Principal Hotel Company Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Housekeeper/Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Manchester7 January 2019
An enriching experience in every way.
My responsibilities include:
- Cleaning guest rooms to the hotel standard
- Replenishing linen and guest supplies
- Providing a great guest experience
- Reporting any maintenance faults and deal with lost property
- Ensuring that all appliances, fixtures, and fittings are safe and work in accordance with regulations and report any faults to the Head Housekeeper.
I have previous experience of working in a housekeeping environment and I looking for a new challenge and want to join a business that offers me exceptional development, and potential to progress, to improve my current environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente laboral
Billing coordinator (Former Employee) –  Berkshire13 November 2018
Excelentes compañeros de trabajo. Tiempo de descanso a media mañana y estaban incluidas las comidas.
Pros
Formación.
Cons
Horario complicado de compatibilizar con la familia.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please do your self a favour and don't ever work for them.
F&B Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 September 2018
Horrible company to work for. Have no work culture, people are treated like slaves in that place, pay is peanuts and on top its always incorrect no benefits and no carrier prospect. staff turnover the place is crazy .that place is running on agency staff all the time because no one even applying for the job. Management Its a big red flag.

I am so glad I don't work there any more.

please don't even dare to ask me that.

HORRIBLE COMPANY AND TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT.
Pros
please don't even dare to ask me that.
Cons
Horrible company and terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely garbage
Underpaid employee (Former Employee) –  Maintenance4 September 2018
Leave well alone from this workplace!! Just look into all the reviews.. high staff turnover, says it all! They to recruit new board of directors and new H.r Team !!
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester10 August 2018
Managers speak to staff like they are poor way, can’t even breath most days with out something going wrong , always short on staff , other staff always picking up extra work .

Never a thank you , if you have a problem don’t bother with HR as can’t tell them nothing they tell the manager that’s it against , then just don’t adress the problem , simple chat think it will solve the problem.

Rooms are terriable never get rid the staff that are shocking just leave them here to keep making more shocking rooms and making people’s life harder !

Bottom line poor place to work with bad wages etc
Pros
Poor lunch wouldn’t feed it a dog
Cons
Make some good work mates
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst job !!!
Room Attendant Self checker (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester10 August 2018
I worked there in the room attendant self checker position. I also treat the day when I went there. Management is not worth anything, it is just a warrant, arrogant. Working conditions are very bad. There are no secured tools. Nobody go to work here !!! Avoid this place !!!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banqueting and conference Assistant
Banqueting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh25 July 2018
They are looking for staff when it's busy with events Christmas ,New Year and after that you have to wait for maybe some parties or marriages to get a few hours but normally there is nothing and you might end up with 0 hours per week!I stayed for 3 months at this job when It was a period with events so I had hours, some times I was working for 12 hours with only one quick 20 minute break to eat if it was anything left as they were not serving enough food for the whole staff.The head chef was rude and was yelling when we were taking the food out, we were in order like soldiers and with a simple mistake or confusion between us the Banqueting manager was rude and was yelling.The rest of the hotel had a snobbish attitude towards us because we were not part of the hotel or the bar but were only for the events.When I decided to leave and gave my notice the Manager asked me to stay and he said it will be plenty of events to work and get hours however I left but some friends that stayed there said there was nothing and they quit after me..I cannot suggest this place for work as my experience there was mostly negative!
Pros
Very good colleagues at banqueting made friends
Cons
Bad attitude from managers, chefs, not enough break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel like a war camp
Laundry Manager (Former Employee) –  london5 June 2018
Do not bother to apply for this job as the role includes you working like a laundry attendant with minimum staff, Human resources department only looking for less experience so that they can pay less in wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are looking for a full time position, Go away
Conference and Banqueting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Waverley Station, City of Edinburgh3 May 2018
They sell you a vacancy with "plenty of hours" and a great career, however they do not have enough events for giving enough hours to their staff members, and by enough I mean many members had 0 hours being there for a "full time position". It has been my far the worst experience I ever had in a hotel... In any other touristic country they would not even have 2 stars.
The head Chef was shouting at the waiting staff quite often, till the point that many quite the job just for him. Managers speak to you as if you were their housekeeper, they just talk but do nothing. The company would definitely work out better with many of them.
Staff is not well trained since many new members just join at the same time, and are givena very poor training.
I had many issues to book my holidays due to the lack of "old" staff members.
Pros
great team members
Cons
ridiculous amount of hours, managers see
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace
Conference and Banqueting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh23 April 2018
Horrible management who don’t care enough to learn the names of their staff members.
No work/life balance.
Expected to work rediculous hours.
Staff members screamed at by management for no apparent reason.
Extremely high turnover due to disgusting working conditions.
Treated like dirt by every other department within the hotel.
All this for a terrible pay of £7.05 p/h.
The only positive thing is the team members you work with.

Look elsewhere!!!
Pros
Great team members (not including management)
Cons
Treated like dirt
Was this review helpful?Yes 33NoReport

Want to know more about Principal Hotel Company?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh22 April 2018
I have worked in this business at all levels and this was by far the worst experience I have had the privilege of undertaking. Staff are treated like meat and are clearly expendable. Minimum wage without progression opportunities and terrible management. Look elsewhere unless you enjoy degradation. Also they advertise as giving meals on shift but more often than not this is not the case.
Pros
I am still thinking, the clients
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work culture
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire11 April 2018
Avoid Avoid Avoid. Terrible, appalling work culture. This is the worst company you could ever work for. Definitely not recommended if you want to work in a happy environment.
Pros
Perks
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 40NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vile management and high staff turnover
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cardiff Bay4 April 2018
We only maintained the high star rating because they knew in advance who the AA inspectors were. Check in and ask for a wake up call, newspaper, book restaurant and have room service. All the staff are prepped to know the signs, then allocate them the best room which has been set aside just in case.
Staff are lucky to get minimum wage as they monitor toilet breaks and smoking breaks within your 30 mins you’re allowed all day. Free staff meals are lukewarm leftovers from guests breakfast. So many staff felt ill as it’s left out for upto 3 hours!
They are constantly looking to achieve profits rather than looking after staff and customer service. If there’s a genuine complaint they use a copy and paste template for every guest to fob them off and argue with them. Most of the staff were on medication from working here!
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Too many to share
Was this review helpful?Yes 60NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hi
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Blytheswood hotel glasgow13 March 2018
i worked their for 3 months the head chef is an arrogant git he also hss control over pay etc the sweet kitchen was always a bombsite after friday saturday nights .youd have couple hours by yourself to get it all sorted impossible with the stuff left out .
Pros
other kitchen poters where good guys
Cons
arrogant chefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despicable place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 March 2018
Is a despicable and horrendous place to work. The management sucks and they treat you like rubbish especially if you are a foreign. They are mean people and they don't respect you. When you come to work in the morning no one in the management give you a good morning they just ignored you.During your day at work you just want to get out asap. You don't feel welcome, you just feel miserable. Please don't work there if you want to keep your insanety. You stay better on benefits them work there.
Not even the food is good, most of the times if you work weekends you stay without any food. My dog eat better them the staff.You have to work as a slave to see some money and to have holidays, because you have to recruit them. Even McDonald's are better then this place.
Get far far away from this place!!!!!!
Pros
Unknown
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute rubbish
House Porter (Former Employee) –  Blythswood Square Glasgow5 February 2018
I was employed here as a house porter after being totally overworked as a kitchen porter in the dirtiest three kitchens i have ever had the displeasure of being in. They offer you a free meal on your shift but i never ate anything there after working in their kitchens. The house porter job was good and decent at first then after a few days training you are expected to do absolutely everything.....house keeping and house porter and linen porter AT THE SAME TIME. Not worth minimum wage and definitely not worth the rubbish you get off the House Keeping manager. You are promised a contract after you pass the work"probation" period which is 3 months, but that never happens and after three and a half months of being taken for an idiot i walked out. Turn over in this place is high for a very good reason.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh27 January 2018
No day is the same, excellent team spirit not just within own department but in between other colleagues as well. Supportive and well organised. Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 58Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Front Office (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire22 January 2018
Not provided with tools required to succeed in role. Disorganised line manager, high turnover of staff, poor training and development. Poor standard of upkeep of rooms. Care more about profit than guest service.
Pros
Other than salary, none
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 38NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern slavery
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Oxford spires Hotel15 January 2018
For minimum wage you'll be expected to do ALL SORTS of job. Making food, cleaning, picking trays, reception jobs & security job. Unless you are British or Romanian, don't apply for night porter job. Whilst I was there, I saw a big discrimination between ethnicities. I got dismissed because of overworking which caused my feet to swell and bleed so needed to take off for 3 days & voila. Hard job not appreciated, they just want people to keep working on probation so they won't pay much and no workers right. I'd rather wash toilets than this.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous place to work
Events Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester11 January 2018
Working here made my career. I loved every minute of it although working long hours. The people here became more of my family than colleagues. There is room for progression if you put the work in. Working in hospitality you come across all kinds of different situations and this place definitely prepared me for other things. The principal values are great, something they actually follow through on rather than other hotel groups that just ignore everything it stands for. I would definitely recommend working here.
Pros
Lunch, discounts on stay. Employee of the month
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 42Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Principal Hotel Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.1
Based on 44 reviews
57
44
32
23
128

Ratings by category

2.0Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.1Culture