Poundland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and productive
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leicester15 April 2018
ive been working her for a little over a year and its been enjoyable to work here, the atmosphere is enjoyable and the work never dies and is always challenging no matter what
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace with long hours and repetitive tasks
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cirencester13 April 2018
A typical day here was repetitive as i was mainly on the tills. I learned how to operate the tills and how to stock the shelf's and how to clean the shop floor. The management was okay as they did come when called and sorted out cleaning tasks and the tasks for the day. The hardest part of the job was the fact that i was constantly on my feet and also dealing with difficult costumers.
Pros
i got more social skills
Cons
long hours, didn't get a social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bognor Regis12 April 2018
Typical Day at work - Always on your feet
Learnt - Customer service skills, Till skills (SCO and regular)
Management - Improving due to new manager starting from January
Workplace Culture - Fun to be in, but not fun when it gets really busy
Hardest part - Trying to diffuse a busy scenario when we have low till staff available
Enjoyable - Working with my colleagues to serve customers
Pros
Fair breaks
Cons
Always busy so hardly get time to do other jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petty management, too much bullying
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich City Centre, Norfolk8 April 2018
Horrible place to work! Management are unorganized and unprofessional. Break the law on a daily basis signing off fire drills that haven't been done, constantly blocking fire exists. Spend more time flirting and talking than working. Management leave store unattended too much. Don't care about their staff at all. Staff always unhappy.
Pros
Non
Cons
Bullying, no life, health and safery breaches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newport, Newport6 April 2018
Hard work , team work , friendly , honest , understanding , helping , listening , learning , working , believing , focused, organisation, fantasy, good communication skills
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paisley, Renfrewshire3 April 2018
Worked here as Christmas temp, was advised i would be getting a more permanent position as i was very hard working and always on time however this was not the case and as more people I was left feeling horrible as i worked incredibly hard to be told no. I felt worthless as within a month of leaving they had hired new people.
Pros
Staff room is peaceful
Cons
Bot enough support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š
Sales Assistant (8 week work experience ) (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes3 April 2018
I've enjoyed my time spent with the team. Loved every bit of it. I have learnt so much working for poundland,
There a great company to work with. Friendly xc
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not my favourite job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire29 March 2018
Itโ€™s diffrent job I liked it at the Bigginig then many things has been changed the staff doesnโ€™t talk to each other it was like a family business not really my type
Pros
Flexible hours as I was working part time
Cons
The management was like a family busses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dudley28 March 2018
It was a good place to work all the staff was easy to get on with and help you when needed help day to day you would get your own section of the store ie D.I.Y or pets and you would have to fill that section and keep it tidy for you shift and when needed on tills jump on and help out
Pros
Got experience
Cons
False promise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 March 2018
I was a nice a place to work and the team is ok to work with and the hour are good to so i would love to work they again if i had chance and if there a jobs there
Pros
Fun place
Cons
Nothin
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are better off some-where else
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading25 March 2018
utterly awful - do not accept position - just to fill 150 characters... it's almost the worst company you can work for in the united kingdom of great britain.. .. almost..
Pros
none
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire22 March 2018
Needed more hours so they could not to give me any more hours I want 16 hrs not 10 hrs really nice to work there great staff and people to work with with
Pros
None
Cons
To sort hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish company work for
Cashier/Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London15 March 2018
This is a rubbish company, rude and disrespectful
supervisors, staff down to earth and o. k.
Your left on till for your shift very boring and demoralising. Don't work for this company ever!
Also wages paid wrong low hours of work.
Message to managers your not God and I control what I do!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good way to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Llandudno, Conwy14 March 2018
it was good doing two weeks with poundland i just wish i could have done a bit more work i didn't really know what i was doing but over all it was good the staff was good thank you
Pros
good hours
Cons
didn't know what to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London9 March 2018
The employees you work with are friendly the management is not great need to be helpful and should support employees throughout their journey with the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester2 March 2018
Dreadful place to work get treated like runbish. You get managers what are homphobic to female staff. Inappropriate comments. The HR department do nothing all in each other's pockets a few people have left as they felt pressured too management go round telling the entire warehouse that there going to sack you before you know yourself. It's discrimination what is happening. You try put a complaint in gets brushed under the carpet.. awful place expect new people to be able to pick what they want straight away . Had a large turn over in staff
Pros
People who on the shift
Cons
Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright..
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton26 February 2018
I liked working there, the only down fault I can have is some of the people who I worked with was not the nicest of people, And made me feel very uncomfortable
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Extra hours given
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grantham26 February 2018
A brilliant company to work for. The company enthusiastically pushes its employees to be the best at their respective jobs. On any given day there are a multitude of tasks that require completion and a sense of pride in your work is what the company strives for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun work
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  High Street London21 February 2018
I work only part time. 3-4 days per week.
Counter (till) asist delevery feeling things

I work 3 months supervisor : opening closing banking.

Communication. ...
Conflict Resolution. ...
Leadership. ...
Critical Thinking. ...
Interpersonal Skills. ...
Time and Priority Management. ...
Diversity and Generational Differences in the Workplace. ...
Problem Solving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johnstone, Renfrewshire20 February 2018
first day there was hard , the most enjoyable part was the refilling the juices and crisps as they were the only ones went down poor quickly , time you reach the warehouse , most of the crisps and juice were gone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report