Priory Group Employee Reviews

Found 260 reviews matching the search See all 262 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work
HR Administrator (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire22 January 2019
The priory group is a company that specialise in mental health yet they do not care about their employees mental health.

The Management is poor and unfair. Certain people are given different treatment and issues are not dealt with but brushed under the carpet.

If you speak out about certain people in management you get punished for it.

Individual teams and people are lovely and make the work place bearable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Priory Group
23 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed working with your team during your time with Priory.

We would be interested to learn more about the concerns you've raised, so we can look into the issues you've mentioned and find out where they occurred. If you would be happy to share more details with us please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy company - avoid!
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Altrincham20 January 2019
Hateful company that put profit before everything.no sick pay, no pay increase, no or little training.
Management are bullies.
Generally speaking the staff teams are great but it doesn’t compensate for the company or management attitude.
Avoid!
Cons
Long hours, low pay, no support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Priory Group
21 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed working with your team during your time working with Priory.

We would be interested to learn more about the concerns you've raised, so we can look into the issues you've mentioned. If you would be happy to share more details with us please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages and not family orientated
Senior Residential Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea20 January 2019
It’s a very organised company (believe there is a lot worse) they are spot on with admin but they don’t care if you have children and would often make you work every weekend. The pay is really low and if they put the wages up I feel it would be better for the company as more people would work there and stay there.
Pros
Very organised company and great benefits
Cons
Low wages, sudden changes to rota and long hours without regards to families
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Priory Group
21 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the benefits during your time working with Priory.

We would be interested to learn more about the concerns you've raised, so we can look into the issue you've mentioned. If you would be happy to share more details with us please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Essex17 January 2019
The clients are great and there is job satisfaction however the downside is the lack of support from management and lack of opportunity to progress in your role.
Pros
Clients
Cons
Weekend working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
18 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're really glad to see that you had job satisfaction during your time with us.
We're sorry to hear about the other concerns you mentioned and we would be interested to learn more so we can look into the issues.

If you would be happy to share more details with us please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company...it horrendous !
Support Worker/Carer (Current Employee) –  Orpington16 January 2019
This is a terrible employer, they messed up my wages on three speerate occassions, which evventually lead me to be homeless with my children as I could not pay my rent, this caused me great stress and has led to me experiencing mental health cincerns of my own.

There is no sick pay, which is shocking considering that the job is mentally and physically challenging on every level, I did however enjoy the work it was fulfilling, but the culture at work was demoralising. You work alongside agency staff who earn almost twice as much as a full employee..theae agency staff do nothing that is expected of the role...and during night shifts they leave their posts...leaving contracted staff to do all the work.

I was so looking forward to the training that was initially offered to me...this was the main reason I had applied for the job...any training that was given was via a computer programme that I could never access and it was rubbish. The supervision was almost non existant, and any concerns were not addtessed.

This post completely deatroyed any confidence I had in my abilities as a carer.

I am now left homeless and this has made me ill myself mentally.

Considering this is a mental health provider this is shocking treatment of staff.

I would mostly work 8 hours before I could have a break and was sometimes asked to cut my breaks short to cover for other staff.

Please dont work for these people...this is not a good employer ! They destroyed my life ! I will not be continueing with this employer and will never ever work for them again !
Pros
Working with clients and seeing them improve and over come their issues
Cons
Poor pay, not paid correctly, no proper breaks, no sick pay. And no recourse ! Horrific !
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullies
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Tamworth12 January 2019
Not plesent curently working with them need to get out massive bullying culture . Manager friends with higher management so no point taking it further they look after each other .
Profit before residence
Pros
Residence
Cons
Priory group in all
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Official response from Priory Group
14 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns, we're sorry to hear about your experience and we would be very interested to learn more about the bullying issues and learn where they took place.

If you would be happy to share more details with us, please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bank staff (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 January 2019
I am bank staff at a priory home and enjoy it very much being able to pick what shifts I work. It goes a bit quiet around Christmas but in the summer shifts pick up as holidays begin for staff.
Managers never tend to stay for very long though so you get to know them, then they leave or get their marching orders.
Majority of staff are great and very caring, only a few not even a handful think they are the chief but I can deal with them as I won’t stand for over inflated egos.
Always found the managers good to go to with a problem.
The residents are looked after and that is main thing. I would never work at a place if I thought the care was not good.
Pros
Great staff, residents. Never a dull moment
Cons
Pay, availability for bank staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Priory Group
14 January 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your honest and detailed review. We’re really pleased to hear that you are enjoying your work and feel the standard of care at your site is good.

