Poundstretcher Employee Reviews

Found 365 reviews matching the search See all 376 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and energetic
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheerness14 August 2018
Poundstretcher opened in our town in November 2017. The high street in sheerness doesn't have a lot to offer. So this was a excellent opportunity for public and myself. Poundstretcher delivers all different kinds of products, so the shop was always busy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Till Assistant (Former Employee) –  Taunton17 July 2018
The workplace wasn’t well managed in my opinion, and was very long hours. I moved because I didn’t enjoy the way I was treated there nor the pay as was only £5.30
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield6 July 2018
Good experience and progression.
Good time
Gained knowledges
New Skills
Quick time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Newport24 June 2018
long hour hard work
management skill training
good area manger support
hard work very busy culture
working 18 pallets with no staff
re doing the hole shop
Pros
10% discount
Cons
big delivery
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience
Assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire17 June 2018
Management seemed friendly, but upon starting work I was given pointless tasks, and left to do nothing after completing them. Was given no till experience whatsoever so I was literally just cleaning down the shelves, and unoccasionally helping to restock.
Pros
Some Experience
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and productive workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hastings16 June 2018
Responsibilities were clearly communicated at the beginning of each shift and the manager was easy to speak to. I really felt my time there was well-spent and I learnt a lot in regards to retail. Overall a very professional and comfortable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t recommend to work for.
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kettering, Northamptonshire15 June 2018
I didn’t feel safe within the store because there was no secruity what so ever I also didn’t get the hours I needed and I felt vulnerable within the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute joke don't ever join this company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Yorkshire14 June 2018
Store training is a complete joke endless deliveries of out of date rubbish stockrooms full of stock no one wants non stop stacking shelves packing overstocks into any space you can find tills from 'Awkright' era worse company I have ever known or worked for avoid them like the plague they will be the next company going bust.
Pros
None
Cons
As above awful place to work slavery re introduced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  West hull10 June 2018
Working at pound stretcher was fun, and very productive, you enjoy seeing new/regular faces. Everyone who works there were easy to get along with. Hours suited my needs also.
Pros
Plenty of breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never paid properly. Rita was always done at last minute and chznged all the time so hard to book appointments etc. Poor management. Shocki
General assistant (Former Employee) –  Chatteris Cambridgeshire8 June 2018
Wages never accurate and took months to sort out
Bad health and safety. No PPE in warehouse
No pay for essential online training at home
Minimum uniform
Poor management skills
Rota done at last minute and changed with no notice
Minimum staff causing security issues eg alone on tills and shoplifters
Chaos in warehouse with surplus stock going out of date cos no control over deliveries
Senior managers on power trips
Pros
Initial team of genuine hard working staff
Cons
Wages, stress, poor management, poor health and safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management/ Organisation
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham31 May 2018
Shift hours always varied
Managers would keep you after your shift finished to tidy up and this was not paid for, for example if the shift finished at 18:00 and you cleaned/tidy the store, you were only paid up until 18:00
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not paid for after shift tidying up
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed, unfairly treated
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Brislington8 May 2018
My experience in this working environment was that it was very poorly managed and I had a very bad, soul degrading experience. The staff were treated like dogs and the manager didn’t know how to run a business properly. During my time here the company had lost 5 employees due to them quoting after having enough of being treated unfairly by the manager.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Short breaks, very long shifts, poorly managed, unfairly treated
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend to anyone
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands1 May 2018
This has to be the worst company I have ever worked for. There is no communication between members of staff, the job role itself is very stressful due to the amounts of work load they expect you to do. As a former member of management I have seen the under go of this store and the manager is nothing but a bully towards staff members. Forcing them to leave their job due to the way they are treated. Do not work for this company as it will drain you in ways you could never understand
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Long hours, no sense of communication, divided teams, management team is disgusting
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good place to work for your first job.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barry, Vale of Glamorgan28 April 2018
It’s a good place to work when you first begin working. However there isn’t often presentable opportunities to advance within this career, and although you are generally contracted a certain amount of hours, any further days or hours you work can change from week to week.
Pros
Friendly staff, easy tasks
Cons
Unreliable work days, minimal benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace and builds confidence.
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow22 April 2018
Working with poundstretchers was a good experience as i learned alot of new things not only just about the company but also how to work with new people and build my confidence. Even on the quiet, boring days the staff always made the day fun.
Pros
Very understanding staff and managers.
Cons
Quite a quiet shop and alot of tidying to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active company with little or no sense of direction
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mansfield22 April 2018
Information given in interview stages.any and all questions regarding the Poundstretcher company and/or The information wanted can be discussed further in the interview stages.
Pros
Good experience in a hands on environment
Cons
Working hours/personal life ratio is very poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester17 April 2018
when I worked at poundstrecher I was doing the same thing each putting stock out and helping customers which was ok but boring and I never got a chance to go on tills as the manger was always to busy doing other things and apparently couldn't find the time to train me on the tills when really had bags of time he just couldn't be bothered.
Pros
good hours
Cons
boring, the same each shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Ravensthorpe15 April 2018
I started working here in February of 2017 and enjoyed it at first, but then started to get tired of the long 12 hour shifts that were forced upon me without asking. Didn't agree and like the Boss at all.
Cons
Long hours, Forced to stay over-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Area 8 - Swear and disrespectful.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  North West14 April 2018
Management so poor that staff get away with theft and time wasting and nobody notices.
Little rewards. Hard work & minimum pay. Managers swear at you.
Pros
Four hours pay a week?
Cons
No sick pay. 4 hour holiday pay. No respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire11 April 2018
You are nothing more than a person, they appear to work on the bases that idle threats, intimidation some could say bullying, to try and get what they want. In reality it’s sad. If they devoted half that effort into developing and coaching there people it would be a whole different company to work for.
Pros
Not a lot.
Cons
A lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Poundstretcher. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 376 reviews
571
485
3105
250
165

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.9Culture