QBE Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 305 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such potential but unfortunately a poor working environment
Not specified (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 December 2018
From an IT perspective a combination of departments at war and an aggressive outsourcing strategy that leaves QBE itself management heavy with few people who understand delivery turns what should be a world leading employer into a war zone of internal politics combined with a nasty blame culture where everyones energy is focused either on protecting their own backs or stabbing others in the back first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Personal Injury Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire7 November 2018
Management that don't really take on board people's ideas and hamper progression. Workload in PI very high with minimal appreciation from anyone higher than a team leader. Management very clique based.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Senior Risk Analyst (Current Employee) –  London17 October 2018
Not a bad place to work. Excellent office layout with great facilities. Company is committed to the work life balance of its employees. Free fruit during the day
Pros
fruit
Cons
Pay, and career progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Motor Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Leeds30 May 2018
A great place to work, an amazing environment to garner insurance knowledge. Management were firm but fair. The Motor Claims Unit is highly regarded and looks great on your CV.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst employer ever
Senior PI Claims Negotiator (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex21 March 2018
A culture of treating their employees dreadfully. No-one enjoyed working at their Chelmsford Office. Sadly, most of the staff were made redundant in 2016.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Data Migration Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford29 January 2018
Worked here on a temp contract and found it a great place to work with a great team who cared not only about the work but each other too, in a great central location in chelmsford only 5 minutes from the station and excellent facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A plus company to work for
Norwich Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Norwich15 January 2018
If the office did not close down, I would still be working for QBE. Sadly the local office to me closed.

I had no complaints with way the company was ran. Great morals and company ethic. It was a company that cared, and put effort into development and progression.

You were not just another number.
Pros
Great all round company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Senior loss adjuster (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire17 November 2017
Current employee as senior claims adjuster for a few years. Too many changes without proper consultation. No promotion unless your are within the 'crowd'. Robotic and boring managers with no people skills. No support in development & training. Difficult to get good pay rises and managers do not support you. A call centre approach to targets and audits. A spy mentality for some managers to catch you out. HR is woeful too.
Pros
Free tea and coffee.
Cons
Robotic managers who have no people skills & targeted like a call centre.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Education
Senior VBA Developer (Former Employee) –  London27 October 2017
QBE Insurance has a significant market footprint in Insurance. Having worked with Senior and Assistant Underwriters, Senior Actuaries (both embedded in the divisions and central) and having reported up to the Head of Actuarial, I've enjoyed two and a half years of exposure to many Lines of Business within the Insurance industry. This has afforded me an excellent grounding in understanding the mechanisms of pricing and typical behind-the-scenes insurance processes in general.
Pros
Learning about Insurance
Cons
High Staff Turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 July 2017
Great benefits at QBE, good pension, healthcare etc. Newly refurbished office in London. Going through a lot of change as is the whole insurance industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?
Credit Hire Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford23 September 2016
Just like before childish and back biting environment but this is where i got my start and learned the basics so if you can over come everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad management
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford12 July 2016
My view is reflecting that my entire office is being made redundant. The office has a lot of good people and they are all committed to delivering a good service, just the infrastructure lets them down and so clients expectations is rarely met.
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QBE in a nutshell
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  London12 July 2016
Department: IT&C. Management is great, the work-life balance is great and culture is better than most insurance companies. Salary is competitive and security is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Administrative Assistant/Data Inputter (Former Employee) –  Stafford11 May 2016
Prioritise workload for the day.
Structure of the company and how it worked.
All management was fair and approachable.
Co-workers easy and helpful.
Finding enough hours in the day.
The company and all of the staff.
Pros
The job was accessible for me with hours and travel.
Cons
It was only temporary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
(EO), Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plantation Place, London18 February 2016
It depends on your team, like all companies, but generally this is a great place to work. Your career can progress and, just as importantly, you can enjoy going into a friendly workplace every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
claims Inspector (Former Employee) –  home based19 October 2015
professional and competent and a fun place to work with great colleagues with a can do attitude.

excellent appraisal system and corporate behaviours.
Pros
training and career development
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start my career!
Underwriting Support Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ENG2 February 2015
Great company helped me a lot, I went on several courses and expanded my knowledge base considerably.

A typical day at work included processing a number of reports across British marine and synd 1036, it would also include data entry and telephone calls. i would also maintain several Bordereaux and submit L pans to x changing on a regular basis.

The management where also helpful and i was happy to work for them.

Managing heavy workloads with not enough people i also found this challenging and rewarding
Pros
Great people
Cons
Outsourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford11 December 2014
QBE is a good company to work for. It is a busy environment, but due to team work duties are performed well and deadlines met. There are various courses available, which helps employees to progress and there are opportunities within the company for this.
Pros
Bonus, health package, pleasant place to work, colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very intresting work
RECEPTIONIST/TELEPHONIST/ADMIN (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford, ENG15 October 2014
sorting out email sending of to files or outsource company
have learned 4 diffrent computer systems
get on well with all ages young and older
speaking to people on phone and helping them
Pros
private health care
Cons
hours very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Admin work (Former Employee) –  Leeds12 August 2014
A day at work at QBE is fun and also very hardworking. I learned how to use Microsoft Excel using formula's etc. The management was was firm but fair. My co-workers were friendly but they also got on with their work and took it very seriously. For me the hardest part of the job was inputting formulas into spreadsheet. The most enjoyable part of the job was using spreadsheets also because I like new challenges.
Pros
Hour Lunch Break
Cons
Long Duration on Computer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QBE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 305 reviews
592
486
381
229
117

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture