Post Office Ltd Employee Reviews for Counter Clerk

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bristol6 May 2018
An excellent environment to work in. I learnt a lot about customer service from the friendly, one-to-one interactions with local customers. I was very sad to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn lots of things from there.
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands7 February 2018
This job was really good as I learn lots of things and got chance to get involved with the society and I did my best to do the work to full extent.

The staff was so good, Co operative, helpful and friendly.
Pros
The staff was so friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Post Office Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kingstanding, West Midlands9 January 2018
Great job, enjoyable meeting new people (customers) every day!

Learn lots of new things everyday
Meet new challenges
Can be challenging at times when we are very busy.
Pros
Lots of things to learn
Cons
Lots of different things to remember
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Counter clerk (Former Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex4 January 2018
A lot has changed in recent years.
Very stressful and felt post office was not on the side of employee.
I left to look after my husband through illness but was thinking of leaving anyway
Pros
Mixing with people
Cons
Weekend working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging experience, yet rewarding
Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Northamptonshire2 January 2018
Dealing with customers of all ages, dealing with a wide variety of services offered. No two days the same yet expectations clear, leading to rewards and bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but interesting
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kiddderminster14 December 2017
This job was interesting but very stressful as you have a lot of money sat right next to you. The typical day would be getting into work getting your till out which is assigned to you and get yourself logged in. then you would make sure that everything is set up correctly and you had enough stamps and other products that you sold. The work culture is relaxed but also could be very stressful if something went wrong. The management is good. The hardest part of the job is having anywhere between £5 k to £15 k next to you in the till. the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the customers that came in to the Post Office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped raise awareness of customer service
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oxford24 October 2017
- In-charge of stationary shop and lottery
- Stock control
- Review of important documents e.g. passport applications, road tax
-Balance of till at the end of the day
-Western Union/Bureau de change

I had a weeks' worth of training for the role, ensuring that I knew how to review important documents and understood the company's policies.

The hardest part of the role was to handle the long queues at the Post Office and ensuring all customers get an efficient service.

The most enjoyable part of the role was customer satisfaction when jobs were completed for them and when parcels would reach their destinations at a convenient time.
Pros
Good training
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Office Clerk
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Basildon, Essex6 October 2017
Transactions with money - benefit payments, car tax renewals, ISA, travel money, bill payments, travel insurance, money orders.

Balancing the accounts of my designated float.

Registering mail nationally and internationally.

Passport and driving license application check and send.

All the above was in a usual days work, management were supportive.

Enjoyable job was that it was a very sociable environment working and engaging with both colleagues and the public.
Pros
Local and sociable.
Cons
Poor pay and not many staff benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what i expected
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Falkirk3 October 2017
Although i was vetted by the post office to work in their branch, i was managed by the shop owner and paid by him as well. Never received a pay slip or contract, no holidays. Pay was below national minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy not fun to work
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Shepherds Bush, Greater London14 September 2017
Very busy every day given people there pension & unemployment benefits selling travel insurance sorting out postage ,& bags for the post man.I also used to do road tax for customer.
Pros
Good benefit
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was challenging
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edgware Road C Station8 September 2017
I learned any gained experience been one the team working with all different cultures and been part of the company though a lot experience. Learned a lot how to deal with customer and handling cash . I worked 4 years with post office ltd
Pros
Friends
Cons
Long train journey
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in.
Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Littleborough, Greater Manchester27 July 2017
Lots of lovely customers
Loads of knowledge learned
Staff promotions
Free staff broadband etc deals
Flexible working hours
Alternative weekend shifts
Pros
Free trials
Cons
Annoying customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and poorly paid
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ivybridge24 July 2017
Setting up the till, serving and advising customers.
Cash handling
Operating a very complex system that was not intuitive
Dealing with fraudsters single handed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution
Post Office Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bewdley11 July 2017
As a rural Post Office worker I chose to open from 8am-5pm but was only paid 19 hours per week.
Learned to be independent - only source of contact/help was the helpline after the trainers have left.
Hardest part of the job was balancing each evening, week or month.
Most enjoyable part was serving the customers
Pros
Small income just about covered my rent
Cons
Quite lonely as a one counter service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  Seaton21 June 2017
As this was my first job it's hard to remember but I worked every hour that I could and they would always offer over time and plenty of opportunities to work yourself higher.
Pros
no breaks
Cons
Long break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Post Office Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire24 April 2017
Enjoy every moment a good laugh with staff and customers. All staff make you feel welcomed. Amazing compnay to work with. Good experience and opportunaties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company to work for
Post Office Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Crawley21 April 2017
As usual I love working as part of a team so again team work is my bonus.
in the first 2 months itself I had a board full of positive feedback and reviews from customers.
one of my colleagues who's been there for 15 years asked me once
"How do I do it" and I answered it's all about paying attention and doing your best to help and satisfy every customer personally as they are all different.
Pros
excelling at my duties
Cons
casual 0 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cranleigh, Surrey20 April 2017
Dealing with customers is a daily job, I've learned great customer service skills. Seeing customers get what they want and help put a smile on their faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Counter Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol7 April 2017
the only enjoyable thing is some lovely customers, management do not help with stress levels, no proper training giving everything you learn you learn it on your own. The staff are amazing and make the job worth doing
Pros
lovely customers and staff
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great At First
Counter Clerk (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire1 March 2017
It was great at first but when the new management came it went down hill. you get treated like you are nobody, there was always something you are doing wrong. the 2 years before the new management i use to love the job,i loved the customers it was great and after that the only good part there was the few people i was working with. i would never go back unless the management is changed. the lunch break were only 30 mins as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Post Office Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 255 reviews
583
490
357
217
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Post Office Ltd Reviews by Location