Premier Inn Employee Reviews in Edinburgh

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 1,202 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would give no star if I could!
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh1 August 2018
I stayed for a year at the premier inn becoming a HK supervisor first and then after a year moving to the ground floor.Housekeeping didn't have enough hours and they were forcing us to finish rooms until noon or 1 pm although we started cleaning at 9 am.Impossible!They wanted us to force housekeepers to clean faster they didnt care about high standards the only thing they wanted was to save money for the company!Ground floor experience was poor.I decided to move there for enhancing my cv but I barely had 2 shifts at the desk, the rest was breakfast and split dinner shifts.Trying to evolve didnt have any result as they have their people and their favorites from the head offices so the managers knew who was to become duty manager or assistant operations manager so I didn't stood a chance!We didn't have breaks only a 20 minute on early shift that they were deducting from payment as they were giving us breakfast..Some times the buffet was empty because breakfast was busy and people were eating everything so nothing was left for stuff kitchen didnt want to cook for us extra.Avoid there are better hotels like Apex or even smaller chains..
Pros
Nothing at all
Cons
Bad hours, no breaks, false promises for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for young people
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh30 June 2018
I worked here while I was 17/19 and I had many challenges through poor management to poor shift patterns and the wage isn't ideal either. I wouldn't recommend for those who want a happy work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
I assisted the Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh20 September 2017
I participated on the JET Plus programme through a school placement in one of the flagship new hotels in Princes Street, Edinburgh. I assisted the Maintenance Manager in his routines around preventive maintenance and in the general care and upkeep tasks which ensure smooth operations in a successful hotel. I gained experience in essential jobs including:

• Equipment break downs and accidents in the rooms and public areas of the hotel.
• Inspections of equipment throughout the rooms, kitchens and bar areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fulfilling
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh City, City of Edinburgh26 June 2017
I found the the job interesting and hardworking and was met by helpful staff who were very involved with their jobs. I found the job hard but rewarding as a fully finished room ready for the next customer was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team and Management
Night Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Royal Mile25 April 2017
I have worked at hub by Premier Inn as a Night Receptionist for 8 months and left becaue I found I job related to my interests. I loved working there because it's a nice new hotel. You meet people from everywhere. It's high tech makes it really easy and once you learn the job it's easy and ongoing.

You can talk with the managers if there is any problem and they actually try to help you . Had a lot of fun whilst working and hours were always the same (23 to 7) so could plan the day in advance.

If you need a day or holidays they do their best to give them to you.

If you work hard you have options to improve and promote. It´s a busy hotel but no two days are the same.

I would definetly go back .
Pros
The Team, Easy Job, Good atmosphere
Cons
No meals on duty and not good food anyways, Hard to get cover for night shift specially to go to team parties, Our job wasn't very considered as we didn't have as much guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Happy
Night Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh City, Midlothian25 January 2017
Busy night with checking in guest from whole the World, great customers during Weekend. I learned to listen the guests and service them with the high standard .It made me happy when they left my desk with smile ;)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
premier inn
Receptionist/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 January 2017
already done a review so im writing this to get past this required section so i can apply for my dream job. Premier in is not a career but a stepping stone to something better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very entertain
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh6 December 2016
Sport club, so if you like the sports it is a great place to work. Different sports , so you can choose which you like more. Nice management and helping always
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Waitress and Reception (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh3 November 2016
i never enjoyed working at the premier inn, i was forced to do things like cut up boxes that hold flavoured tea bags and work by myself on my very first day, although they give a free breakfast to staff after the breakfast times are finished i would not return
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on management
Ground Floor Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh4 August 2016
Depending on whether you have a good management team will make all the difference. My OM is wonderful and encourages you to do your best but the AOM does not, the procedures are good to learn to keep things tidy and give good service but as much as they say its easy to progress, the real limiter is the availability of those higher jobs.
Pros
Free food and good people
Cons
long hours, likely to work hard hours i.e. finish 11pm back at 7am
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
premier inn
Receptionist/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh20 April 2016
shift work, early shift start at 7.00 to 15.00, late shift 15.00 to 23.00 ad night shift 23.00.
A large team working along with house keeping also we have a restaurant helping covering breakfast and dinners
Pros
discounted room
Cons
hard enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised job application
Job application (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Park20 April 2016
Although I applied through their staff on facebook , it should be their duty to reply ASAP and the fact that they lied and said apparently my C.V attachment couldn't be viewed , THEN lied and said they replied asking me to re send it , I got nothing? Few other people were waiting for their call after apparently them trying to phone but nobody answered , we have waited for replies. How do you expect to get good staff if your staff are NOT organized . Don't know if I'm good enough for this company anyway so never going to apply in the future
Pros
Unorganised staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff nice and fun to work with.
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh28 March 2016
Learned how to deal with difficult situations and helping people,
spent a year in housekeeping learning how to clean rooms and,
make beds.
As a night porter I had to learn COSSH and Fire awareness plus
trip and slip hazards, doing security walks of all the hotel,
and cleaning and mopping the ladies and gents toilets and front
of house, cleaning vacuuming and mopping the bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and a fun workplace
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh24 March 2016
the day starts always the same way cheeking the trolleys, coffee and start cleaning rooms the co-workers are nice very different people like me the management they are young people but they get there and they are nice too i dont know the hardest part of the job but the good is listening the guests saying nice things about the rooms
Pros
dont know
Cons
dont know
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
night team member (Current Employee) –  edinburgh23 September 2015
I think premier inn is a good company to work for and i would highly recommend it other people who are looking for jobs or thinking about applying for the company
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 22Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job and nice people
Room Attendant, Help hand supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT19 February 2015
The work was good but I was looking for something with a lot of hours of work and promotion.I'm not afraid of hard work but I would like to be promoted for good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  EDINBURGH3 February 2015
I like to clean and this gave me a good chance to meet all kinds of people and help other when they needed it always have a smile on you'r face and be kind to other,
co-workers all worked together to help out managers always said thank you for you'r hard work and every month you had a chance to be employee of the month and i was lucky to get employee of the month and mad me very happy my photo was on the wall,
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  edinburgh17 November 2014
loved working here loved meeting new people, no room to progress within the company and the wages weren't the greatest but overall a great wee compant
Pros
friendly great company
Cons
Min wage long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work Environment, but hard work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT18 March 2014
I worked as a Chamber Person, and whilst it was a very nice working environment, it was time related job, which was Hard physical work, and led to some regular back ache.
Pros
nice working enviorment
Cons
poor pay level, and hard physical work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT1 December 2013
I started work there when i was in 5th year seniors and as a summer job it was very good. The money was excellent as well as the time i was working.
However the management team were not good with my wages as i never got paid for 2month while there and i had to go get it sorted.
I also didnt get trained up properly when i started which meant i had to as what my role was continuously which was difficult.
Pros
good money, discount
Cons
poor management and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Premier Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,202 reviews
5363
4365
3260
287
1127

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture