Pointless waste of time trap bullies despressimg incorrect pay al the time poor facilities unrefebished childish management hard labour bad pay bully people out of jobs big staff turnover
Pros
Employee benefits
Cons
The whole company and management in a particular store
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Stock Room & Warehouse Assistant/ Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swansea24 August 2017
really nice, environment. chilled and no ones ever angry everyone seems to enjoy working there. really nice staff and plenty of benefits thoroughly enjoying my time here.
Pros
discount
Cons
the heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham22 August 2017
Really fun job, great people and advantages, nice clothes, short shifts which can be good for some people, new music to listen to all the time, lots of people similar to yourself
Pros
Free clothes and discounts
Cons
Not a lot of pregreasion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at River Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,078 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6