Peterborough City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique environment to work in
Box Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Peterborough17 March 2018
It was a fantastic place to work. Mainly due to the staff and management there at the time. A lot has changed though since my day so you may find it's not such a happy place anymore.
Pros
Unique job role, interesting and happy atmosphere (at the time)
Cons
Unsociable hours - change in ownership and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Council Worker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough23 February 2018
interesting job and you meet a lot of different people in the community so you will need to be a very people friendly person not hard work as in physical but challenging
Pros
set hours
Cons
can get boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK temp assignment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Peterborough7 August 2017
I was only in this role for about 4 weeks,

Ok temp assignment !!

The agency I was with at the time was ok, communication fine.

No option for it to be made permanent
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Youth Health Champion/ Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire22 July 2017
Working in the Public Health sector of Peterborough City Council wasn a great, hands on experience. All of the colleagues were friendly and well coming and very enthusiastic when it came to their jobs. I spent a lot of time outside the offices doing more practical work with the Youth and helping out at surgeries in the hospital but also spent some time in the offices helping out other members of the team.
Pros
Helping the youth and members of the community through promoting healthier life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and informed environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire12 July 2017
A typical day at work would consist of taking inbound calls from members of the public in regards to the brown bin service, this included signing them up for the service and taking payments over the phone, as well as providing information about the brown bin service and Peterborough city council's policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peterborough City Council
Digital Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Peterboorugh29 May 2017
Peterborough City Council is typical of a local government organisation, offering good working conditions and security. The culture of the organisation is dated and does not offer good career development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of opportunity
Secretarial Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, UK7 April 2017
learnt a lot lot of opportunity to apply within depends in the department you are in some departments are pressurised, others are not, the people were good
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at PCC
Sustainable Travel Officer (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire8 February 2017
Great place, great team, rewarding job - would have loved to stay but my job was dependent on external funding which (sadly) was not achieved
Pros
Lovely place to work, great people
Cons
fixed term contract - funding dependent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Interim MD - Westcombe Engineering (Former Employee) –  Peterborough24 May 2016
Business turnaround to ensure stability of business and keep the service open. This was successfully achieved and the engineering business at Westcombe is now profitable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office
Business Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough20 October 2015
Working for the local Government is fast paced and as I work via Serco a lot is expected of the support staff from the client. I use a variety of databases, word and excel daily, have contact with the public and other support staff dealing with queries but mainly provide administrative support for enforcement officers.
Pros
Local, central office
Cons
Not a permanent role
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for
Driver/Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG18 September 2015
Good company to work for but hours, pay and prospects were very poor. Not enough opportunity to gain advancement or create a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
DEMOCRATIC SERVICES OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Peterborough20 August 2015
I have been here for five years and have ahd some enjoyable and challengin times, but overall it is a nice place to work with friendly colleagues who are always willing to help.
Pros
Flexitime
Cons
Salary does not reflect work carried out and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Senior Residential Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG12 August 2015
Lovely place to work, friendly staff team and very approachable management team too. No two days are the same its like one big happy home.
Pros
Staff are listened too. Kept up to date on policies, procedures etc...
Cons
Not enough hours...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work enjoyed it
Election Assistant (Former Employee) –  peterborough29 July 2015
i enjoyed this work as i gained some knowledge how to sort out paper work and it's order and also i gained knowledge i can work in busy rush hour jobs so i personally think this one day work experience was a good talent for me and my future career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intensive and interesting work place
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG29 June 2015
Brilliant management and helpful colleagues at the very fast pased environment. I learnt to embrace, manage and deliver huge amounts of very detailed information to the customers straight away via the phone.
Pros
Free coffee and snacks
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy support role within Legal Services
Legal Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough City Centre2 March 2015
Business Support Officer role providing administrative support to all areas of Legal Services, including Contracts, Property, Child Protection and Planning.
Pros
excellent salary, flexi time, generous annual leave entitlement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Youth Support worker (Current Employee) –  Peterbough12 November 2014
evening work
sessional delivery
fun, good team work and productive session
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job
Business Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough18 October 2014
This is an average job but I would like a new challenge and to further my career. I believe I have gained enough experience here to move forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Social Worker/ AMHP (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG15 July 2014
Great colleagues
appalling management
far too many restructures
Pros
.
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive job thats a way of life
Community Alarm Advisor (Former Employee) –  The Lindens14 June 2014
Visiting, elderly/vulnerable people in their homes and explaining then features and benefits of the Lifeline system, installing the equipment in a timely and professional manner.

I learned tolerance and understanding of the needs of some truly vulnerable people.

Along with a positive and helpful team, inspired confidence into the service user on a daily basis.

The most difficult part of the role was visiting vulnerable/terminally ill folk and keeping a positive outlook wherever possible.

Seeing a contented person's face when installing/and on going visits to vulnerable clients
Pros
Helping highly vulnerable people
Cons
Having to smile when dealing with terminally ill clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Peterborough City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
510
49
37
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Peterborough City Council Reviews by Location