PORTSMOUTH CITY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical toxic environment and oppressive bullying work culture.
Civil Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth18 October 2017
Having worked for portsmouth city council I experienced an environment that can only be described as unethical and toxic.dog eat dog would be another term .it really was a playground gang mentality where if your face didn't fit you would find yourself an outsider regularly subjected to bullying behaviour from not only your workmates but management also.working for portsmouth city council is by far the WORST working experience I have had to endure.I would not recommend working for portsmouth city council as there is a very real bullying and harassment regime that is prevalent in that particular workplace.hard work and honesty is not rewarded but bullying and dishonesty is.Portsmouth city council is already a corrupt and broken establishment.....that is run and inhabited by incompetent pondlife and bottom dwellers.
Pros
good salaries.
Cons
oppressive, bullying and toxic environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Park Warden (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth12 October 2017
This was a great job with nice people to work with , worked collecting money from tennis courts and bowling green, plus going from different parks in Portsmouth locking and making sure the buildings were secure
Pros
Working outside with the public
Cons
None that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be respectful, kind and considerate of your clients
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Southsea, Hampshire23 September 2017
If you work well and are open and honest you will benefit from job satisfaction and a good team to work with. The work is challenging both physically and mentally, particularly within dementia care. Regular training is required to maintain standards of care. A lot of this can be done online, but mandatory training such as moving and handling must be tested and refreshed in person with use of equipment such as active and passive hoists, slidesheets and rotundas as well as using the guiding principles.
Pros
Friendly team, good pension and rewarding
Cons
The work is tough and wages are low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job
Technical Officer (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire6 September 2017
Absolutely love the job I do and the interactions I have with the public and with internal staff. Unfortunately some managers are not personable and can speak to you like your worthless. HR weren't massively helpful in resolving the issue.
Pros
Short core hours
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job, difficult times.
Wellbeing Worker (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire31 August 2017
I was lucky enough to work for the Council pre austerity cuts and worked within a dynamic and creative team delivering quality interventions to the people of Portsmouth. However during my time at the Council we were subject to some appalling management decisions which resulted in several colleagues leaving. After coming through this, the Team became subject to consultation and was eventually merged with other services as part of a cost cutting exercise. I feel this exercise failed, not only the people working within the team, but the very people we were employed to support. We were made several promises regarding pay and progression within the new team, none of which came to fruition and resulting in me leaving as a pay cut meant that I would not earn enough to cover childcare costs.
Pros
Annual leave entitlement
Cons
Austerity cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressfull
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth14 August 2017
Very stressfull place has a time limit of around 6 years.
Dealing with emotional situations can be draining and upsetting at times.
frustration of situations as well when unable to comply with things.
Pros
Money not too bad had restaurant
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer but its facing hardline cuts to all services.
Infrastructure Engineer (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire13 July 2017
Portsmouth City Council is a great employer but with the current cuts to government sector organisations they are finding it difficult to maintain a stable working environment and provide job security.

During my time at Portsmouth City Council i gain a vast amount of experience in a wide variety of different IT subjects and applicable area's.

The hardest part of the job was to perform projects or upgrade systems with restricted to no funding available.

I enjoyed nearly all aspects of the job as there was so much to learn an do.
Pros
Great location, Friendly Coleauges, Work Variety
Cons
24/7 standby requirements, No career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Green & Clean (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire20 June 2017
Horrid conditions. Wouldn't provide any cooling whilst working in a tower block where the windows wouldn't open during a heat wave. Management never checked on employees which lead to the majority skiving off leaving the few others to pick up the work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
far to much work for so little money
Business Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Civic Offices, Portsmouth15 May 2017
antiquated procedures, poor management, very poor training cold and small workspace.
best thing about the job is the people that work there are friendly
worse thing is they expect you to know all the rules and regs without any training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive place and very interesting, different activities involved
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth9 May 2017
Working at Portsmouth City Council was a productive day because each day they gave something different for me to do and somewhere different for me to go. These activities and places were not all the same, and they were interesting to go to because I learned new things about the professionals and what their different job roles were. I enjoyed this job because I was able to go around to different areas around Portsmouth and meet new people.
Pros
active, always busy, productive, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great until all the cuts
Housing (Former Employee) –  Civic Offices4 May 2017
This used to be a great place to work and then all the cuts, redundancies and pay freezes came in. No room for advancing or promotion. Stuck on a pay band and job for life. Used to have great training but budget cut. Lots of output and no input. Management let the team down. People great to work with and fun times. Pension good.
Pros
Pension
Cons
No room for promotion or payrise. Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
RSSO (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire3 May 2017
Learnt a lot. I don't think this is relevant to my future employment. As I am still there I am obviously going to be selective on I say. Therefore xxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people, interesting work
assisting members of the team (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire5 April 2017
I learned so much there isn't enough room to write everything down. They made the learning fun and interesting. Training is outstanding. The work is varied and interesting. Lovely friendly supportive people who work as a team and make you feel very welcomed. The training is structured and well thought through and implemented. They really care about the service they provide and are passionate about value for money and producing a high standard of workmanship. I would love to work here again and plan on doing everything possible to make this happen one day. I would recommend working here to anyone. It will be an experience you will never forget.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job making a difference
Adult Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire21 March 2017
Worked with a fantastic team, loved my work. Knowing that your making a difference to someones quality of life was rewarding. PCC great to work for if you get support needed. Let down was manager Supported by my colleagues at work,manager hardly in building.
Pros
Pension
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and motivating
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire20 March 2017
My time spent at Portsmouth City Council gave me motivation for what I want to do in my future career, also it gave me skills of working in a team and gave me good opportunities which I was happy with.
Pros
Life experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working environment
Building Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Civic Offices11 March 2017
A very good place to work if you want flexibility and decent working conditions. Salary not so great. Senior management in Housing lack basic people skills and are very unprofessional, forcing many skilled and experienced staff to leave. Really enjoyed my time there until I had to work under these people, so I left.
Pros
Working conditions, flexibility, city centre location, pension
Cons
Low pay, erosion of benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and provided fun and safe place for children
Portsmouth (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire26 February 2017
A playworker was a great temporary job whilst at univesrity providing the best environement for children to learn and have fun.
Pros
Supportive
Cons
Was temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Volunteer Recovery Broker (Former Employee) –  portsmouth23 January 2017
Was able to hone my skills here with the support and encouragement from management and colleagues. Good opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trading standard assistant
trading standard assistant (Former Employee) –  portsmouth council16 January 2017
Responsible for informing the city’s deaf community of trading standards issues and their rights. Office skills developed included filing, creating presentations via PowerPoint, organising seminars and events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff to work with but no constructive management
Activities Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Hilsea, Hampshire5 January 2017
Working with the elderly, dementia and end of life residents can be hard work, you need a lot of patience as a caring nature. Although there is a lot of repetitiveness, every day is different and you need to be able to work by yourself, using your own initiative as well as part of a team. My co-workers are very lovely people who are very welcoming and make it a pleasure to work there but there is no management support which makes my job harder. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the residents get something out of an activity, whether it's a smile or some interaction from them, it's very rewarding to see them enjoying themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PORTSMOUTH CITY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

PORTSMOUTH CITY COUNCIL Reviews by Location