River Island Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham22 August 2017
Really fun job, great people and advantages, nice clothes, short shifts which can be good for some people, new music to listen to all the time, lots of people similar to yourself
Pros
Free clothes and discounts
Cons
Not a lot of pregreasion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy place to work
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands18 August 2017
Days are very busy but i like to be on my feet and have something to do, freindly people and good advantages. I enjoy working with colleagues and helping each other
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 August 2017
Very Active work place, you have to help a lot with different jobs during your shift, management is always easy to get along with, treat you like a proper team member, customers can be difficult and aggressive at time but you learn how to deal with them in a professional manner. You enjoy the job when you see the satisfied faces of customers and enjoy customer compliments the most.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
River Island
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 May 2017
Good place to work at because it's fun and I have learnt a large amount of knowledge and now have experience in the customer assistance industry so I cannot thank them enough
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham16 March 2017
A typical day at this job would be making sure shop floor was tidy and all clothing would be accurate on hangers and shelving. The hardest part of this job would be at the end of the day tidying all shop floor and stocking all rails and shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like it here
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 February 2017
Did not like it here working here was like, they dont care about you, your time how much you are doing for them nothing.
Never work here again.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 February 2017
Worked as a Christmas temp but it was such a good work placement. Loved every minute of it. Everyday was different. Really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 January 2017
The culture of the workplace is amazing, amazing people, amazing environment. However, management handle situations poorly, they communicate poorly and hinder the postive working experience.
Pros
work culture
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Delivery Staff (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands15 January 2017
Just get in, do your job well, respect your colleagues and get out. Follow these simples steps and you will avoid drama and getting into it with management.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 January 2017
i get only 4 hours per shift, but even that feels soo short at times, the time flys when im surrounded with nice and friendly. the managers are really nice however we aren't allowed to bring water bottles to the front which is annoying because constantly have to run to the back for water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Sales Advisor (Christmas Temp) (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 December 2016
you are taught new tasks everyday, the jobs and requirements are constantly changing so you have to be very independent and motivated! Co-workers were nice to work with that was the best part of the job!
Pros
discounted prices on retail
Cons
cut people easily, doing the same task for 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude staff and low pay
Level 2 Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham21 December 2016
- I earned just over minimum wage in a managerial role
- Management were rude to staff i.e shouting at them in public
- Poor shift management (did not who was supposed to be working when)
- Failed to sort out my tax leading to me being emergency taxed for 4 months straight
- Expect you to wear only current river island clothing but only provide 20% off for you to buy these items
- long unsociable hours
Pros
20% discount
Cons
poor pay, rude staff, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local produtivo e muito boa equipa
Vendedora (Former Employee) –  Birmingham3 December 2016
Muito boa equipa e espirito de equipa entre os colegas
Boa gerência e organização .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham16 August 2016
best experience of my life, it a shame it was a Christmas temp job however I would definitely work for them again the staff are great and easy to get along with.
Pros
40% discount, flexible hours
Cons
Nothing was amazing best expeinace ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham15 June 2016
Frequently offered overtime. Interesting meeting new people and learnt a lot of new skills. Would recommend as a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and consistnet workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham15 June 2016
I was given the opportunity to work on all areas of the store and I learnt a lot. Co-workers were often willing to help and teach me new skills when I needed assistance and I did the same in return. I was frequently offered overtime which was useful to earn some extra money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham26 May 2016
With this particular store you never know what you day will entail because everyday is different. The people that work there are very passionate about what they do and like to make people that come into the store undivided attention. I've learnt how to become more approachable towards people and how I can better myself as a sales advisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people to work with
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  birmingham the fort24 May 2016
If i had more hours to work it would be great however I was at school and had exams so couldn't work much but i enjoyed working there a lot.
Pros
Location was good as you could easily get lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham3 April 2016
Management take complete advantage of you. Pay terrible. Shifts arranged so you work for 5/6 hours solid with no breaks. Never worked for such a poorly managed or disorganised company where staff are treated so poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham24 March 2016
Learned life long skills within this job and has developed me over the time in which I have worked there. I enjoy working here but im looking to push my ability further
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at River Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,077 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6