Pets at Home Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but hard work
Dog Groomer Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex12 April 2018
There are lots of tasks to be completed in one shift and you won't get bored but if can be tiring. I had tasks such as cleaning cages then stocking shelves and then working on the till.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place.
Retail (Current Employee) –  Winnersh, Berkshire10 April 2018
Pets at home has been an amazing opportunity to learn more about animals and more about how the world actually works. I’m very grateful for the opportunity I was given, it is an amazing learning experience.
Pros
Amazing work place, everyone’s friendly and the animals are well cared for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment with Good benefits
Store Colleague (Current Employee) –  South Ayrshire7 April 2018
Good benefits with the company, some shop environments better than others. Questionable values from company but colleagues passionate and caring towards all animals in store and that visit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire6 April 2018
great place to work however they didn't properly listen to owners about animals. for example a man brought in a Siberian husky who had only seen grass "a week ago" said the dog was rescued from Dubai and it didn't like cages. so they put it in a cage for an hour...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no worklife balance
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  South East5 April 2018
highly stressful. unachievable targets set by senior manager. no worklife balance. lack of direction. very task orientated. company has lost its way. enjoy talking to customer's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 years and loved almost every minute
Senior Store Manager Salary (Former Employee) –  Swindon3 April 2018
Great company to work for and very passionate about pets and animal welfare.
Great innovation especially on new products, they cared about team work and progression, not just about reaching targets.
Pros
good structure and benefits
Cons
long hours and drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was only work experience
Pets at home (Former Employee) –  Lichfield17 March 2018
I only did work experience here so I didnt get to experience the full benefits of a job there. I would've liked to learn more. But unfortunately it was only to fill my hours for college
Pros
Good pet advice
Cons
Didn't actually get a paid job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive /Fun to work for
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Trowbrige13 March 2018
. Day to Day Running of Business
. Customer service
. Structure/ approachable
. Focus Training
. Targets being moved refocusing the staff
. All of it
Pros
good bonus for staff and managers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work in
Costumer service (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire13 March 2018
Really loved the workers, they are all nice polite and very hard working. Great management. Very clean and tidy place. Long breaks. Just loved to work there, the place is very peaceful, I love it!
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Work might become boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun at all
wharehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent12 March 2018
Job security is very good very hard work close and convenient pay is very good management not very good always on your back to much bullying for my liking
Pros
Discount on products
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs more staff for busy pace
Colleague (Current Employee) –  Hampshire11 March 2018
Great company, interesting job, good pay and benefits. However, it is very fast paced and sometimes matching all the animals needs can be very diffcult whilst juggling lots of tasks on top of that to do as well. The store I worked at definitely needed more members of staff but isnt allowed more. When struggling with tasks, results in being told to 'make more time'. On the other hand, the company has many opportunities for you to progress and the colleagues make it fun. It is long hours but something I dont mind because of the fast pace environment, the time goes quickly.
Pros
-Animals -Opportunities to grow&progress -Good pay&benefits
Cons
-Need more staff -Rude customers -Not always enough time for animals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional, little to no initial training
sales (Former Employee) –  tyne and wear9 March 2018
made to do unpaid overtime and worked 7 hours without break, unprofessional environment and training consisted of a handbook, no demonstrations on animal healthcare checks or how to clean cages safely
Pros
working with animals
Cons
poor training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxfordshire7 March 2018
fun to work
good workers
manager is kind
good place
customers love looking at the animals
the hardest part of the job is cleaning the animals out
Pros
feeding animals
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Fun workplace
Shop Worker (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire7 March 2018
I learnt man skills whilst doing work experience at Pets At Home i learnt about specific animals and there needs also how to work with isolated animals.
Pros
Clean place to work
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good emphasis on animal welfare
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire4 March 2018
Good place to work, stable job security. Put animal welfare first which is a must. A typical working day can include cleaning animals, helping customers and cleaning and tidying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pet People
Grooming Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Regional across North England and Scotland3 March 2018
Pets before Profit is throughout the business, down to really knowledgeable, meticulous and passionate colleagues.

Training and development opportunities available for all levels
Pros
People
Cons
HR lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Trostre1 March 2018
I had a very fun week of work at Pets at Home. I met lots of friendly new people and learned lots of new skills. I thoroughly enjoyed my work experience there and hope that I will be able to return there one day for proper work.
Pros
Experience, New skills, Confidence boost
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helped me become independant
store assistant (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester25 February 2018
pets at home was only my work experience when attended school, but it helped me gain the basic skills everyone needs to work, I it helped me be independent on terms of getting to work on time everyday, providing my own lunch etc. it helped me with my customer service skills face to face. it helped my listening skills and how to take instructions well.
Pros
met new people
Cons
spent my luches on my own
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom23 February 2018
So amazing, loved the animals loved the customers and the staff were so lovely at all times to me. Didn’t really like dealing with the dead fish but I liked everything else.
Pros
Lunches were long
Cons
Dead fish
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commited
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire22 February 2018
Fantastic animal welfare. Always something new. Excellent benefits and excellent job security. Can sometimes be long hours but thats retail. Dhare option available too.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pets at Home. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 483 reviews
5182
4149
370
239
143

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture