River Island Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company to Work For
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancashire12 July 2018
A typical day at work is mainly keeping clothing standards high as well as prioritising customer service. The job can become tedious at times and frustrating as there's hardly any opportunity to progress further in the business.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Meadowhall, South Yorkshire9 July 2018
Good company to work for, great benefits and lovely team which help you as much as they can. I have learned many new skills during my time with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Relaxed workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire5 July 2018
- Young, friendly management
- Typical day at work included: chatting to customers, organising the stockroom, serving at the till, answering phone calls
- A lot of running around shop floor and down to the stockroom
- Worth the hard work when with fun co-workers
Pros
comfortable environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 June 2018
Very organised and structured, well presented and fun work environment, i reaaly enjoyed working here as it gave me the right experinces and right attitude when in the working environment
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and hard work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow30 June 2018
I would start at 7am finish at 2pm was hard work. in the morning I would be going to down to the loading bay bringing up totes and tagging clothes then I would stripping clothes on rails and then doing a lot of stock taking.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and management wasn't great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackpool27 June 2018
Free river island clothes helped ease the struggle with terrible managers and unhelpful colleagues. Work was fun sometimes, but for the most part, managers weren't great.
Pros
Discount and free uniform
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy working environment
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Walsall13 June 2018
it can be very draining at times but if you have a true passion for people it's an alright job but not for the long term. The job tends to turn happy people to people pretending to be happy.
Pros
40% discount.
Cons
very emotionally draining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with incredible staff
Sales Assistant/Manager (Current Employee) –  Belfast12 June 2018
During my time at River Island i have learned countless skills helping with Customer Service and Sales. more recently i have changed role into a management position which is also helping me further improve my skill set.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary contract
Temporary Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Altrincham5 June 2018
Give very basic training about manual handling, was trained how to use the stock checking equipment had to figure it out or ask standard members of staff for help, lucky was only there a month
Pros
None
Cons
Whole thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London East, Greater London5 June 2018
The managers are very helpful. When giving a task they make sure you completely understand the task and stay close to you just in case you need to ask for help. I've recently learned how to do transfer Which is transferring products from one store to another. The task was explained and gave a demonstration, which was helpful. With the help given, I was able to do the task with no extra assistance.
Pros
straight forward
Cons
can be tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds30 May 2018
Alongside my studies at University, I have also taken inspiration from my involvement of work experiences, whilst working at River Island as a cashier and sales assistant. This employment has helped me develop several skills in working with figures and the ability to accurately handle, organise and analyse information. From this experience, I am more intrigued to learn about finance and accountancy. With my experience I have learnt skills such as profit production due to selling and also financial ethics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol30 May 2018
Fun place to work, managers were amazing and were always there for when people needed support, money wasn't the best but for students etc it is the perfect job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Workplace feels like a family
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset22 May 2018
All employees have a close bond and it is a lovely family to be a part of. Everyone treats each other with respect, which is very nice in the work place. There are times when it can be hard to get along with everyone but this is rare in River Island. Salary is average and decent, however i feel there is not a large amount of room to advance in personal improvement within retail.
Pros
Family-like employees
Cons
Retail can be boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire17 May 2018
What a disastrous place. unorganised, demoralising, poorly managed. You are worked like a slave for little money. Hated, hated, hated every minute and couldn't wait to get out the door fast enough. Do not waste your time.
Pros
Not one thing...
Cons
Management, Area management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grays12 May 2018
- Set shifts
- no day is the same as tasks vary depending on where you're needed
- good pay
- good management
- although sometimes very busy, it is a nice atmosphere to work in
Pros
Set shifts so you always know what you're doing & can plan the rest of your week
Cons
Not too much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firm but fair
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria10 May 2018
it is a very balanced life to work ratio, the management are firm yet also fair. since working there i have excelled in my customer serves skills and people skills. the most enjoyable part of the job is when we meet our targets.
Pros
balanced life
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place of work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside4 May 2018
Lovely place to work worked there for three years and was given many opportunities to enhance my skills and knowledge in retail. Lovely people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place and not great manaement
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bluewater30 April 2018
demanding without any input, poorly managed and not a very nice place to work.
The management are not very welcoming, not very experienced and don't put in much to guide their people.
Pros
Some nice clothes
Cons
Horrible people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really interactive and positive work place.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands30 April 2018
i start work at 10 o'clock on a Saturday morning as i only work there part time. i spend about 4hours there on a shift as they are the hours given too me. however i do end up working later if needed.
Pros
discount, friendly staff and more hours given
Cons
set times for shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
youthful job
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Merseyside29 April 2018
For a part time job River Island wasn't bad. youthful and fun environment amongst other work but poor management. Quite demanding of staff but not particularly unfair in general.
Pros
40% off clothing
Cons
Assistant manager had zero people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at River Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,208 reviews
5337
4408
3278
293
192

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

River Island Reviews by Location