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for them
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  kemple view4 January 2019
Things that are wrong with this company:
Management treat staff terrible
Shifts are changed without warning
No support when feeling bullied
Breaks are terrible
Things are not reported when should
Nurses and managers sit in office all day
Get into trouble over silly things
Get sworn at by management and nurses
Statuary sick pay considering the job it is heath care
Food is cooked horrible for patients and staff
Make silly rules up
Long hours
Not paid enough for that type of work
Give disciplines for stupid reasons
No extra pay for nights and weekends
Pros
some staff are lovely
Cons
long hours and treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Official response from Priory Group
7 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns, we're sorry to hear about your experience and we would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared, and learn where they took place.

If you would be happy to share more details with us, please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company offering good benefits overshadowed by poor management and organisation
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Hereford, Herefordshire1 January 2019
Priory have a good package of benefits which makes the company attractive to work for. However consider what part of priory you are applying for and what service.

Pros
A good hourly rate of pay however this will be erased when the national living wage goes up in April 2019
Double time on Bank Holidays
A good an flexible pensions scheme that allows you to adjust your contributions and the company contributes to
A good Physical intervention course that’s regulated and accredited externally

Cons
No overtime rate just an enhancement that’s hard to implement only agreed to when desperate for staff. Process so difficult managers don’t bother or staff must wait months to sometimes be paid it
Many managers in finance, employees relations are peripatetic or work from home very hard to get hold of and can takes days to reply to calls or emails
With exception of the Physical intervention training and PBS training very poor face to face training often organised in remote places and staff not paid for travelling time amd sometimes mileage
Poor induction
Online training must be done in working hours to be paid which is not always possible otherwise unpaid in your own time


Priory Adult Care for the Midlands appears to care more for profit than it’s responsibility to those that live in its services and staff compliance with online training stats that is obsessional.

Shocking management from service manager upwards. The service I work at the manager stays locked away in the office and makes no attempt to come on the floor or support staff during staff shortages
  more... but is quick to find fault and question what staff are doing or not doing on the occasion they come to the main house. The manager does not know the People we support yet makes decisions that effect them which clearly identifies this. I don’t believe this is the exception to rule but I know of other Managers in priory that do work with staff and know their service staff and people we support well.

The majority of training is online which staff should if a proper induction given complete the majority of training during the first two weeks in theory. In reality staff are rushed into working due to poor staffing and pressure from operation managers and the managing director to keep agency costs down. Staff are expected to complete this training during working hours if expected to be paid otherwise in their own time for free. If unable to find the time due to long working hours or family commitments staff told they are no compliant and informed they won’t be able to come to work.

A huge culture of blame, previous management have been blamed for everything not right despite manager being in post for 6 months. At senior management level there is a culture of ignorance turning a blind eye to problems, pretending they don’t exist or claiming they don’t know they exist. Will hold face to face contact with staff listen to grievances or hold contact groups on how to improve a service only you pay lip service and then do nothing and give no feedback to staff or any progress on what was discussed

Questionable decisions made by employee relations department in regards to management of staff and discipline. They will attempt to will rush through proceedings and attempt to deny union representation at meetings borderline breaching employment law.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
2 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns, we're sorry to hear about your experience and we would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared, and learn where they took place.

If you would be happy to share more details with us, please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Worker
Children residential support worker (Former Employee) –  Ayrshire31 December 2018
Avoid this company at all costs. I only worked for a few months as the company was so badly organised. When I started there was no induction you were just told to get on with it without reading care plans or risk assessments. I was constantly criticised in everything that I done. Absolutely no support from Management. You are expected to come off night shifts and then go to a days training even if it’s your day off. You don’t get paid petrol to travel training even though it’s a hours round trip.Never enough staff for the young people. No money for the young people to do activities, they were constantly bored. Routines followed to suit staff not young people. I was told to go to another house and left with 3 children I had never met and was handed the keys the phone, and a log and told to get on with it.. Shocking practice.
Cons
Long hours no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
2 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns, we're sorry to hear about your experience.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared. If you would be happy to share more details with us, please feel free to contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

Want to know more about Priory Group?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Poole30 December 2018
Intesteing start to learning difficulties .
Lone worked on night shifts .
Good day staff
Need to look after staff more and appropriate training is needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
2 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your honest feedback.

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Management Consultant - Assignment (Current Employee) –  Bristol, UK18 December 2018
Great company, excellent management and productive atmosphere that stimulates your own motivation.
It is a very organized company, which I am very happy I had the opportunity to work with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Official response from Priory Group
19 December 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. We’re really pleased to see that you're enjoying your time working with Priory.

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there. Very unprofessional and the worst work conditions
none (Former Employee) –  Tavistock, Devon15 December 2018
Lasted 2 weeks. Never in my career in working with vulnerable young people have I seen such a shambles.
Ofsted unhappy and young people no getting what they deserve.
No support from management and very bad bullying conditions.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
17 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns, we're sorry to hear about your experience.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared. If you would be happy to share more details with us, please contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of staff
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 December 2018
Most days were short staffed and no agency help was given. Management at the time didn't seem to care about the staff or the service users at the home.
Would often leave work unhappy as patients weren't given the care they needed with such limited staff.
Salary was bad and would work through breaks doing 12 hour shifts to ensure service users had basic needs met.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
14 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared. If you would be happy to share more details with us, please contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Services users joy to work with
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Gateholme carr gate wakefield9 December 2018
Staff frightened of management as all family work there they bully staff
They have no interest in there service users
Staff work hard but never get any praise
The food budget is ridiculous
The service users never have any pocket money
Staff do more cleaning than looking after service users
Very bad manager not an ideal place to work
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Family run management bullies
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Official response from Priory Group
10 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've shared. If you would be happy to share more details with us, please contact myself at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire6 December 2018
No respect for staff or there skills even if u worked there many years the management don’t respect you at all and don’t listen to staff or visitors at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
7 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues. If you would be happy to share more with us, please contact me at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steep learning curve
Project Management (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 December 2018
As project manager you are expeceted to. The management of engagements and business development opportunities Responsibilities included full ownership for the project from concept to hand over. The management of the scope, project estimates, feasibility studies, project plans, finance management, external supplier management and change control. The mitigation and reduction of identified risk. The preparation and update of project documentation to ensure traceability. The management of the technical teams including task assignment and review of the deliverables. Support new business development and contribute appropriately to proposals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Priory Group
6 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review and a detailed description of your responsibilities as a project manager.
Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful organisation
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  South West2 December 2018
The HR team are incredibly disorganised - multiple errors and no communication from them. It’s like you’re doing them a favour trying to ascertain the next steps in employment/induction.

Never ended up starting and would suggest you avoid the company.
Cons
Poor organisation skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
4 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We would be very interested to learn more about the concerns you raised. If you would be happy to share more with us, please contact me at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conned me to work overtime just to take over £1500 of my worked wages!
HCA (Former Employee) –  Newbury2 December 2018
Management allowed staff members to breach confidentiality making me feel uncomfortable to work there, I left immediately. Only for them to con me out of my own wages (over£1500!)just before Christmas! Do not work here! The supervisor house keeper is a bully and continuiously talks about sensitive data with fellow employees while management let it over their heads.
Pros
Helping the patients.
Cons
They take your wages off of you, selected staff are spiteful making it an uncomfortable place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
4 December 2018

Thank you for taking time to write your concerns.
We would be very interested to learn more about the issues you've raised. If you would be happy to share more with us so we can find out what went wrong, please contact me at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of great staff members but not beneficial work place
Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim1 December 2018
I worked there just over a year. There is not much to do in that kind of place. You had to ask ur senior what you could do as most of support staff were just sitting and doing nothing. As a new staff member I did everything while watching others that has been there for years did nothing. If u are a good friend of senior or manager u would have the best time there ever. The easiest residents to deal with and the easiest cleaning duties to do or none at all. The breaks dont exist for 12h shifts as usually you are eating beside your own residents. The cleaners dont do much as well as all other members of staff are doing there duties. Some of the people who works there are having more benefits if the managments are friends with them. Very unorganised.
Long hours. Not extra paid. Many times short salary if u did any extra shifts. U had to keep an eye for ur money as it was always not right.. no possibilities for getting promoted, if so there is nothing higher to go to... there is many more things...no training offers to get any higher courses or education. No help offered. Many things said were just forgotten or not dealt with by managment...
Whenever I had a problem with my resident there was always someone to help me or support me from other staff members.
Pros
Everybody got their back if the situation needed it.
Cons
Long hours/wrong payments
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Priory Group
4 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. We're glad to hear that you felt you had support from other staff members when you had problems at work.

We would be very interested to learn more about the concerns you raised. If you would be happy to share more with us, please contact me at hollybaxter@priorygroup.com

Kind regards,
Holly Baxter

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Priory Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 262 reviews
551
434
341
235
1101

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture