Peterborough City Council Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Work and enjoyable
Team Secretary (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire15 November 2018
Organisational of the day. Job included supervision of 4 secretaries and working for a senior member of the Council. No hard part to the position as I planned ahead. Most enjoyable was job satisfaction
Pros
Enjoyed work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Council
City Councillor (Former Employee) –  Peterborough3 September 2018
Responsible for the day to day issues which affect the residents of the ward from bin collections to implementing million pound regeneration projects. Great fun lots of learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique environment to work in
Box Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Peterborough17 March 2018
It was a fantastic place to work. Mainly due to the staff and management there at the time. A lot has changed though since my day so you may find it's not such a happy place anymore.
Pros
Unique job role, interesting and happy atmosphere (at the time)
Cons
Unsociable hours - change in ownership and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pcc
SEN Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough18 March 2018
Very good working conditions including agile working and flexible working hours.
Workload is always challenging in a local authority placement however line managers are well trained at supporting teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Council Worker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough23 February 2018
interesting job and you meet a lot of different people in the community so you will need to be a very people friendly person not hard work as in physical but challenging
Pros
set hours
Cons
can get boring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Youth Health Champion/ Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire22 July 2017
Working in the Public Health sector of Peterborough City Council wasn a great, hands on experience. All of the colleagues were friendly and well coming and very enthusiastic when it came to their jobs. I spent a lot of time outside the offices doing more practical work with the Youth and helping out at surgeries in the hospital but also spent some time in the offices helping out other members of the team.
Pros
Helping the youth and members of the community through promoting healthier life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and informed environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire12 July 2017
A typical day at work would consist of taking inbound calls from members of the public in regards to the brown bin service, this included signing them up for the service and taking payments over the phone, as well as providing information about the brown bin service and Peterborough city council's policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy primary school
Peterborough, Midday Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG13 August 2013
I would help the children cut up their dinners and supervise them whilst they ate, clearing away the tables and chairs before going out onto the playground area to supervise and join in with the children as they enjoyed their dinner break time.
later on i was asked to supervise one child who had learning difficulties, assist them with their dinners and one to one with them during their play time.
to verbally report back to the s.e.n.c.o on the childs behaviour and whether school dinner was eaten.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive job thats a way of life
Community Alarm Advisor (Former Employee) –  The Lindens14 June 2014
Visiting, elderly/vulnerable people in their homes and explaining then features and benefits of the Lifeline system, installing the equipment in a timely and professional manner.

I learned tolerance and understanding of the needs of some truly vulnerable people.

Along with a positive and helpful team, inspired confidence into the service user on a daily basis.

The most difficult part of the role was visiting vulnerable/terminally ill folk and keeping a positive outlook wherever possible.

Seeing a contented person's face when installing/and on going visits to vulnerable clients
Pros
Helping highly vulnerable people
Cons
Having to smile when dealing with terminally ill clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG5 June 2014
i enjoyed working at this placement as i learned to use the buffer machine, COSH course also did NVQ in cleaning. there was only 2 of us that worked here and we got on really well. although it was only 1:30hrs aday it could be sometimes quite challenging as it was a play scheme and depending on what there activities were depended on how much we needed to clean on that day.
Pros
enjoyable work
Cons
when we had to work late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Peterborough City Council?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a nice place to work
care assistant (Former Employee) –  welland house peterborough14 March 2013
started work at 8am. getting service users up. helping with full personal care. helping them chose what to wear.making breakfasts.giving medication,making beds making sure rooms are tidy.toileting sevice users,giving them there lunch.feeding them if they need help with eating. also bathing giving evening meal and assisting with personal care and helping them to bed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office
Business Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough20 October 2015
Working for the local Government is fast paced and as I work via Serco a lot is expected of the support staff from the client. I use a variety of databases, word and excel daily, have contact with the public and other support staff dealing with queries but mainly provide administrative support for enforcement officers.
Pros
Local, central office
Cons
Not a permanent role
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peterborough City Council
Digital Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Peterboorugh29 May 2017
Peterborough City Council is typical of a local government organisation, offering good working conditions and security. The culture of the organisation is dated and does not offer good career development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK temp assignment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Peterborough7 August 2017
I was only in this role for about 4 weeks,

Ok temp assignment !!

The agency I was with at the time was ok, communication fine.

No option for it to be made permanent
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intensive and interesting work place
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG29 June 2015
Brilliant management and helpful colleagues at the very fast pased environment. I learnt to embrace, manage and deliver huge amounts of very detailed information to the customers straight away via the phone.
Pros
Free coffee and snacks
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
DEMOCRATIC SERVICES OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Peterborough20 August 2015
I have been here for five years and have ahd some enjoyable and challengin times, but overall it is a nice place to work with friendly colleagues who are always willing to help.
Pros
Flexitime
Cons
Salary does not reflect work carried out and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at PCC
Sustainable Travel Officer (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire8 February 2017
Great place, great team, rewarding job - would have loved to stay but my job was dependent on external funding which (sadly) was not achieved
Pros
Lovely place to work, great people
Cons
fixed term contract - funding dependent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy support role within Legal Services
Legal Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough City Centre2 March 2015
Business Support Officer role providing administrative support to all areas of Legal Services, including Contracts, Property, Child Protection and Planning.
Pros
excellent salary, flexi time, generous annual leave entitlement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work enjoyed it
Election Assistant (Former Employee) –  peterborough29 July 2015
i enjoyed this work as i gained some knowledge how to sort out paper work and it's order and also i gained knowledge i can work in busy rush hour jobs so i personally think this one day work experience was a good talent for me and my future career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Senior Residential Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG12 August 2015
Lovely place to work, friendly staff team and very approachable management team too. No two days are the same its like one big happy home.
Pros
Staff are listened too. Kept up to date on policies, procedures etc...
Cons
Not enough hours...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Peterborough City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 31 reviews
512
410
37
22
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Peterborough City Council Reviews by Location