OXFORD BROOKES UNIVERSITY Employee Reviews

Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 72 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facilities, care for the students' wellbeing
Vice President of Drama Society (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire30 September 2018
Oxford Brookes gives ample opportunities and learning experiences that shape your knowledge and help you grow. The professors are always eager to help, and the amount of societies available make university experience very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with opportunities for development
Head of Administration (Former Employee) –  Headington, Oxfordshire20 September 2018
The diversity at Oxford Brookes University provides great opportunities for those who want to gain skills and experience in various areas. The people you work with are fantastic and willing to help others and the organisation. There is a great 'can do' ethos.
Pros
Generous annual leave; development opportunities
Cons
Restricted parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire21 August 2018
I was a member of staff organizing and providing support to new students, to ensure firstly, that they were settling into university and gaining the relevant information for their course. I also attended open days and shared my university experience to encourage prospective students to attend the university.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire23 July 2018
Had a great time working here. Variety of different roles to get stuck in to. Developed a lot of skills, whilst studing at the same time. Would reccomend to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire25 June 2018
I was a lab technician and it was great to work, I shadowed full-time lab technicians and lecturers and it was very rewarding and educational. Recommended place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An appropriate way to earn money during studies
Student Ambassador (Music) (Former Employee) –  Oxford14 June 2018
A typical day as a student ambassador involves communicating with prospective pupils, representing the department and discussing important matters with current pupils. The job is generally very satisfying and well paid.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Not often much to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive, productive and helpful
Student Representative (Former Employee) –  Headington, Oxfordshire26 May 2018
Amazing administrative staff, very helpful and skilled lectures, inclusive and accepting environment . Well tailored Master's programs. Very open to suggestions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cliquey, ageist and full of people who look down on you
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire21 May 2018
This is pointless as they will never change. They are the not interested in the people who work there unless you are part of their existing social network. If not goodbye.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Peer Assisted Learning Leader (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire17 May 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work whilst studying thereby becoming a better time manager. Also, great opportunity to develop interpersonal skills whilst working as a peer-assisted learning leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Temporary Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Oxford15 March 2018
Varied depended on what needs doing that day
how they managed there grounds
management were ok
work place culture varied, depending on who you worked with and were
when the weather is bad
meeting new people
Pros
free parking
Cons
busy and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Oxford15 March 2018
Many years spent here, in a variety of roles, an excellent employer who has forged the shape of my career, would recommend to any one! Only challenge is parking!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming work environment
Finance Intern (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Oxford2 February 2018
Previously being a student at Oxford Brookes, it is very different seeing everything "behind the stage".
From the day one of my internship, everyone was extremely helpful, accommodating and welcoming.
Overall, I really enjoy working at Oxford Brookes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
Student (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire4 January 2018
I completed my foundation degree at the Brookes University. It gave me skills, for example writing and reading and an ability to analyse and critically evolute information which I have used extensively in most of my other job roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire31 December 2017
Oxford Brookes university is a productive and fun environment to work in. The people that I work with are all really nice and make everyone feel included. The events I work at are well organised and most of the time run efficiently.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours when we may have coursework or exams due
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire30 September 2017
I learned hot to work in a team, workplace full of different cultures and agreable management. there was no such thing as a hardest part of the job in this place, its was a fantastic workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire9 September 2017
the workplace was okay, the management was poor and the safety of employees was very poor. However I did gain team working expe4eince and helped me became a more hardworking person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsure why I have to review
Student (Former Employee) –  Oxford24 August 2017
Unfortunately this has appeared as a job, however I studied at Oxford Brookes Univeristy.

Great support offered by tutors on my course and new(ish) library very efficient and had loads of resources.
Pros
Great library
Cons
expensive food in canteens
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunités de développement
Senior Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Oxford3 August 2017
Chaque année, des formations internes sont proposées pour permettre aux employés de développer ou maintenir a niveau certaines compétences. Il est aussi possible de postuler pour des postes internes à durée limitée afin de renforcer ou d'améliorer nos profils professionnels et cela est vraiment bénéfique.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job whilst studying at university.
Shop supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire18 July 2017
Management were flexible with my timetable, I felt comfortable speaking with my manager about any issues and was offered many opportunities to raise any issues.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job place
Psychology Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire4 July 2017
The hours were flexible, as I was allowed to leave early if I had asked about it! Free lunch and tea during the day. Great job if you are a student at the university.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
could have been a higher salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OXFORD BROOKES UNIVERSITY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 72 reviews
533
427
39
22
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

OXFORD BROOKES UNIVERSITY Reviews by Location