Pizza Express Employee Reviews in London

Found 66 reviews matching the search See all 550 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun envirement
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London18 July 2018
The time spent in Pizza Express is was very benefiting. During all shift you have responsibilities to look after except the main one - to serve guests. Great teamwork and management
Pros
Free meals, flexible hours
Cons
mainly pizza alowed for employee meal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food pizza restaurant
Senior pizza chef (Current Employee) –  London12 May 2018
I joyned pizza express in january,honestly I don't like it. I used to work in a higher level kitchen. The salary is not bad but I would like to work in a different contest.
Pros
Salary
Cons
That's a fast food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  London8 May 2018
pizza express its a company to work with they are one of the best chains in uk.. feel free to build a demand of new skills. they also pride the staff!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most rubbish place I ever seen in my life.
PizzaExpress (Former Employee) –  London5 April 2018
Was working for this company almost 2 years, and have been developed from waiter role to supervisor role in my last 6 months. The gap in the salary between a waiter salary and a supervisor is just £0,63!!!! ARE YOU SERIOUS??? A waiter cand earn with 35h/w more money than a Restaurant Manager. I didn't like the way the management investigate people for every single mistake, and if the management is making a mistake - that is fine, they will just say sorry, they do not investigate themself. It doesn't matter how much you did for this company but once you done something wrong and your manager didn't like it, he will give you a disciplinary and you will be step down. The way they investigate people for theyr mistakes looks more like an interrogation at the police station. Supervisors allways are closing the restaurant which I consider unfare, unhuman shifts like 15h without brake for only £8,50 p/h. You will learn a lot of things but they are useless at all if you will want to change the job.
Pros
Easy to develope to restaurant manager role
Cons
Very long hours, rubbish money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be a team worker
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  London2 April 2018
It's a good place to be a team worker, but it's so busy and sometimes you can't handle with. The worse thing is if you are below 21 years old, they pay you bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but very simple
Waiter and manager on duty (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London29 March 2018
It’s a good job where I learned how to be in charge I learned the proper customer service great experience great customers and the management and also a lovely service charge can’t complain
Pros
Very good management
Cons
Limited staff food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job in London
(Londres-UK) - atuando como técnico de informática (Former Employee) –  London/UK13 March 2018
I had a very good experience, I was able to improve in all professional senses, acting in diverse affiliations. I ended my cycle in the company because I wanted to finish my university to get the degree in IT
Pros
lunch free
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Waitress (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London23 February 2018
It is a great place to work at but the salary is low. The colleagues are nice and chatty most of them but the management of the place is a bit under what is should be.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
magnífico.
Camarera y recepcionista (Former Employee) –  londres24 January 2018
El mayor logro es poder trabajar sin saber inglés y concederte la oportunidad de subir en el sector mediante tu trabajo y esfuerzo; dándote así la confianza suficiente para super arte día a día.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London7 January 2018
Setting up tables, organising prep, making sure everything is clean & workable.
Learnt to serve orders, multi task, interact with customers more.
Management was alright.
Workplace culture was productive and pretty busy.
Hardest part was attending to customers needs at one time sometimes the staff was minimal.
Making someone's day was the most enjoyable
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unprofessional
waitress (Former Employee) –  London5 December 2017
Management was terrible and extremeley abusive. I would have to work illegally after hours even though i was underaged and didn't get given breaks with 12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London24 November 2017
The job was fine although the salery is terrible especially as a young person. However this is similar to the other Italian chains that i have worked at. If you are good, you can make good tips is about the only perk.
Pros
Food on shift
Cons
Low hourly rate, don't know shifts far in advance (sunday for monday)
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London16 October 2017
As a MOD I have many responsibilities for example to verify that the control and maintenance interventions are performed correctly.

Every day I check the Fourth System.

I take care of customers for any request in the restaurant and on the phone.

I organize parties.
Pros
Free meal.
Cons
there is not meritocracy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic and satisfying
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London10 October 2017
I started off as dishwasher and then onto a waiter and then assistant manager. This gave me the opportunity to grow within the company which inspired me to grow within this industry.
Pros
Benefits including meals
Cons
working late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, hard but cool
pizza maker (Former Employee) –  London18 September 2017
first job is always difficult, building a carrier require a lot of passion and dedication.
Very hard to learn and a bit stressful but after all good place to work.
I definitely would work again Because I love pizza and the company:)
Pros
free food, good atmosphere
Cons
long hours, no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon environnement de travail
Serveur en restauration (Former Employee) –  Londres6 September 2017
bonne équipe, clientèle sympathique et management à l'écoute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full on role with a good support network
Deputy Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  London28 August 2017
Really enjoyed my time with PizzaExpress, they are very progressive and forward thinking. I relish the challenge of the various roles that I had and I have always been very grateful for my journey with Pizza Express.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience and very enjoyable
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London11 June 2017
I learnt so much whilst at Pizza Express which is why I loved the job so much. The days varied quite a bit. Some days were very busy were as others were not as much.
I would host parties and waiter on those which was sometimes a little challenging if I was on my own. I had to think on my feet countless numbers of times and I would also always keep an eye out for when I could go an extra mile in helping customers have the best possible experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 June 2017
Managers were lovely. I was happy to work there. There were different types of people from different cultures. I actually felt that I was a part of a team and it had a warm working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Kitchen Chef (Former Employee) –  London, UK27 May 2017
the pizza express routine
people do what they have to do, like cleaners do clean, chefs cook, no magic, waiters act like waiters.
the enjoyable part of it was the meal
Pros
food
Cons
mess
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pizza Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 550 reviews
5162
4185
3118
243
142

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture