Premier Inn Employee Reviews in Edinburgh

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
I assisted the Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh20 September 2017
I participated on the JET Plus programme through a school placement in one of the flagship new hotels in Princes Street, Edinburgh. I assisted the Maintenance Manager in his routines around preventive maintenance and in the general care and upkeep tasks which ensure smooth operations in a successful hotel. I gained experience in essential jobs including:

• Equipment break downs and accidents in the rooms and public areas of the hotel.
• Inspections of equipment throughout the rooms, kitchens and bar areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fulfilling
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh City, City of Edinburgh26 June 2017
I found the the job interesting and hardworking and was met by helpful staff who were very involved with their jobs. I found the job hard but rewarding as a fully finished room ready for the next customer was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
premier inn
Receptionist/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 January 2017
already done a review so im writing this to get past this required section so i can apply for my dream job. Premier in is not a career but a stepping stone to something better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very entertain
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh6 December 2016
Sport club, so if you like the sports it is a great place to work. Different sports , so you can choose which you like more. Nice management and helping always
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Waitress and Reception (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh3 November 2016
i never enjoyed working at the premier inn, i was forced to do things like cut up boxes that hold flavoured tea bags and work by myself on my very first day, although they give a free breakfast to staff after the breakfast times are finished i would not return
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on management
Ground Floor Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh4 August 2016
Depending on whether you have a good management team will make all the difference. My OM is wonderful and encourages you to do your best but the AOM does not, the procedures are good to learn to keep things tidy and give good service but as much as they say its easy to progress, the real limiter is the availability of those higher jobs.
Pros
Free food and good people
Cons
long hours, likely to work hard hours i.e. finish 11pm back at 7am
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
premier inn
Receptionist/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh20 April 2016
shift work, early shift start at 7.00 to 15.00, late shift 15.00 to 23.00 ad night shift 23.00.
A large team working along with house keeping also we have a restaurant helping covering breakfast and dinners
Pros
discounted room
Cons
hard enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised job application
Job application (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Park20 April 2016
Although I applied through their staff on facebook , it should be their duty to reply ASAP and the fact that they lied and said apparently my C.V attachment couldn't be viewed , THEN lied and said they replied asking me to re send it , I got nothing? Few other people were waiting for their call after apparently them trying to phone but nobody answered , we have waited for replies. How do you expect to get good staff if your staff are NOT organized . Don't know if I'm good enough for this company anyway so never going to apply in the future
Pros
Unorganised staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff nice and fun to work with.
Night Porter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh28 March 2016
Learned how to deal with difficult situations and helping people,
spent a year in housekeeping learning how to clean rooms and,
make beds.
As a night porter I had to learn COSSH and Fire awareness plus
trip and slip hazards, doing security walks of all the hotel,
and cleaning and mopping the ladies and gents toilets and front
of house, cleaning vacuuming and mopping the bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and a fun workplace
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh24 March 2016
the day starts always the same way cheeking the trolleys, coffee and start cleaning rooms the co-workers are nice very different people like me the management they are young people but they get there and they are nice too i dont know the hardest part of the job but the good is listening the guests saying nice things about the rooms
Pros
dont know
Cons
dont know
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
night team member (Current Employee) –  edinburgh23 September 2015
I think premier inn is a good company to work for and i would highly recommend it other people who are looking for jobs or thinking about applying for the company
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job and nice people
Room Attendant, Help hand supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT19 February 2015
The work was good but I was looking for something with a lot of hours of work and promotion.I'm not afraid of hard work but I would like to be promoted for good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  EDINBURGH3 February 2015
I like to clean and this gave me a good chance to meet all kinds of people and help other when they needed it always have a smile on you'r face and be kind to other,
co-workers all worked together to help out managers always said thank you for you'r hard work and every month you had a chance to be employee of the month and i was lucky to get employee of the month and mad me very happy my photo was on the wall,
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT1 December 2013
I started work there when i was in 5th year seniors and as a summer job it was very good. The money was excellent as well as the time i was working.
However the management team were not good with my wages as i never got paid for 2month while there and i had to go get it sorted.
I also didnt get trained up properly when i started which meant i had to as what my role was continuously which was difficult.
Pros
good money, discount
Cons
poor management and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Receptionist/House Keeping Assistant (Premier Inn) (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh30 September 2013
Whilst working shifts in House Keeping, I am responsible for staff preparing rooms to Whitbread's high standard regulations, to ensure guests have the highest possible standard of cleanliness within their room. As well as perfecting the regulations provided by Whitbread (brand standards), I have highlighted areas of improvement and created solutions to improve service for all our customers. In addition to my duties, I also work on Reception within the hotel. I perform all administrative tasks including working with customers, arranging bookings, taking payments and arranging catering for guests. This role requires proficient computer and typing skills which I posses. Most importantly, my main role is to create a positive, friendly atmosphere within the hotel. I maintain a high standard of customer service and ensure we, as a company, have met the needs of all our guests.
Cons
Long Hours, Unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Night Shift Team Leader / Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT10 July 2013
I really enjoy working at the hotel. I get to meet new people and all the staff are very friendly and hard working and they get the job done.
Pros
Development opportunities
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Premier Inn reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Premier Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 878 reviews
5263
4264
3190
259
1102

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture