River Island Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Retail Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire13 July 2018
Working at River Island was very enjoyable. The staff and management were very helpful and easy to get on with. The company was also a delight to work for.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company to Work For
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancashire12 July 2018
A typical day at work is mainly keeping clothing standards high as well as prioritising customer service. The job can become tedious at times and frustrating as there's hardly any opportunity to progress further in the business.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Trinity12 July 2018
River Island was a fun place to work. Management was always committed to working hard just as much as its employers which was good to see. Discount on clothes was very good.The hardest part of the job was dealing with awkward customers, but management made the process easier
Pros
Good discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely working environment
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  Bristol10 July 2018
this role had me working within the warehouse and shop floor. Helping customers with queries and keeping the store tidy. everyone was really friendly and wanted to help with any problems I faced.
Pros
time flies, meaning that it is fun
Cons
hard to know what to do when you've finished a task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with, over worked at times
Facilities Assistant - Head Office (Former Employee) –  Hanger Lane Station9 July 2018
day to day covering various areas within the department.

you do learn some processes to begin with but everything is just a repeat after that.

not the the best management to have in an head office environment.

work place culture is great outside of the department.

hardest part of the job would be keeping up with the physical work load at times.

best part of the job would be interacting with various other departments.
Pros
staff discounts, working with great people
Cons
physical demand at times, poor department management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Meadowhall, South Yorkshire9 July 2018
Good company to work for, great benefits and lovely team which help you as much as they can. I have learned many new skills during my time with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Kirkcaldy7 July 2018
Horrible staff
Terrible pay
Customers were nice
Not the best place for people with some extra weight on them
Hardly any break time
Staff think there better than everyone else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Relaxed workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire5 July 2018
- Young, friendly management
- Typical day at work included: chatting to customers, organising the stockroom, serving at the till, answering phone calls
- A lot of running around shop floor and down to the stockroom
- Worth the hard work when with fun co-workers
Pros
comfortable environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 June 2018
Very organised and structured, well presented and fun work environment, i reaaly enjoyed working here as it gave me the right experinces and right attitude when in the working environment
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and hard work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow30 June 2018
I would start at 7am finish at 2pm was hard work. in the morning I would be going to down to the loading bay bringing up totes and tagging clothes then I would stripping clothes on rails and then doing a lot of stock taking.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and management wasn't great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackpool27 June 2018
Free river island clothes helped ease the struggle with terrible managers and unhelpful colleagues. Work was fun sometimes, but for the most part, managers weren't great.
Pros
Discount and free uniform
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a student
Sales Advisor in a retail and fashion store (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham25 June 2018
A great environment to work in as you get to learn the latest fashion trend.

Staff are trained to be more customer focused and are trained on how to offer alternatives to customers when they could not find what they wanted from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London23 June 2018
Discount nice people like the customers busy was fun got to meet new people who I work with. They were all nice .just need better hours and need something new
Pros
Discount
Cons
Non really long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Sales Assistant (XMAS TEMP) (Former Employee) –  Biggleswade18 June 2018
Would never work there again, horrible managers and no understanding at all.Bad management and team work, bad salary and no benefits apart from a small amount to use on clothes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stessful enviroment with no recognition or reward
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Greater London13 June 2018
daily overloaded with tasks in order for managers to meet targets.
catty and almost school like attitude from store manager.
terrible pay package.
made some lifelong friends
Pros
1hr break
Cons
awful managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Sales Advisor (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 June 2018
loved every minute working with River Island, i developed a myriad of skills and i learnt how to maintain store standards and approach customers giving them a warm welcome and with such long hour shift I obtained how to look after customers and know all new fashion trends. I enjoyed every part of the job ifelt passionate working within this industry.
Pros
amazing people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy working environment
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Walsall13 June 2018
it can be very draining at times but if you have a true passion for people it's an alright job but not for the long term. The job tends to turn happy people to people pretending to be happy.
Pros
40% discount.
Cons
very emotionally draining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with incredible staff
Sales Assistant/Manager (Current Employee) –  Belfast12 June 2018
During my time at River Island i have learned countless skills helping with Customer Service and Sales. more recently i have changed role into a management position which is also helping me further improve my skill set.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No empathy or consideration for workers
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Metrocentre, Tyne and Wear9 June 2018
I worked a temporary position, when it was finished I was not informed of their choice not to keep me on. After my last shift I was simply taken off the rota and removed from the facebook group.

Some mangers were kind and good to work with whereas others made me dread going in for a shift.
Pros
Uniform allowance
Cons
Lack of compassion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Delivery Operative (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff7 June 2018
okay place to work. can be mountainous, with repetition of task throughout the shift.
learned how to work at a fast pace n a flagship store.
culture is very fashion driven and looks matter in the job, sell the clothing as much as we can to customers.
hardest part is the repetition of the job.
best part is working for a team and having a good laugh altogether working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at River Island. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,207 reviews
5337
4408
3278
292
192

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture