Paddy Power Plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would highly recommend avoiding
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  South London, Greater London7 March 2018
Paddy power do not care about their staff i regrettably worked for them for years.
The district managers emotionally bully staff they do not like to leave the company .
I was very slowly moving up the ladder from a manager to senior manager with promise of moving to head office which never happened.
Once a new district manager took over my district he for some reason took a dislike to me and within a month or two was demoted from senior manager to cashier.
There is no work life balance at all, when there are rota gaps they bully you into working or try to sweeten you up to work.
I hated working for this company and will never do again!
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to write
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire8 January 2018
Want you to work all hours god sends, no work balance as long as someone is behind that counter they dont care, no breaks, make a mistake they will disapline you hard. Massive devided between management and shop staff
Pros
Ok pay
Cons
Terrible company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Staff looked After
Customer Service Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne10 August 2017
Although the betting industry is a terrible place to work, Paddy Power is by far the best one. They look after their staff, listen to what they say and take their safety seriously.
They encourage you to advance in your career and have the tools to help you along. The only thing that needs to change in this and every other bookmakers is the late nights and single manning. The staff are not casino workers and don't need to be in the shops until 10 O'clock, especially on their own.
Pros
Good Salary; Approachable bosses; flexible hours
Cons
Single Manning at Night; Long Days; Horrible Customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  London25 July 2017
the day drags out even when its busy, very long hours at times however i found the pay quite reasonable. the management isn't very helpful at times and often your left on your own.
Pros
good pay
Cons
hours drags out
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible for if u want to be in a strong team based industry
Senoir cashier (Former Employee) –  London6 January 2017
Horrible for if u want to be in a strong team based industry. STAY AWAY FROM HERE UNLESS U ARE WILLING TO STAND ON YOUR OWN AND FIGHT YOUR CASES. I was at paddypower for only 5 months and I switched back to my former bookmaker employer they pay less but treat you better.
I trained with 20 other new employees and they have already left and returned to there previous employment down to the same thing
Pros
Best paying book makers
Cons
Everyone looks out for themselves and the company will try to under cut you whever they can and more
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Shoreditch9 October 2016
A normal day would be to get the trading day ready, complete morning reports and making sure that the float was correct. serving each and every customer making sure all needs were dealt with. Loading and unloading deliveries and putting them away into stock. Deliveries was probably the hard bit but you will get used to it when you have a team it all gets done fast. as we work in a team of 5/6 it is enjoyable as we will have fun but also making sure all work is getting completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paddy power
Shift Running Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Neots9 June 2016
typical day at work would be sitting behind the till watching the day go by, not many people would come in in the evening so it was a constant bore,i learned that my co workers were also back stabbers and quite lazy and only liked working during the day.
constantly trying to sell there products that never worked, if you have a life or even a social life this job is not for you
Pros
watch sport
Cons
co workers hours late nights poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even think about it, unless you're a student just turning up for the pay-packet
Senior Cashier (Former Employee) –  East London3 April 2016
Nightmare job,but must admit it was a lot to do with the area - full of bums and beggars with nothing else to do ALL day but hang around waiting for a hand-out from the mugs who played the roulette machines, who they would be all 'pally' with,and then cajole,or in many instances,intimidate them for money if they collected. Despite what their propaganda says, their only purpose is to squeeze every penny they can from anyone. Encourage staff to keep punters playing machines at all costs. No respect for staff,or the law - can't call police if machines are being smashed up, although onone occasion when we did call them, the police said they should be called every time as it is criminal damage. They are a horrible company with a horrible attitude.
Pros
None
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Progression
Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Borough High street23 March 2016
Paddy Power recognise good people and those who want to progress, lots of my colleagues have been promoted within the company. The hours are flexible especially for managers for a good work life balance.

There is always some challenges when working in a public environment but there are always great characters that you will see every day.

It is always fast paced so it is not ideal if you want a quiet life, but the good side is you never know how your day will turn out.

The only down side is the shops open so early so I prefer the late shifts.
Pros
Flexibilty in hours
Cons
early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, flexible and decent benefits!
Manager (Current Employee) –  London23 March 2016
This is a great place to work if you want to climb the ladder, you are in to your sports and you love having a bit of banter with customers.

Managers are always good to you if you work hard for them, and the atmosphere is quite informal.

Can be some long hours but works well for most, and days go quickly with so much customer interaction. So much more enjoyable to work at than most retailers and loads of freedom and flexibility to be yourself
Pros
Fun atmosphere, generally great customers and customer interaction, sport on tv, good pay!
Cons
Can have long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, unfair shift patterns, late nights and long shifts
Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Midlands10 November 2015
-The training is none existent.
-They allow single manning.
-Unfair shift patterns. The higher up you were, the better you could give yourself.
-Long and late hours, my average shift was 12hrs no chance for breaks and finishing at 10.25pm five nights a week. Usually both weekend days.
-There was no organisation to anything.
-Petty squabbles between shop managers=Unprofessionalism.
-Delays in communication.
-Favouritism, unbelievable what some people got away with.

I will admit this is just the area I was in. I can't comment on other regions.
Pros
You can get good shift patterns if you have got the right manager.
Cons
Long hours, poor management, unsafe environment, late nights, no weekends off, unfair shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed working environment but poor communication from management.
Cashier serving the general public, money handling (Former Employee) –  Inverness15 October 2015
If opening the shop I would collect the papers from the local newsagent and open the shop, first loading the tills and switching on all machines then open the safe to count all the money. Organise and display the papers for racing and then do a couple of admin checks for the previous days takings and any 'open' or potential bet returns. The general day would consist of serving the customers, offering prices and a drink. Be polite, friendly, use their first name if known and get general chat. Deal with any problems/queries, whether it be customer concerns or in-shop difficulties. If closing the shop I would empty all machines and count all the day's takings and put away in safe.

Using all the numeracy skills and customer service skills I have learned over ten years helped me enormously in this particular position.

The management lacked leadership and right through the whole company there seemed to be a distinct lack of communication. New promotions, shop deliveries, shop queries, shop orders, etc were almost never discussed. The management would prefer to do things himself and not delegate or even inform the staff about any tasks or work that needs done.

A friendly company with generally easy going people at the heart of it.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with the manager's lack of communication, often you would hear things from other members of staff that should have really been discussed in a personal one to one basis.

The most enjoyable part of the job was getting the craic with the general public, whether it be a known customer or not I enjoyed
  more... dealing with people on a daily basis and discussing the previous night's sport or looking forward to a future event.  less
Pros
Live sport on screen in shop
Cons
Late nights on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Swindon and Gloucester16 July 2015
Paddy Power plc, was a fantastic learning enviroment in terms of contact with customers and actively learning to facilitate everyones needs whilst maintaining company policy and operating within betting law.
Pros
Ease of work.
Cons
Lack of variety
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much politcs
Online marketing executive (Current Employee) –  Clonskeagh23 April 2015
Too much politics, no clear career path, and they like a lot yes man, so good to do experience for a while than leave, very routine job,
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager, Paddy Power Plc., 1-3 Stirling St Airdrie ML6 0AH
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, SCT26 January 2015
responsible for planning, organising, co-ordinating and directing the activities of the betting shop. I am responsible for providing excellent levels of customer service, and for ensuring the profitability of the shop as a business.I also take a strong role in initiating plans for the continuing development of the business. I also assist in the training an development of other staff members
Pros
Great staff and customers, Room for Progression
Cons
Unsociable working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  London6 November 2014
If opening would start by preparing the shop for business. Once open day would be spent by taking bets, dealing with customers some who could be difficult or unpleasant, banking and closing the shop at the end of the day before balancing the books. With some shops opening as early as 7.30 and all shops closing at 22.00 this often meant a very long day. The company has no problem overlooking the law of an 11 break between shifts. Some of the day you are on your own and in some shops that includes the evening when staff are at their most vulnerable.

Incidents involving anti social behaviour and criminal behaviour are common but the company are reluctant to involve the police for fear of losing their license rather than protecting their staff. Shop staff are generally treated with contempt by Head Office.

The company are constantly trying to brainwash staff that they are a better company to work for than their competitors (William Hill, Ladbrokes etc) and although I cannot vouch for this many of my colleagues with experience of other retail betting companies confirmed that Paddy Power were as bad if not worse. If there are worse companies to work for then god help those people!
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, lack of breaks, unsafe enviroment, lack of support from Head Office
Was this review helpful?Yes 89No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Retail Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  London8 August 2014
Bookmakers industry can be a challenging place to work for Shop massagers as there is a constant pressure to stay above and ahead of competitors around. As meeting the financial targets is main aspect of the job, Social responsibility and gambling commission & regulations are of the same importance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Senior Cashier (Current Employee) –  East Ham11 October 2012
Best company to work for students.
management and co workers are very helpful and friendly.
Pros
flexible working hours
Cons
store closing time 10:25 very long shift if person is working full day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 24Report

See more Paddy Power Plc reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paddy Power Plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 29 reviews
58
47
35
22
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Paddy Power Plc Reviews by Location