Pizza Express Employee Reviews in London

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unprofessional
waitress (Former Employee) –  London5 December 2017
Management was terrible and extremeley abusive. I would have to work illegally after hours even though i was underaged and didn't get given breaks with 12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London24 November 2017
The job was fine although the salery is terrible especially as a young person. However this is similar to the other Italian chains that i have worked at. If you are good, you can make good tips is about the only perk.
Pros
Food on shift
Cons
Low hourly rate, don't know shifts far in advance (sunday for monday)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London16 October 2017
As a MOD I have many responsibilities for example to verify that the control and maintenance interventions are performed correctly.

Every day I check the Fourth System.

I take care of customers for any request in the restaurant and on the phone.

I organize parties.
Pros
Free meal.
Cons
there is not meritocracy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic and satisfying
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London10 October 2017
I started off as dishwasher and then onto a waiter and then assistant manager. This gave me the opportunity to grow within the company which inspired me to grow within this industry.
Pros
Benefits including meals
Cons
working late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, hard but cool
pizza maker (Former Employee) –  London18 September 2017
first job is always difficult, building a carrier require a lot of passion and dedication.
Very hard to learn and a bit stressful but after all good place to work.
I definitely would work again Because I love pizza and the company:)
Pros
free food, good atmosphere
Cons
long hours, no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon environnement de travail
Serveur en restauration (Former Employee) –  Londres6 September 2017
bonne équipe, clientèle sympathique et management à l'écoute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full on role with a good support network
Deputy Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  London28 August 2017
Really enjoyed my time with PizzaExpress, they are very progressive and forward thinking. I relish the challenge of the various roles that I had and I have always been very grateful for my journey with Pizza Express.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience and very enjoyable
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London11 June 2017
I learnt so much whilst at Pizza Express which is why I loved the job so much. The days varied quite a bit. Some days were very busy were as others were not as much.
I would host parties and waiter on those which was sometimes a little challenging if I was on my own. I had to think on my feet countless numbers of times and I would also always keep an eye out for when I could go an extra mile in helping customers have the best possible experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 June 2017
Managers were lovely. I was happy to work there. There were different types of people from different cultures. I actually felt that I was a part of a team and it had a warm working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Kitchen Chef (Former Employee) –  London, UK27 May 2017
the pizza express routine
people do what they have to do, like cleaners do clean, chefs cook, no magic, waiters act like waiters.
the enjoyable part of it was the meal
Pros
food
Cons
mess
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report

Want to know more about Pizza Express?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful without moving forward
Waiter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 May 2017
It takes a lot of responsibilities for a minimum wage or even worse, if you are under 25 years old you get 7.05 pounds doing exactly the same job as everybody else.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Unstable salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work lovely team members
Dessert and Coffee Maker (Former Employee) –  London1 May 2017
working at pizza express my typical day was restocking my work area, making sure my area was clean at all times and doing customers coffees and desserts.

I learnt how to keep up in a first pace restaurant.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasent and rude
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London29 March 2017
Was excited to learn and enhance my waitressing skills but I found all the staff here very unpleasant to work with. Everyone was out for themselves and no one wanted to work as a team. Management were poor at training and I didn't enjoy my time here at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love work in pizza express everyone its so fun. Love my managers could have better people to work with it love the busy time
Waitredd (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London13 March 2017
Pizza express its the best restaurant first of many things really good tips money good people good managers good work i dont have any complains i have so much fun when im working
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Sometimes its so busy we cant eat or rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buyuk ve koklu bir sirket
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London20 February 2017
Cok koklu ve ciddi bir kurum 4 Mevsim menus olusturarak menuyu ve musteriyi tazelemek
Pros
Yukselme imkani
Cons
Ana yonetimle contact sorunlari
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buzzing Enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London3 January 2017
- Busy and fun place
- How to manage a restaurant with a weekly income over £30000
- Daily and weekly forecasting
- Working with Bidvest, Micros and People System
- Making Pizza
- Hard working and respectful team
- Wowing the customers with an amazing service
Pros
Working with kids
Cons
Working flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente lavorativo alquanto organizzato
lavapiatti e aiuto cuoco / cameriere (Current Employee) –  London20 December 2016
pizza express e` un buno luogo dove poter crescere in ambito ristorativo a londra
Pros
il maggior aspetto positivo sono gli sconti in vari negozzi per le persone assunte dalla compagnia
Cons
x
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London19 October 2016
In this job I feel safe at all times. We get to meet a lot of people. Unfortunatly Pizza Express is not the best company to work for, as the days go by they are cutting our benefits. The best part of this job is the people we meet and relationships we create
Pros
Free lunch, flexible
Cons
No benefits, long hours, busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work, I was multiple help. Ordering, stock control, solving problems, supervising,
Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London21 September 2016
I wish I would've stayed longer in the company. But is not yet what I was looking for. I am able to work under pressure, but I still think, customers are always right and need to be treated so.
Pros
Possibility to grow as professional
Cons
Unfair timing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  London26 August 2016
great place to work, great fun, lovely people,
good company structure , good training, brilliant PE culture
feeling proud of all our achievments and celebrating success
Pros
people
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pizza Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 436 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6