Parkwood Leisure Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment process
Applied for Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  xxxxx21 February 2019
I had an interview for a Catering Manager role for Parkwood on 30th January.

To attend the interview involved a 400 mile round trip on motorways on what was probably the worst day of the year weather wise so far. Thick snow, ice, fog, frost made the journey dangerous and I probably should have cancelled. However, I liked the sound of the job so I made the effort.

At the end of the interview I was informed that I would be contacted the following week.

By 15th February I still hadn't been contacted.

While I appreciate I might not have been suitable, it would have been polite for their HR department to inform unsuccessful applicants to save them waiting and waiting.

I emailed Parkwood on 15th February and was told that someone would get back to me...........six days later and still no response!

So, all in all I risked my life and spent a lot of money on fuel for nothing!

Very unprofessional.......
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Pay & Poor Running of the Place
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath, Greater London13 February 2019
Pay as low as they can whilst trying to get the most out of you. Expect complaints due to poor management and organisation too. Wouldn't recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work
Lifeguard/Swimming Teacher (Former Employee) –  Biddulph, Staffordshire22 November 2018
A job where you meet new people, regular customers and colleagues willing to help you.
A job that keeps you active and fit. Lifeguarding, swimming teaching, working in the gym and setting up sports equipment safely
Pros
Keeps you fit, close community, positive attitude
Cons
There isnt any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run
Recreation Assistant/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath15 July 2018
The shifts were poorly run with only one member of staff on and there are 2 pools and set ups to do there, the lifeguard on the pool needs at least half an hour intervals off and the maximum a lifeguard can be on is an hour and a half that's in an emergency, the management don't care about you they only care if they look good.
Pros
30 min break
Cons
long hours no free lunch poor working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college job
Recreational Attendant (Former Employee) –  Southend, Essex6 May 2018
great laugh, great friends lots of fun days out, relaxed great place for young college student to earn some money.some jobs worths and low salary for big responsibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Rec assist (Current Employee) –  Rushcliffe2 December 2017
It's alright don't get me wrong but the pay is awful and it's a long day. It's quite disorganised but that means its more laid back .The council run pools are probably better
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Long hours, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 July 2017
Within my time here I have managed to achieve numerous qualifications which have helped me to improve my learning and have got me to where I am today.

There are many different departments within the building so we have a lot of staff. I feel that everyone gets on really well and it is a joy to work with them all. We all help each other where we can and have a good team morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Business Systems (Former Employee) –  Worcester18 July 2017
Good relaxed environment with good people. learned a lot about office life and software and it built up my confidence in delivering presentations to 20+ people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Recreation Assistant/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Bristol13 July 2017
Day to day work would vary from being very quiet first in the morning and late in the evening. Customers were often regular as members and are friendly to chat to whilst on reception
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workforce, No Growth
Membership Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  south wales25 June 2017
If you require a job in which you go to work, get paid and then go home, this is for you.
When interviewing for a position I was told there was room for growth and advancement within the company, unfortunately this isn't the case.
You'll work for min wage and pretty much need to accept that it's all you'll get.
Pros
easy money
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay and management, nice workers and customers
Recreational Assistant (Lifeguard) (Former Employee) –  Nottingham15 June 2017
The pay is awful, and the specific place that I worked infringed many rights such as being left on poolside 6 hours without a break multiple times, staff room was poorly facilitated, management was poor and lazy and discipline was taken too far.

The use of the free gym was nice, and meeting members of the disabled swimming club was interesting and there were many nice workers however the pay and management was not very good at all and enough to over ride the positives.
Pros
Free use of facilities, meeting people, sense of satisfaction, nice workers
Cons
Poor management, poor pay, infringes workers rights at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Leisure Assistant (Current Employee) –  Banbury, Oxfordshire28 December 2016
Fantastic company with a family feel. The management was always willing to help and co-workers always willing to learn. As a team we were effective and overall, the job is fantastic and provides many opportunities to learn.
Cons
poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and a good working environment.
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Thetford, Norfolk24 November 2016
Working as a lifeguard at Parkwood Leisure allowed me to interact closely with the public every day and handle high pressure situations regularly, therefore helped to build confidence and social skills. Being in the leisure industry the centre has good conditions of work with a lively atmosphere.Turnover of staff is high and this will occasionally effect organisation amongst the lifeguard team. Staff employed on a casual contract are always required and this means that management were able to be flexible with working hours for these staff which is a huge benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff23 September 2016
Good place to work, good first job to show what skills you have. Also a good place to learn what sort of responsibilities you have to learn and take on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Desborough, ENG2 November 2015
As a Recreational Assistant, the typical day consists of facing customers and processing their requests/payments for gym memberships or classes. The day also included setting up courts for badminton or other classes and cleaning at the end of the day.

The co-workers are generally very lovely people to work with, making it a very friendly environment. During busy periods it became hard to balance processing requests and setting up the hall at the same time, however with a great team, this was rarely ever a problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial and caring work place
Leisure Attendent (Current Employee) –  Thetford1 June 2015
The centre is an easy place to work at where everyone is friendly. Regular staff training sessions allows the team to bond as a hole and develop team work skills which are vital within the centre. The new staff that they have employed since being there and the new managers have resulted in the centre deteriorating however this maybe due to inexperience.
The management are easily approachable.
Shifts are available covering different number of hours making it easy to manage around other commitments however, the number of shifts available is limited.
Cons
difficult to get enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Degrading to workers, lack of confidence
Lifeguard/Swimming Teacher (Current Employee) –  Paignton, ENG5 May 2015
A workplace that doesn't care about there employees care is not somewhere id like tow work. The staff room is appalling and the pay is minimal especially considering the amount of work we have to do that has nothing to do with lifeguarding or swim teaching etc cleaning toilets.
Pros
Swappable shifts
Cons
Awful Working Conditions/ treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for parkwood!!!
apprentice (Former Employee) –  solihull9 April 2015
Management not good at all had to fund work to do. If I was to ask for something it would take ages just for a response.
No uniform for over 2months
My advise seek employment elsewhere unless you want to be walked all over!!
They look after there selves and local people anyone else no!!
Pros
nothing
Cons
parkwood leisure management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Casual Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  London23 February 2015
Good place to work, good people in charge. Opportunity for progression if you work hard enough. Decent salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Univerity Job
Recreation assistant (Former Employee) –  Exeter26 January 2015
Short term employment whilst on a year away at University. Recreation assistant working shift work patterns. Job role included cleaning, life guarding and first aid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Parkwood Leisure. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 37 reviews
56
45
313
24
19

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.2Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture