Post Office Ltd Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better after restructuring.
CVIT Driver (Current Employee) –  Boldon Colliery22 August 2017
November 2016 the Boldon Colliery depot went through it 'modernisation'. This included us coming out of the external market and a huge drop in staffing levels. While this was a time of uncertainty that process is now completed. Having worked in the Post Office and at the same depot for 15+ years, I can honestly say the depot is in the best shape it has been in a long while. The mood in the depot has changed, attitudes have changed. With the loss of large numbers of staff it seems that negative attitudes have gone with. I've seen the 1 star review for our depot and id be surprised if it is from someone currently working in the depot.

While there is uncertainty about what's round the corner for the post office, we are 10 month into the change and confidence is creeping it that the future isn't as bleak as we expected.
Pros
Wages
Cons
understaffed at present
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's interesting and enjoyable
Counter Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bedworth, Warwickshire11 August 2017
I would say it's a good job. You learn many life skills and now I know how to do a range of things. I can send off a parcel. I can give out pensions, give out cash, pay pills such as gas or rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and boring
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 August 2017
Working at the post office was very long and hard work because the amount of papers delivered gets changed and the houses change too soo it gets a bit confusing sometimes
Pros
Get to ride a bike
Cons
Early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful workplace
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oldham, Greater Manchester9 August 2017
Everyone's very friendly and the job isn't mentally challenging, the best part about it is communicating with all the different people you see a day and helping them with their accounts etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Postal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stroud, Gloucestershire8 August 2017
I loved working here, it was nice providing a service to the public and the company trained me well and were interested in my development. Learn lots about currency and things like that
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace to increase social skills
Clerk, cleaning (Former Employee) –  Saltley6 August 2017
Amazing to meet such diverse customers, this is essential as it improve social skills thus securing a better future in job oppurtuinities. Furthermore I would like to emphasise the fact that working in a post office can be difficult at many times so for me over coming a lot of these difficulties would show that I'm ready for anything coming my way.
Pros
Getting to meet such diverse customers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out moded, public sector culture,
Head of Security Operations (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 August 2017
Probably the worst place I have worked with low morale and a senior management culture which allowed bullies to operate. Having said that I expanded my knowledge base considerabley
Pros
Pension
Cons
Too much emphasis on process and not output
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
glorified checkout operator
Postal Officer/Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Scotland31 July 2017
one doesn't need much brains to do the job as its all done by computer. made for a long ,slow day at work. carried many staff members who were slow, non productive and management were not interested as it was a "bum on seat"
Pros
none
Cons
too slow to effect changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Paper Boy (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead28 July 2017
Very excited to work there as it paid reasonably well and the employers are so nice and respectful, would recommend anyone to work there as it is a good work/life balance
Pros
short work hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in.
Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Littleborough, Greater Manchester27 July 2017
Lots of lovely customers
Loads of knowledge learned
Staff promotions
Free staff broadband etc deals
Flexible working hours
Alternative weekend shifts
Pros
Free trials
Cons
Annoying customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely healthy work in the best time of the day
Postal Worker (Former Employee) –  Teignmouth25 July 2017
really loved this and enjoy the physical side of the job, also get to meet people and interact with customers, some heavy work and depending where you deliver some hilly areas, Nothing like it on a beautiful morning with the sun and sea and fresh air
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and poorly paid
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ivybridge24 July 2017
Setting up the till, serving and advising customers.
Cash handling
Operating a very complex system that was not intuitive
Dealing with fraudsters single handed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire22 July 2017
Carry on with flexible working practices. Carry on good working environment. Have a think about the beaurocracy as things could definitely be slicker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarded for being unproductive
CVIT Driver (Current Employee) –  Boldon Colliery19 July 2017
Company makes up and changes the rules as it goes along. No job security as obviously The post office is being round down. company could not organise a proverbial in a proverbial.
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours, no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With experience you could progress to a position in a larger branch, or become an assistant branch manager or branch manager.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire15 July 2017
selling financial products and services to meet targets
selling stamps and dealing with letters and parcels
paying out pensions and benefits
accepting bill payments
dealing with vehicle registrations and car tax
checking passport and driving licence applications
selling travel insurance and foreign currency
making sure the books balance at the end of the day
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days are ever the same
Mortgage Specialist (Current Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire12 July 2017
An enjoyable if sometime frustrating place to work - always a wide range of customers from all walks of life certainly gives variety! Sometimes frustrations occur due to organisation trying to focus on too many areas at once
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution
Post Office Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bewdley11 July 2017
As a rural Post Office worker I chose to open from 8am-5pm but was only paid 19 hours per week.
Learned to be independent - only source of contact/help was the helpline after the trainers have left.
Hardest part of the job was balancing each evening, week or month.
Most enjoyable part was serving the customers
Pros
Small income just about covered my rent
Cons
Quite lonely as a one counter service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Paper Girl (Current Employee) –  191 Bramcote lane, Wollaton, Nottingham11 July 2017
They are a very unorganized company and aren't able to work together as a team. Their management is appalling as they are quite rude to their employees. However they have fairly good communication skills with customers.
Pros
May earn more money if you do extra rounds
Cons
Unorganized and rude staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring
paper round (Former Employee) –  Reading7 July 2017
Very long hours made to fit between 7am and school time otherwise not paid, got paid £25 a week if i completed all saturday and sundays otherwise it was like £2/3 a day, carrying bag on back with over 100 papers including magazines and around 3 papers per house i had to leave the at the shop and comeback. I lost around 3/4 hours every saturday and sunday for around £3, not worth it!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, constantly changing
Personal Assistant to Chief Executive, Retail (Current Employee) –  London5 July 2017
Good company to work for with a family friendly awareness. Working to very tight budgets, so not much room for fun things! Constant change within teams. Maybe too many managers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Post Office Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 255 reviews
583
490
357
217
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture