Orridge Employee Reviews

Found 214 reviews matching the search See all 246 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay level
Counter/Driver (Current Employee) –  Aldridge12 December 2019
They don’t pay the minimum wage and the work is stressful at short notice they don’t allocate local jobs to local people they give you far away jobs and they don’t pay you for travel time spent getting there they expect you to travel back in the early hours of the morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting job if you like odd hours of work/travel
Stocktaker (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 December 2019
I've been working on and off for Orridge for a year, a zero hour contract it certainly is, you can be the most reliable, fastest and accurate counter but it does not guarantee you any more work than someone that arrives late and is slow at counting. The planning of people on jobs doesn't make sense, there could be a job in your home town which you don't know about and your sent on a job miles and miles away. The hours are unsociable but sometimes its a help, a lot of people on jobs in London finishing late have to take night buses (like 2 hrs) just to get home but your not paid for that of course. I've not heard of anyone hitting the higher rates of pay for faster counting.
What I like about the jobs are that its varied everyday even if it does drive you mad in some shops and stockrooms. You get to meet a great variety of people and most supervisors are pretty decent.
The only thing you really learn is how bad some shops are being managed and kept clean!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working
Warehouse Picker (Former Employee) –  London27 November 2019
It was fine. Easy job, flexible working hours / days.
Worked in different locations, transport provided for further locations. Expected to wear all black and you can wear trainers. Some long shifts but you are able to opt out of these
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long unsociable hours
Stocktake supervisor (Former Employee) –  Uk26 November 2019
The hours are stupid and you are expected to travel anywhere between Cornwall and Wales for nothing extra for the travel unless you're a driver and that opens up a whole load more problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitative
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Leeds24 November 2019
As and when work which can become overwhelmingly stressful. Very pernickety and mean with money and expectation. Better to stay on benefits. Get something permanent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
increase work rate! !
Counter (Former Employee) –  North West23 November 2019
Don't do it v clique environment -encouraged to take faster wrong counts to increase work rate.Unprofessional! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock controller
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire13 November 2019
I would not recommend working for this company its totally not worth anyone time or enegry only ever work for this compny if you wont no sole left...
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employers offering local pick up drop off points for work or fuel allowance if using own transport
Stock counter (Former Employee) –  Area19 November 2019
I am unable to calculate the salary as the position is a zero hours contract therefore the salary depends on your availability. But you may also be entitled with help through universal credit which will ensure you have more money for working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Stocktaker (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, UK4 November 2019
It was quite an experience. It required a lot of lifting, bending and squatting, so it wasn’t was I was expecting but it was quite interesting cause it was always a different location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire23 October 2019
The most unprofessional, disgusting unhumane workplace you could ever be in. The supervisor stands there as if you’re some sort of slave and has the audacity to tell you to keep going from one aisle to the next, whilst he stands there simply perving on everyone. And don’t get me started on the rude, vile staff members. There’s 2 manly sisters from the huddersfield team, who think they run the comany. Be careful of them.If you’ve got no self respect, self dignity for yourself then this job’s for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty terrible job
Stocktaker (Former Employee) –  Various21 October 2019
The hours are terrible, especially as there are no set working hours (e.g. 09:00 - 18:00). This means sometimes you have to get up ridiculously early, or start sometime in the afternoon. Once you're booked onto a job, you usually meetup with some people (as car-pooling is the norm) to go to where the store is. The company almost never sends you to a local store to stock-take, in fact, one of my co-workers said that one time he went from Great Yarmouth to King's Lynn (I think), and people from King's Lynn went to Great Yarmouth. I don't know who's in charge of scheduling, but it seems pretty evident that they are useless at their job. Further evidence for this is the amount of times people have been called asking if they are available to work on a certain day, even after specifically marking that day as a day off on their calendar! You might reasonably say that making that mistake is not so terrible, and I WOULD agree, if it weren't for the fact that, upon being informed that you cannot work today (because of other commitments, or being out of the country, or whatever), the person calling you then becomes quite rude, suggesting to you that you should ALWAYS be available to work!

The work itself is pretty easy, albeit boring and repetitive. There are also instances where you will have to deal with an overzealous store manager, who INSISTS on you single-scanning items (a process which makes the job take MUCH longer than it should).

In summary, if you're desperate for a job, I guess you could do worse, but if you have a bit of patience, I'm about 99% sure you'll find that
  more... something better will come along.  less
Pros
Co-workers are typically nice
Cons
Terrible management, long hours (to get to where the jobs are)
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trapping ain’t Dead
Scanner Operator (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 October 2019
When you feel like your life is coming to an end and you have no hope left you will find a light in the darkness, but then you apply for Orridge and the light vanishes and you might as well become a trapper. So in conclusion, trapping ain’t dead. Orridge is for you if you enjoy being a slave.
Pros
Travelling
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised hard work
STOCKTAKE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Scotland16 October 2019
Everything seemed last minute.com , at the end of the day its hard work but if you get a good group of staff can be a fun job. They could do with having a bit more compassion for their casual workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of work
Stock counter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 October 2019
Long hours, suitable for casual work. Very easy to grasp using a hand2device so you dont have to count as the machine does everything . Have to have good attention to detail
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Stocktaker (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire3 October 2019
Very unprofessional management, stand there gossipping, I mean sit. Last minute work . Very poor pay for waking up at 2am odd days. They will put a lot of workload on you if 1 worker is actually ill.
Pros
Possibly see different town centres
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can I say
Counter (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon2 October 2019
I am currently employed by Orridge as a counter. The up side to the job is that it is a job and the work I do suits me.
The down side is, well where shall I start. It is a zero hours contract, so work is NOT guarenteed. There is either no or very little training. The hours can be very unsociable. The company has an 11 hour rule for time off between jobs, however travelling to and from jobs is not included. For example, you can travel 3.5 hours to a job, then work for 6 hours before you get a 20 min break, then say another 3 hours to finish the job after which you have 3.5 hours back home. You get home at say 3.30am. Your next job is very similar, so another 3 hours to site. There fore the 3.5 hours back from previous site and the 3 hours to the next site is 6.5 hours. This is included in the 11 hour rule, so you are left with 5 hours at home from 3.30am to get some r and r, have a hot meal, and get ready for the next shift. Not ideal.
You may have to do similar travelling for a job that only runs for 5 to 6 hiurs, so you could end up spending more time travelling than you get paid for the work you do.
When i started at Orridge i tried working 4 shifts on mon, tues, wed,and thurs. When i got home on Friday (about 2am) i was physically and mentally exhausted. Now i only do 2 days a week and it suits me fine. If i want to do extra work i can ask for some, and if i dont want to do a job they offer me i don't have to.
After saying all that, the job works for some people but not for others.
I just go in, do the counting and go home. I dont rush the job. They can have the counting
  more... done or they can have it properly.
I hope this helps.
  less
Pros
Some team mates are very helpful.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Stocktaker (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea16 September 2019
If you can't drive you'll be lucky to get more than 1 shift per week. If you're slow or having trouble working you'll be made to feel underappreciated. And if you've got anxiety good luck
Cons
Long hours. Short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised
Counter (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire13 September 2019
Barely any supervisors know how to do their job, get sent from one to the other not knowing what to do. They'll discipline you for a 2 second sentence but stand there talking for half hour straight with about 3 other counters.
You don't get paid travel, well you do but you have to fill your mileage but then they don't explain when you can claim it is it 4 hours travel? 5 hours? Apparently not time and based on mileage? They half arsedly tell you about the job and the rest ends up contradicting what you're told in the first place
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer-steer well clear
Stocktaker (Former Employee) –  North West8 September 2019
I worked two spells for this shower. They show no commitment to employees. They will seek to take advantage at every turn . Pay was not very rewarding. I’ ve seen better management in a zoo, it seems nothing has changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counter
Counter (Former Employee) –  Midland26 August 2019
No life out of work. Unpaid travel getting up at sometimes has early has 2.30am and home at early hours in morning .
Some Drivers scheduled for work with very little sleep. Dirty working conditions
In stockrooms dust all over.
Some Supervisors are nice others look at you has " your only a counter" look down on you. although they started off has counters. Your not guaranteed work 00
Pros
Easy scanning
Cons
Unpaid travel.. little sleep
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orridge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 246 reviews
530
444
353
241
178

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture