Patisserie Valerie Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and work with polite teammates
helper in Restaurant (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth18 July 2018
im enjoy my job when i can do what i want and have freedom about my job. i like creative ideas.and polite jobmates
I prefer teamwork and help when i can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester17 July 2018
Amazing staff at store level, but higher management haven't got a clue what they are doing or haven't got a clue how a store is run. They constantly abuse the system and abuse company money.
Pros
Meeting great people
Cons
Awful higher management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham27 June 2018
I worked in the Nottingham branch as duty manager for a year and half it was good, the staff were friendly and the customers were nice. would deffo work at another one if it was closer to home
Pros
free lunch
Cons
6.30 am starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chef
Chef De Partie (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside17 June 2018
was ok to work there, chaffing wasn't really for me which is why i switched to labouring, management was bit unorganised, was an easy enough job though
Pros
free food
Cons
working unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  edinbrugh17 June 2018
Terrible company to work for, they are not interested int their employees and i would not advise anyone to work for them. I would never work for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Waiter (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire9 June 2018
i learned a lot in patisserie valerie, the typical day was 6-7 hours of work every waiters was divided by section. The old management was pacefull with everybody
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and caring
Barista (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh north bridge5 June 2018
I don’t have much to say about the Marroit, but the staff were very helpful and considerate. I done a small amount of work experience there. I learned how to make a great standard off coffee
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Front of House Staff (Current Employee) –  Cheshire Oaks, Cheshire31 May 2018
Good place to work always busy challenging job role always something new to learn on a daily basis Good menu selection on offer in terms of food and drink.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Demanding role need to be fit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Woking, Surrey31 May 2018
The team its nice but the salary its really bad
They want everything from the staff's but didn't want to give nothing instead
I have a 40hrs contract but i have just around 37 on the rota this is not enought!!! If its not busy we have less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Chef (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire30 May 2018
I worked here for 5 months and it was ok for the work life balance and free lunches and that's where the pros end.
The kitchen manager takes every bank holiday and children's holidays off even though the manager has no children.
Complete lack of communication regarding bookings and in general.
Management skills are really bad in this place and you'll find management are bad for being very two faced.
They'll guarantee you hours and then cut them right down.
Because of labour cuts you'll find yourself on your own a lot.

AVOID!!!!!!!
Pros
Free lunch/work life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Want to know more about Patisserie Valerie?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Mamager (Former Employee) –  Rather not say16 May 2018
Worst company I have worked for, higher management only look after themselves and don’t care about lower management and team. It’s all about sales and cutting labour. No support!!! My advice is stay away and don’t bother!
Pros
Free lunch/ discount
Cons
Higher management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely no positives.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow6 May 2018
Absolutely shocking company to work for. They should be shut down. Non stop bullying and discrimination by the incompetent higher management. Staff turnover is shockingly high for this exact reason. The people in the high management positions are absolutely god awful at dealing with anything, most of them never having worked a hospitality job before becoming a manager of a CAFE! When someone wants to complain to HR who are supposed to help, their complaints just get forwarded to their store manager who then confronts them and punishes them for sending a complaint. You are expected to work for free and if not, you're being punished by getting less shifts. Theyve worked their way around this though, as all contracts state that you can be given 15 hours less or more than your contracted hours and you can do nothing about it.
Pros
Nothing at all.
Cons
Useless management, no guaranteed hours, unpaid breaks which you MUST take even on a 4 hour shift, constant hour cuts, people working for hours by themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work with a good pension scheme
Counter Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wigan23 April 2018
The different people you meet and the variation of work and people of interest on a daily basis.

Holiday and work system is flexible.

working conditions always clean and varied with regards to the amount of work that needs to be done over the course of a working day
Pros
flexible systesm for working hours and holiday pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working team
Head Chef (Current Employee) –  Durham16 April 2018
I work with a good team but I think is time to look for something that gives me more professional stability.

The long hours and the different adversities that I came across don't give me the confidence to continue working in this type of business.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire1 April 2018
No training. Very bad salary. Had to work 7days a week 12 hours a day and got paid for 40 hours a week... very low labour cost was given... no support
Cons
Work for free
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Job!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire18 March 2018
I have worked for the company 6 years now. I started as a waitress and have worked my way through the ranks. I have enjoyed every minute. Strong friendly staff and great team to work along side. If you work hard you will get places. Seen many co-workers progress and achieve within the company. Average pay (national minimum wage) as a waitress + tips which on average I used to receive £20 or so a day which isn’t bad. Duty managers on above minimum wage and senior management on salary. Contracted hours and 5 weeks holiday per year. Company will provide training with in house training by management. Uniform provided, aswell as free lunch, company discount card. I don’t have a bad work to say about them. I have worked across a few stores within my area and find all the teams very friendly and hard working
Pros
Company discount card
Cons
Some stores in need of maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Place to work
Head Waiter (Former Employee) –  London17 March 2018
Great colleagues, and exciting to work as one could meet people from all over the world, but upper management neglects staff and does not provide good working conditions and training, very high staff turnover, which made working even more difficult.
Pros
Meeting customers from all over the world
Cons
Lack of good working conditions, Upper Management Careless
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Barista/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 March 2018
Very flexible and friendly management.
The company offers a wide range of positions and chances to proceed in your career. High flexibility for working days and hours.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
lack of staff covers shift often required
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Products, Difficult Store
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff28 February 2018
Everyone knows the cakes and the delicious afternoon tea set- but the store was so tiny you only had one counter top to prepare everything on. This would then lead to huge delays in getting the order to the customer- which of course then leads to complaints.
Pros
Free lunches and cakes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester19 February 2018
I was in charge of a team of 14 when I ran the shift, meaning that I had many duties inc, cash handling and daily banking, stock order and rotation, this position has given me skills and knowledge that I can use in my new career as a barber
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patisserie Valerie. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 117 reviews
530
426
328
214
119

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture