Orchard Care Homes Employee Reviews

Found 119 reviews matching the search See all 121 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside14 July 2019
Worst company u can work for not supported by manager and they dont know the meaning of whistle blowing as nothink confidential be very careful if u want to work for these they have people working that r drag lifting and food not fit for dogs never my residents.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun at all
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newport3 July 2019
Shortage off staff bad management t ...desparently looking for another job just bothered about the home looks ... residents not allowed too eat in certain areas total joke ... shortage off pads for residents ...gloves for personal hygiene ,.no breaks for careers through the day due too short staffing levels ...
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
HCA/Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Grimsby17 June 2019
never work before in so horrible place. Managment horrible. Girls amazing cant wish for better team. Shifts was changed all the time no routine cant plan anything. Never enought staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay well clear
Activities Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Bilston, West Midlands13 May 2019
i worked for this company as a activities co ordinator terrible managment was bullied lied to and even picked on by management no funding for activities never had the budget you wer intitled to the place is a terrible home stay well clear
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful!
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Midlands13 May 2019
worst company I have ever worked for! none existent support from management or head office. lots of things brushed under the carpet when staff have reported problems. staff not paid bonuses promised, rotas changed with no warnings or notice. constantly running out of ppe equiptment and continence aids. The care staff are lovely, hard working and go the extra mile.
Pros
brilliant care staff
Cons
not paid bonuses promised, no support, none flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Care staff (Former Employee) –  Billingham7 May 2019
In this Billingham home the manager is ignorant and the deputy blinded by the hopes of self promotion the care appalling and the home a disgrace from the top of the ladder to the so called domestics
Concerns are not looked I to
Please stay away
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington2 May 2019
staff are friendly, management are ok , residents lovely and their familys ,you work one on and one off weekends , shift patteren, hardest part of job is losing people moet enjoyable is meeting new people
Pros
meet lovley people
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rawtenstall26 April 2019
I enjoyed working at orchard because of the residents that lived there. I looked after residents with different types of dementia I cleaned at night, and I fed residents who needed assistance.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Westgate on Sea26 April 2019
Didn't really care about staffrnysl health had to fight to get up to date training
More about the money than care of residents
Left within 3 months after take over gt select health
Closed the home within a year
Pros
Nonr
Cons
No staff care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, underappreciated
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire23 April 2019
The company was great to work for at the beginning but has now become more about making money then the actual quality of care. Staff are overworked and stressed with little action by management just told well that's care. Staff are just employed to fill the position and not necessarily because of what they can bring to the home. Causing added stress on current employees and lack of care for the residents. The shift patterns are outdated resulting in high level of sick calls as staff only get 2 full weekends off in 6 weeks. Stay well clear if you value your mental health.
Pros
None currently
Cons
Poor shift patterns, poor pay gap for senior level staff. Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a nice work place
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Warrington Cheshire14 January 2019
I have work at the care home a long time detailing with residents and family members and staff I can work on my own or as a team member I am looking to change my job to be near home. I am willing to train for any position
Pros
To be closer to home
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire6 January 2019
Manager at place i worked screamed at staff to get attention... no people skills!!!!
Staff team are great people and deserve more recognition for what they do.
Pros
Staff team
Cons
Rubbish management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place for nurses. Very easily loose your pin
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Shirebrook, Derbyshire27 November 2018
Staff very despondent. Home work balance. Well no home all work made u feel guilty if you said no. Bad management. Too may things they hide. Nursed are unsafe they are put in compromising situations by compliance manager and could easily loose there pin.
Cares have no support from managers .
Pros
None I can think of
Cons
Putting nurses in danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
6 December 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to raise your concerns about a specific element of the home. We have a structured and supportive HR process in place, with dedicated individuals for each area of the business. We also recognise that the nature of the work is often pressurised, with long and demanding hours. Each resident in the home is assessed according to the level of care they need and staff rostas in each home are calculated accordingly. Of course there are times when this formula breaks down and pressures are greater. If you’d like to provide further feedback or ways that we could help implement better work/life balance please email us at talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear22 November 2018
Absolutely horrendous atmosphere to work in. Rubbish care for the residents. No motivation of the skeleton staff on duty. Terrible cliques. One cook...Awful bully..ruined my time there. She was to be obeyed! Horrible not being able to give the care needed.
Avoid Ashlea Court
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fleetwood lancashire home.
carer (Current Employee) –  Fleetwood, Lancashire21 November 2018
hello i currently work at fleetwood hall, and i really enjoy my job. the staff team is small but once built up it will be amazing. the staff we currently have are lovely people. And are all looking after the residents in a professional manner. like all work places there can be minor issues but nothing that the staff and management are not aware of or already which are being worked towards to be improved.. highly recommend working here. lovely staff !!
Pros
do four extra shifts and get one extra paid.
Cons
none, help the staff get on with your work and it can be highly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

We’re always looking at how we can best support our people, so it’s great to read reviews like this. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, thank you.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive company
Home Manager (Current Employee) –  Sutton-in-Craven, North Yorkshire9 November 2018
I have been working for Orchard Care Homes for 15 months. I find the company to be supportive and forward thinking.
The company is focusing on quality care and developing the workforce.

Having worked for other large care companies, Orchard compare very favourably.
Pros
Supportive. Forward thinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work... laughter daily with professionalism
Carer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grimsby, Lincolnshire27 October 2018
Great place to work...great atmoshere.. teamwork by carers..management professional, approachable and fun.
Its great to see the residents have social interaction and choice go out every Wednesday on the bus.
Lovely work environment the manager has achieved a homely look rather than a workplace look. The home never smells bad and is kept clean and tidy.
Meals for residents are all home cooked nutitious and filling.
Residents have choice and the gardens are kept well.
5 GOODS with CQC
Pros
Perk box... incentive schemes when you pick up overtime.alternate weekends off guaranteed.
Cons
Can be busy at times but teamwork and fun lightens the load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

We're delighted to hear that you enjoy being part of our company and we thank you for your continued hard work and support. If there is any feedback you can give us on how we can support you better, please do email talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad hr
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear24 October 2018
this company is in dire need of organisation, can,t reply to job apps and they wonder why they can,t get the staff. No one seems to know what is going on and planning not heard of
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous management team
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houghton le Spring, Tyne and Wear9 October 2018
I was in position for 2yrs has no training at all I had to self teach, had no induction no competency assessments, which meant remained on lowest rate of pay, no audit were every carried out by head office and they use you as a scapegoat threw lack of there incompetence and total lack of support, management team are unapproachable and there is a lot of financial responsibility put on to the admin with poor processes in place that they put in place and use against you
Pros
The other staff within home are amazeing
Cons
Wage management and lack training and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback regarding salary is important to us as we are committed to being a quality care provider and an employer of choice. We are continually looking at building on the training and development opportunities for all staff and believe our rates of pay are in line with industry rates and with competitive benefits. We want to reward colleagues for the work they do. All colleagues earn above the minimum wage, with additional rewards for those with relevant qualifications, as a recognition of the investment they have made in their skills. If you would like to speak to us further on how we can improve as an employer, please email info@orchardcarehomes.com.

Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for raising your concerns and experiences in relation to training. As an organisation, training is of importance to us, and we do have a dedicated training team in the Support Centre and out and about in the field, who aim to engage staff with their professional training, in addition to encouraging additional professional development.

Your feedback regarding salary is important to us as we are committed to being a quality care provider and an employer of choice. We are continually looking at building on the training and development opportunities for all staff and believe our rates of pay are in line with industry rates and with competitive benefits.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice about working for this company
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tyne and Wear15 September 2018
Worked for this company for a while wish I had never set eyes on the place it's not about the CARE just money with this company staff up managers behind if your face fits your ok bulling goes on.
Wages never right and if you leave they stitch you by taking what you worked off so your left with nothing any one thinking about working for this company RUN
Pros
None
Cons
Not about the CARE ALL FOR MONEY
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 7Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We want to reward colleagues for the demanding work they do and can assure you that all staff earn above the minimum wage, and Living Wage in all relevant roles. We are working hard to progress our rewards and recognition scheme, which ranges fro staff benefits to an Awards scheme. We also have a dedicated development and training team. If you have any specific thoughts on salaries and rates of pay, please feel free to contact us on talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orchard Care Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 121 reviews
517
413
319
219
153

Ratings by category

2.2Work/Life Balance
2.2Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.5Culture