Queen's University Belfast Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work with students and staff
Teaching Fellow, School of Management (Former Employee) –  County Antrim2 October 2018
A good place to work .
A typical day involved preparation and delivery of lectures. A lot of time was devoted to looking after the needs of part-time students. The most enjoyable part of the job was engagement with students and staff.
Pros
Students
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
QUB FORMULA STUDENT TEAM (Former Employee) –  Belfast27 April 2018
Good people, very frienlly staff. Interesting projects to work on. Excellent facilities. Great location close to plenty of good places for food at lunch.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Purchasing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Current role - School Secretary (Current Employee) –  School of Law8 February 2018
Salaries are excellent and great terms and conditions. . You are constantly learning new skills as IT systems are continually being updated. It is difficult however to progress in clerical roles.
Pros
Excellent terms and conditions of employment
Cons
Difficult to get promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good research institution
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Antrim27 November 2017
As with any university each department and it's culture is different but in the engineering dept. where I was working it was relatively sane. There was good support both technical and academic as well as a very liberal policy as to how and when you carried out your work. As long as you did your job satisfactorily you were left alone to get on with it which to some people such as myself is a very important consideration. I cannot really comment on the other aspects of the institution as I had minimal contact with then during my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peer Mentor Volunteer
Student Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Belfast1 October 2017
I found this a rewarding volunteer experience welcoming the first years into our university and being a friendly face to welcome them.
My day included
- Taking prospective students on tours
- Communicating with both prospective students and their parents
- Providing a positive customer service and university experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work sometimes.
Note Taker (Current Employee) –  Belfast22 April 2017
It depends on your role. It's quite demanding on certain employees. The staff are generally fantastic, so if you are clerical staff it might be perfect for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Supervisor
Mentor/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belfast24 February 2017
Carried out practical demonstrations and led workshops for pharmacy students on a second year module. Carried out marking of classwork and coursework throughout the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Research Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast10 February 2017
Fantastic professionalism regarding teaching students and guiding them in a career path. Top class teaching facilities and very helpful staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learning
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Belfast29 December 2016
New stuff always there to be research under supervisor instruction. Chance to use new technology and new machines always provided. Encouraged to do more all the time with enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy workplace but fun
Pre-Sessional Course‏ English Language Teacher (Former Employee) –  Belfast25 September 2016
A typical day consisted of 4 to six classes with students

I learned to prepare well in advance of classes in case there was a queue for the photocopier

Management were outstanding and helped with any problems that arose

All coworkers made me feel like part of a big family

The hardest part of the job was saying goodbye to the students when they graduated

Bumping into the students in Queens after they had been accepted on their course after passing the exams at INTO Queens made me very happy and proud that I helped them to get there.
Pros
great support from all staff
Cons
Only tempory position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ottimo laboratorio
Visiting junior researcher in Microbiology (Former Employee) –  Belfast18 September 2016
ambiente stimolante. Colleghi perfetti. Ottimo lavoro di squadra
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my experience and learnt a lot.
Student (Former Employee) –  Belfast15 August 2016
Enjoyed my experience and learnt a lot. Lecturers were very knowledgeable, I would have completed a masters if funding was accessible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR3 February 2016
Working as a Research Assistant at Queen's University allowed me to further develop skills obtained during undergraduate and postgraduate studies. A typical day involved either collecting and/or examining large datasets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Helper (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR18 November 2015
A typical day would consist of coming in and taking queries from customers, which would mostly be answered independently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Belfast Northern Ireland22 October 2015
Relaxed, fun environment that invests time in their employees. The staff are friendly and eager to help. There are many different areas to work in, so you can expand your knowledge and try something different.
Pros
Office space
Cons
Big organization to learn about
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente lavorativo stimolante ed innovativo.
Tesista in molecular modelling (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR11 May 2015
Utilizzo di strumenti di laboratorio all'avanguardia nel settore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good university
Demonstrator/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Belfast, NIR6 November 2014
It is a very good university. You need to have a good boss to get a good life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience
Lecturer in Politics of the Middle East (Current Employee) –  Belfast, NIR16 October 2014
My experience is positive because I have a good working relationship with my management. However, the admin of the university is not as capable as it should be which causes issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Northern Ireland Manager JISC RSC (Current Employee) –  Belfast, NIR8 October 2014
Environment currently working in allows for creativity and innovation.
All staff are friendly, helpful and very professional.
Best part of working here is the freedom to develop new ideas and test them out before rolling out into sector
Pros
Good terms and conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career prospects and benefits
Clerical Officer (Current Employee) –  Belfast, NIR23 May 2014
Queen's University Belfast offers staff excellent career prospects and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 12Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Queen's University Belfast. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 26 reviews
514
410
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Queen's University Belfast Reviews by Location