Primark Employee Reviews in London

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to get experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London13 June 2018
There was flexibility in the working environment at Primark. I learned how to be confident and deal with customer complaints or any issues. Learned how to provide excellent customer service. It was a fun and productive place to work in. Most enjoyable part was meeting and working with people of my age group. Hardest part of the job was that somedays it could get extremely busy during summer and there was a lot of pressure. Management was nice and praised our efforts.
Pros
Can work overtime, good pay and they hired even without previous experience
Cons
no discounts until seasonal promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London12 June 2018
Its a fun friendly place to work in and you do end up making lots of friends. Its an easy job but standing on your feet can make it difficult. it does get boring doing the same thing over and over again but you have plenty of customers with different questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Assistant - Shop floor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London11 June 2018
Good place to work in general with convenient work hours and work allocation. The best aspect of this job is the environment surrounding you with vibrant colleagues who provide you with an uplifting energy during your day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 June 2018
As a cashier my duties enclued serving coustomers, dealing with enquiries to maxamizes sales potential.Dealing with returns, handling cash taking payments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Primark Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London4 June 2018
Primark store Hounslow good place to start a career and learn new skills. the best thing about Primark is they give fixed day contracts and makes it possible to make plans doing other things in life. Overtime is always available for staff if you wish to do more hours. only bad thing is the uniform looks very poor and unprofessional. pay rate is poor for the amount of workload they expect from staff, some managers and customers can be very rude at times.
Pros
Staff, Management, fixed contact days
Cons
poor pay rate, unprofessional uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment, poor management
Retail Operative & Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London1 June 2018
The only reason I worked for this company was to make any extra money whilst studying at university. Management was poor and staff were not valued at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  London26 May 2018
Really, really busy place to work at which makes it feel like time is going faster. There is lots of overtime available so you are able to make extra money. However, younger workers get paid less which is unfair since mostly everybody does the same thing and there is no staff discount
Pros
Overtime available
Cons
Younger workers get paid less
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and no work life balance
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London24 May 2018
Job is well paid but culture is so stressful and you feel pressure all the time, high demands and less resources , feel immense pressure to deliver regardless of reality
Pros
stress
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly place.
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  London21 May 2018
Nice atmosphere, people and menagament are very friendly which is a big plus. Minus, money could be better. Doing 8 hours shift we have 1.30 min break which is too long for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London16 May 2018
My responsibilities were working on the shop floor, ranging from recovery on shop floor to returns. Dealing with customers and ensuring their requirements and needs are met to its highest quality also working at till banks. Bringing stock down onto the shop floor and pricing sale items. I also did admin work for example sorted out damaged goods and checking the system for the item price and calculating the loss and whether it can be sold and noting the information of each items.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was poor
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 May 2018
It was really hard to get an over time even when I had written my name first on the list and whenever I did manage to get some overtime they would replace me with someone else that they liked.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
annoying managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engaging and very fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London10 May 2018
It is a very fun experience and you learn a lot of things and gain experience,and you can gain lots of skills such as time keeping,patience and many others.The hardest part is when the store is packed and you have to deal with lots of customers.
Pros
fun
Cons
less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  London7 May 2018
Provide excellent customer service,meet and greet,engage with customers directly to help them have an outstanding shopping experience,process purchases,refunds,exchanges,answering phone,making announcements,provide customers with alternatives on the shop floor,replenishment of stock,recoveries,tidy floor etc.Learned to manage the tills,recoveries etc.
Pros
Opportunity to meet people from different backgrounds
Cons
less salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hard working workplace
Retail sales assistant (Current Employee) –  London6 May 2018
Primark's a hit retail store which means it is constantly busy. Some days this can be challenging. There are no benefits with working for Primark and sometimes they can overwork you. However, a job is a job and it is an incredible place to work especially for a first job as there are colleagues a similar age, especially on weekends, going through similar circumstances (education etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fastpace work place
Sales Operative (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 May 2018
I worked as a retail assistant and the job entailed me to make sure customers where informed of the products and to place products on the shop floor along with recovery on the shop floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright environment
Retail Operative (Former Employee) –  London13 April 2018
Great people to work with but was very stressful at the best of times in terma of management always being in your back when you are trying to complete your tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start at retail, not for staying longer
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London30 March 2018
Really poor management, shouting at people, not organised at all, different managers give different orders what to do the same time, minimum wage, only good thing - can work part time and choose which shift, avaialble overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London29 March 2018
the pay is terrible £4.25 an hour and the atmosphere is boring especially if you're under 18. this job is suitable for pensioners and older adults. i wouldnt recommend working here.
Pros
nothing
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers were nice, gets really busy and stressful
Primark Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 March 2018
Managers were nice, showed the ropes in a comprehensive manner. Many customers flowing in daily so be prepared to stay on your feet. The pay was decent.
Pros
Helped sharpen customer skills
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be okay but messed me around a lot
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London14 March 2018
The job itself itsn’t terrible, but you’re definitely underpaid, as well as I haven’t been paid for the past two months and as I keep trying to sort it out they keep telling me they’ve forgotten which is ridiculous honestly. They also forget to give me breaks.
Pros
Lenient with uniform (piercings etc)
Cons
Don’t really value their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Primark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 4,656 reviews
51.3K
41.5K
31.2K
2407
1337

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture