Post Office Ltd Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 266 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going workplace.
Paper Girl (Former Employee) –  Alsager, Cheshire4 July 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff that will respond to your needs. Lovely place to work, very productive and enjoyable. The wages are fair and the work is reliable.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shirebrook, Derbyshire29 May 2018
Working at the post office is a good job. I enjoyed it because the staff were friendly and was offered a competitive salary, an easy job to learn and provide you with essential skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire9 May 2018
This was my first job after leaving college. It was a great company to work for, as there are so many varied roles available. They were good for flexible working and overall salary package and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organised and reliable
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff18 April 2018
very busy environment, completing all manner of post office counter work. Processing various benefits car tax, utility bills, personal & company banking, mailing and lots of administrative work. I learned customer relations, money handling & accounting and bookwork.
Management were very organised and efficient and run the post office very well. workplace culture was friendly and efficient. The hardest part of the job was detaining people's benefit books as directed by government. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping people.
Pros
Well respected job in local community.
Cons
relentlessly busy from open untill close, often had to skip lunch and breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job.
Post Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Northampton7 March 2018
Selling stamps and dealing with letters and parcels
Paying out pensions and benefits
Accepting bill payments
Dealing with vehicle registrations and car tax
Checking passport and driving licence applications
Selling travel insurance and foreign currency
Making sure the books balance at the end of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, under pressure, reliable and consistent
Customer Service Consultant / Travel sales (Former Employee) –  Blackfriars, southwark station4 February 2018
I have worked for this company for 28 years and have seen many changes for the company to now become profitable.
It has good benefits if you work hard and can work under pressure.
It has enabled me to be flexible from full time to part time , so that I could bring up my children.
It was flexible with hours to stay on and help the team, likewise when I needed to take time off .
I managed staff and was a solid member of the team who I helped daily with my skill set, especially the newer members,
I covered my managers absence, not just on annual leave but often for weeks at a time.
I enjoyed helping and understanding the customers needs which could be very demanding and varied.
I also continued training and qualified in excellence customer service and travel sales whilst working.
I love to learn and become comfortable, enabling me to help others.
Pros
reliable salary with 6 weeks annual leave, new changes
Cons
not knowing when the next office was up for franchise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Bethnal Green, Greater London26 January 2018
Everyday is different
New things everyday
Full Management help
Friendly and Caring
When I was not authorized to use AEI machine
Work Time Learning
Pros
Free Lunch and flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your manager
Postal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire3 January 2018
I worked at a small branch owned by the manager... the wage was minimum but the hours were very flexible. This varies across branches as well as the type of work you’ll be doing.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As you'd expect from a paper-round
Paper Boy (Former Employee) –  Doncaster8 December 2017
This, overall, was a pleasant work envrinment, as all staff were happy to have a chat. However, the number of papers which needed to be delivered resulted in hours far longer than what pay I was given, and too much was expected of the paper-round workers, as a single misdelivery would result in a pay reduction
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
long hours and little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self employed so responible for all aspects
Self Employed with husband post office counters (Former Employee) –  Clacton-on-Sea4 December 2017
this job was self employed but franchised through post office counters ltd. typical day was 9to 5.30. serving customers with a variety of benefits and products, responsible for all money so accuracy was very important as any shortages are the responsbilty of the sub postmaster
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Bees3 November 2017
I enjoyed working there very much and if it was not for relocation I would still work there it was a fun place to work and very easy to socialise with customers.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Network Operations Advisor (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim9 October 2017
good workplace
long hours
a lot of travelling
good pay and benefits
nice team
ever changing list of responsibilities
no certainty
no job security
good annual leave
Pros
Bonuses, A/l
Cons
Long hours over contracted hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Office Clerk
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Basildon, Essex6 October 2017
Transactions with money - benefit payments, car tax renewals, ISA, travel money, bill payments, travel insurance, money orders.

Balancing the accounts of my designated float.

Registering mail nationally and internationally.

Passport and driving license application check and send.

All the above was in a usual days work, management were supportive.

Enjoyable job was that it was a very sociable environment working and engaging with both colleagues and the public.
Pros
Local and sociable.
Cons
Poor pay and not many staff benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what i expected
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Falkirk3 October 2017
Although i was vetted by the post office to work in their branch, i was managed by the shop owner and paid by him as well. Never received a pay slip or contract, no holidays. Pay was below national minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham2 October 2017
Great pay & benefits, I spent 28 years of my life there. Lots of opportunities for development & progression. great work colleagues, very interesting work
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good support and friendly staff
Postmistress (Former Employee) –  Fleet, Hampshire18 September 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed working here. Best part of the job was meeting and talking to all the customers. Found the job interesting and enjoyed the variety of work. Great place to learn new skills. Good benefits for staff.
Pros
Meeting customers and variety of work
Cons
Long hours and have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy not fun to work
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Shepherds Bush, Greater London14 September 2017
Very busy every day given people there pension & unemployment benefits selling travel insurance sorting out postage ,& bags for the post man.I also used to do road tax for customer.
Pros
Good benefit
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxing but satisfactory
Advanced Customer Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire26 August 2017
Any member of staff needs their wits about them to work for the Post Office. Some members of the public have very challenging life situations and attitudes. This can make for some risky moments.
Pros
Reasonable salary
Cons
Terrible customers at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's interesting and enjoyable
Counter Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bedworth, Warwickshire11 August 2017
I would say it's a good job. You learn many life skills and now I know how to do a range of things. I can send off a parcel. I can give out pensions, give out cash, pay pills such as gas or rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Paper Boy (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead28 July 2017
Very excited to work there as it paid reasonably well and the employers are so nice and respectful, would recommend anyone to work there as it is a good work/life balance
Pros
short work hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Post Office Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 266 reviews
585
495
360
218
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture