Pizza Hut Employee Reviews for Chef

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 23,520 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turnover in staff high for obvious reasons
PIZZA CHEF (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 October 2018
Rushing around and having management shout at you when they haven't been managing correctly. The culture is very hectic and the constant changing of shifts makes it difficult to plan a life beyond that of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Back of House Chef (Former Employee) –  Livingston30 September 2018
This is a great place to work for...the staff are great and the management are capable to deal with what they can - not brilliant, but can be fair, compared to some places, Work Life balance are what they are to be expected for working within the service industry.
Pros
Salary/Benefits, Job Security/Advancement, Management, Job Culture
Cons
Job Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Kidderminster, Worcestershire27 September 2018
A awful place to work for managers do not care about you, only sales and making money. poorly trained staff and even worse kitchens, this place sucks the life out of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester3 August 2018
Working at Pizza hut was a fast paced while fun environment. A very strong sense of belonging and support if needed.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as terrible as some fast food places
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  York1 June 2018
I enjoyed the atmosphere around the restaraunt I worked at (in the kitchen,) they provided one small pizza per shift to keep you fed, but with shifts often stretching upwards of 10 hours, it is a difficult place to work. Far from the worse, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly nice people
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire14 May 2018
Hardest part of the job; making pizzas for 6+ hours with only a small time for a break, which is most days for me being the most experience member of staff and it being the hardest place to work.

Work with some nice and interesting people.
Cons
inconsistent shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good and joyful
Chef (Former Employee) –  Kingswood10 April 2018
come in to work
sign in
prep for the evening
cook orders
cut orders
get drivers to take them
learned how to priorities orders
management was great
most enjoyable part was talking to customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job that highly underpays
Chef (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire4 April 2018
Working here is very stressful and it seems that you get nothing in return except expectations to do more. Pay is terrible considering how much profit they make every day. The best thing about this job is the job security aspect.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Highly underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable every shift
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Blackpool23 January 2018
i love working with everyone, its fun fast paced and always enjoyable. always makes sure its running smoothly at all times, Getting taught new roles has given me so much more experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent15 January 2018
The company is a great place to work at, but because I am a university student, the income is a little less than what I need. I would recommend the hut to others.
Pros
good staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy but extremely enjoyable
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Govan7 January 2018
At pizza hut even when you arre run off your feet it is still easy to enjoy what you're doing. the people are all absolutely lovely and always happy to help when you arent sure of what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Chef (Current Employee) –  Lomd28 November 2017
Pizza Hut provides a great environment for employees to expand their skill set and communication

I enjoy myself on a daily bias, great people around me and supportive managers.

I have learned a lot in different areas of my skill, this experience has helped build and strength these.

The managers are excellent, they do have a line between work and fun which is always needed in a busy work area.

The biggest challenge at work is to ensure we hit all daily targets, and the most enjoyable part is when you're working a friendly team.
Pros
Team Work, Buliding Skill Sets, Creating Pizzas
Cons
Long Work Hours, Non-desired pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work fast paced
Pizza Chef/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford27 November 2017
fun place to work slowly getting behind times which is a shame busy days fast paced vey busy weekends and great team to work for at times bedt part of day is home time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpaid hours
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Kent21 November 2017
Take advantage of young workers by giving them silly hours, and most of them can go unpaid. Have near to no social life, and falsely advertise job placement (salary, hours etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete waste of time
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Dunstable, Bedfordshire21 August 2017
First of all is underpaid for the amount of work done there, especially in the kitchen. It is a fast pace work, with no fixed program or fixed breaks.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Flexible program, underpaid work, fast pace work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and good environment
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex2 August 2017
Pizza Hut has a good environment to work in, its very lively and fun with staff that get along with eachother.
The management team do their best to make sure all tasks are complete and that if you are struggling you get the help that you need.
The hardest part is the busy periods. This is because there are so many orders on the screen and you need to look at the orders and place what goes where. Another hard part is the cleaning, this is because you need to know what chemicals are to clean where. If theyre used in the wrong places then it can harm the food.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the work itself, it keeps you moving and stops you from getting bored.
Pros
6 hours of work gives you a free staff pizza
Cons
Understaff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard workplace
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 July 2017
I did like my time at pizza hut but the management was not professional and i was discriminated for my beliefs and culture there fore i did not have the confidence to carry on working.
Pros
Hard work to waste time
Cons
Poor professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Ok
Back of House/ Chef (Former Employee) –  Norwich12 July 2017
Working at Pizza Hut was good for an easy work/ life balance, and the employees all got along well with each other. However the management was pathetic, staff were repeatedly underpaid and overworked. Not to mention the sheer lack of respect that managers had for their employees. The working conditions were under par. On the plus side, it is quite an easy job and can be fun at times.
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Durham, Durham1 July 2017
great staff and every shift is different all of the staff get along really well and the management team communicate really well so that shifts run smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace, poor man management & irregular hours.
Pizza Chef (Current Employee) –  Manchester, UK27 May 2017
Working as a Pizza Chef at Pizza Hut can at times be a very fun work environment but also professional at the same time and the majority of the staff were amazing to work with.

The wage is poor as it is minimum, the hours are extremely irregular and the job is reasonably secure but has extremely low chance of advancement.

The management are often dishonest with what they offer you regarding a route to management and in my experience, the management manage harassment and bullying very poorly.
Pros
free staff meal, fun environment
Cons
Man management, wage, irregular hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pizza Hut. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 23,520 reviews
56.6K
46.9K
36.1K
22.2K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture

Pizza Hut Reviews by Location