Primark Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Found 953 reviews matching the search See all 5,261 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales assistant
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bradford City Centre, West Yorkshire8 December 2018
Preparing a safe and clean working environment, helping customers with general enquires and more specific advice regarding potential purchases.
Good, understanding management.
Pros
Holidays, staff discount
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work there
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merry Hill, West Midlands8 December 2018
nice place to work, always had a laugh with co-workers, customers could be disrespectful and ungrateful at times which made you wonder why you did what you did and when you did go that little extra you weren't thanked
Pros
fun
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales assistant/cashier
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 December 2018
Primark is a hectic place to work especially during Christmas, the workload is too much and the pay is terrible, you got minimum wage and they make you work and stay even after your shift is over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire6 December 2018
During my time at Primark I felt like part of a large family with friendly and helpful colleagues. Management staff were always approachable and willing to help me in any way needed.
Pros
Friendly environment, helpful collegues, good variety of daily tasks
Cons
low monthly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Kilbride, UK5 December 2018
Typical retail department store ..... typical retail job.... colleagues a good bunch to get a long with, Can be long hours and like retail you can work any day of the week on a rota basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire4 December 2018
Busy environment, fast past, alot is expected but the staff you work with make it worth it. A fun job and very interactive, can be tiring at busy times Christmas, Easter etc. otherwise enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol, UK4 December 2018
I only worked at Primark for a few months alongside college, however the organisation and management was probably the best I've had. The tasks were straightforward, everyone was really nice and the workplace was diverse. It was my first customer service job and first time on tills, and I feel I got trained effectively. I wouldn't say the job was taxing in any way, however, it did get very busy on weekends and when I first started it was quite overwhelming, but for first time experience in retail i would recommend working there to anyone as I enjoyed myself and met some lovely people!
Pros
lovely people, great training
Cons
pay could've been a bit higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and enjoyable workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset1 December 2018
As a part time weekend job while I was at college, Primark gave me the opportunity to gain valuable retail experience, learning the trade and developing customer service skills while in a busy and supportive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria1 December 2018
I would not recommend anyone to work here, the management is terrible and they dont really care about their staff. You are over worked and expected to to 100 different jobs at once. You never know whether u are coming or going and god forbid if you get ill!! When another job comes up else where i will definitly be out of here. Most stressful and depressing place to work.one rule for one and different for others, hardly see management as there always in office and supervisors not much better either. Ok for them to stand around chatting, while you are working your butt off.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patronising managers
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire29 November 2018
Patronising managers, low wage, no employee discount except a few weeks before christmas, obviously a really busy shop with little help. But it was a good place to start for a first job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand New Store
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate27 November 2018
I started working here when the store first opened, It was a very busy shop and keeping the floor well stocked was an important part of the role along with making sure the customers had a good experience in the shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex20 November 2018
It is a good place to work, decent wage. satisfactory first job. i would highly recommend working in this particular role if you are of a young age and need a temporary job as it is a easy and fast paced job. i liked working there due to the colleagues there but disliked it due to the heat and some challenging customers.
Pros
good pay
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In this work, I learned and acquired many skills, such as using tills, folding clothes in a different way and also learning how to order produucts. F
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guildford16 November 2018
In this work, I learned and acquired many skills, such as using tills, folding clothes in a different way and also learning how to order produucts.
For a year working a this store, I met wonderful people who were very kind to me, they always helpd me and supported me when I had some difficulty.
I had many challenges working in a store, one of them was learning how to handle customers in the best possible way, which is not easy, as some clients are demanding and have others who are not on their best days and end up discounting the employees.
Pros
Everyone helps and works in a team
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive learning experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford12 November 2018
Met lots of new and interesting people, all friendly too, including the supervisors and managers. Always a wide range of things to do which provided a positive experience.
Pros
Casual work experience
Cons
No breaks on shorter shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant Making (Former Employee) –  Wood Green7 November 2018
I learned different ways of communication and how to approach people in the workplace also I had to make sure everything looked in place and it was a very good experience
Pros
free
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 November 2018
Laidback as long as your work was done and your station was up to date and tidy. Your customer service skills can be put to the test at times but you feel a sense of achievement after helping someone.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Alot of lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Borinf
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 November 2018
The supervisors are rude. The managers do not like to tell you what you are doing well and what you should be doing better. The only good thing is that we have fixed shifts
Pros
Fixed contract hours
Cons
Rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hammersmith31 October 2018
The typical day of work was fun and exciting, I learned communications and people management.The workplace culture is interesting and facilitating. Hardest part of the job is that sometimes it becomes repetitive. Most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sale Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London29 October 2018
fun to work would recommend applying, nice atmosphere and the people are very friendly. sometimes when the store is quite there is not much to do, but all in all its a great place.
Pros
good people to work around
Cons
customers can do some inappropriate things (leaving nappies under clothing racks)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Ham27 October 2018
stocking up clothes daily I worked there for a week and everyone was so friend I worked there for a college work experience, and I had really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Primark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,262 reviews
51.4K
41.7K
31.3K
2463
1410

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture