Orchard Care Homes Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search See all 106 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place for nurses. Very easily loose your pin
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Shirebrook, Derbyshire27 November 2018
Staff very despondent. Home work balance. Well no home all work made u feel guilty if you said no. Bad management. Too may things they hide. Nursed are unsafe they are put in compromising situations by compliance manager and could easily loose there pin.
Cares have no support from managers .
Pros
None I can think of
Cons
Putting nurses in danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
6 December 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to raise your concerns about a specific element of the home. We have a structured and supportive HR process in place, with dedicated individuals for each area of the business. We also recognise that the nature of the work is often pressurised, with long and demanding hours. Each resident in the home is assessed according to the level of care they need and staff rostas in each home are calculated accordingly. Of course there are times when this formula breaks down and pressures are greater. If you’d like to provide further feedback or ways that we could help implement better work/life balance please email us at talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear22 November 2018
Absolutely horrendous atmosphere to work in. Rubbish care for the residents. No motivation of the skeleton staff on duty. Terrible cliques. One cook...Awful bully..ruined my time there. She was to be obeyed! Horrible not being able to give the care needed.
Avoid Ashlea Court
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fleetwood lancashire home.
carer (Current Employee) –  Fleetwood, Lancashire21 November 2018
hello i currently work at fleetwood hall, and i really enjoy my job. the staff team is small but once built up it will be amazing. the staff we currently have are lovely people. And are all looking after the residents in a professional manner. like all work places there can be minor issues but nothing that the staff and management are not aware of or already which are being worked towards to be improved.. highly recommend working here. lovely staff !!
Pros
do four extra shifts and get one extra paid.
Cons
none, help the staff get on with your work and it can be highly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

We’re always looking at how we can best support our people, so it’s great to read reviews like this. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, thank you.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive company
Home Manager (Current Employee) –  Sutton-in-Craven, North Yorkshire9 November 2018
I have been working for Orchard Care Homes for 15 months. I find the company to be supportive and forward thinking.
The company is focusing on quality care and developing the workforce.

Having worked for other large care companies, Orchard compare very favourably.
Pros
Supportive. Forward thinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
27 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work... laughter daily with professionalism
Carer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grimsby, Lincolnshire27 October 2018
Great place to work...great atmoshere.. teamwork by carers..management professional, approachable and fun.
Its great to see the residents have social interaction and choice go out every Wednesday on the bus.
Lovely work environment the manager has achieved a homely look rather than a workplace look. The home never smells bad and is kept clean and tidy.
Meals for residents are all home cooked nutitious and filling.
Residents have choice and the gardens are kept well.
5 GOODS with CQC
Pros
Perk box... incentive schemes when you pick up overtime.alternate weekends off guaranteed.
Cons
Can be busy at times but teamwork and fun lightens the load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

We're delighted to hear that you enjoy being part of our company and we thank you for your continued hard work and support. If there is any feedback you can give us on how we can support you better, please do email talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad hr
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear24 October 2018
this company is in dire need of organisation, can,t reply to job apps and they wonder why they can,t get the staff. No one seems to know what is going on and planning not heard of
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous management team
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houghton le Spring, Tyne and Wear9 October 2018
I was in position for 2yrs has no training at all I had to self teach, had no induction no competency assessments, which meant remained on lowest rate of pay, no audit were every carried out by head office and they use you as a scapegoat threw lack of there incompetence and total lack of support, management team are unapproachable and there is a lot of financial responsibility put on to the admin with poor processes in place that they put in place and use against you
Pros
The other staff within home are amazeing
Cons
Wage management and lack training and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
8 November 2018

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback regarding salary is important to us as we are committed to being a quality care provider and an employer of choice. We are continually looking at building on the training and development opportunities for all staff and believe our rates of pay are in line with industry rates and with competitive benefits. We want to reward colleagues for the work they do. All colleagues earn above the minimum wage, with additional rewards for those with relevant qualifications, as a recognition of the investment they have made in their skills. If you would like to speak to us further on how we can improve as an employer, please email info@orchardcarehomes.com.

Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for raising your concerns and experiences in relation to training. As an organisation, training is of importance to us, and we do have a dedicated training team in the Support Centre and out and about in the field, who aim to engage staff with their professional training, in addition to encouraging additional professional development.

Your feedback regarding salary is important to us as we are committed to being a quality care provider and an employer of choice. We are continually looking at building on the training and development opportunities for all staff and believe our rates of pay are in line with industry rates and with competitive benefits.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice about working for this company
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tyne and Wear15 September 2018
Worked for this company for a while wish I had never set eyes on the place it's not about the CARE just money with this company staff up managers behind if your face fits your ok bulling goes on.
Wages never right and if you leave they stitch you by taking what you worked off so your left with nothing any one thinking about working for this company RUN
Pros
None
Cons
Not about the CARE ALL FOR MONEY
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 5Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We want to reward colleagues for the demanding work they do and can assure you that all staff earn above the minimum wage, and Living Wage in all relevant roles. We are working hard to progress our rewards and recognition scheme, which ranges fro staff benefits to an Awards scheme. We also have a dedicated development and training team. If you have any specific thoughts on salaries and rates of pay, please feel free to contact us on talktotom@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancashire15 September 2018
Management appalling. Unbelievable workload. Pay always incorrect. Didn't get proper induction I left after 3 months after hardly any infuction. No support from management. Too many things wrong. Nothing right. Worst place I have ever worked. In 40 years!!
Pros
Lovely residents
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thanks for leaving feedback about your experience working for the company. We're sorry that you felt this way, if you would like to leave any more feedback please email info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awfull Work Place
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside6 September 2018
Not only an awfull work place but a awfull care home. They treat both there staff and residents like something that has been walked in from your shoes. Management have no respect for employees and most employees are unhappy at work. Orchard now have under the required staffing levels so require 10 times more work from an individual whilst management sit around doing nothing. Dont make the mistake lots of others have! Stay away! This care home will be closed down shortly anyway!
Pros
Helping the residents
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Your feedback is important, and we’re sorry to hear your concerns about paperwork and staffing levels. The care industry works with vulnerable people and strong record keeping and processes is a very important part of this. We would welcome your thoughts and comments on how these processes might be improved. If you would like to make any suggestions, please contact us via info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love threatening behaviour and bullies for managers then this is the company for you!
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Derbyshire29 August 2018
Absolutely disgusting company full of bullies. No one takes you seriously or listens. Training is non existent. No development or support and you'll never get signed off on proper money! Avoid avoid avoid...staff turnover says it all
Pros
Residents and lovely care workers
Cons
Bullies
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for raising your concerns. We have a clear Whistleblowing policy and HR Business partners in each area of the company to provide additional support to homes and their staff.As an organisation, training is of importance to us, and we do have a dedicated training team in the Support Centre and out and about in the field, who aim to engage staff with their professional training, in addition to encouraging additional professional development.

If you would like to share your experience in further detail confidentially, then please info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting company
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear24 August 2018
I was sacked after I left work after my shift had ended as I had to get home for my 3 small children.i was basically told the residents come first not my kids
Pros
Residents
Cons
The company has not got a caring bone in it
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have a structured and supportive HR process in place, with dedicated individuals for each area of the business. We also have a legal responsibility to follow a clear and fair dismissal process. We would encourage you to get in contact regarding your specific case further and email info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying management at The Orchard
Support worker (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside23 August 2018
I worked here for a year and had a horrible time. The staff try extremely hard to compensate for the lack of staff and horrible management but there is little that can be done. The manager speaks to the staff and residents in an extremely disrespectful way and goes out of her way to embarrass and belittle the carers. I can honestly say that this place had a hugely negative impact on many people’s mental health, including my own. I would NEVER advise someone to work here.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Management, staff-shortages
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Official response from Orchard Care Homes
24 October 2018

Thank you for raising your concerns. We have a clear Whistle-blowing policy and HR Business partners in each area of the company to provide additional support to homes and their staff. If you would like to share your experience in further detail confidentially, then please email info@orchardcarehomes.com

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
SCA (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear11 August 2018
Management don't care, big wigs don't care, wages short, staff short, residents left for prolonged periods, concerns raised and ignored, staff meetings-shambles!!
Pros
none
Cons
everything bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCA. Not a good company to work for
SCA (Former Employee) –  Thornton hall and lodge6 August 2018
Awful company to work for. Basically you just have to get on with your job with no back up or support from management. Most days doing four job roles!! Really bad company no respect at all from management.
Pros
None
Cons
Your just a number to them
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely company to work for and very fulfilling
PR Manager (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire3 August 2018
Working at Head Office I feel like my work is valued and I love working with the homes and their residents.
My boss is fantastic and very supportive. I made the decision to move as I wanted to make a difference in peoples lives and that ideology has not been let down by this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lovely home to work
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clipstone, Nottinghamshire30 July 2018
I worked as a bank carer at clipstone hall and lodge and loved my job had to leave for personal reasons, while I was at clipstone hall and lodge I found the staff very nice and the management very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too personal
Night Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birstall, West Yorkshire9 July 2018
The job was fun at first but eventually people that work there just get way too personal and let that take over their work load and never seem to get along at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company to work for
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleetwood24 June 2018
The shifts were good, 3 on 3 off. That’s probably the only good thing about working for orchard! I was messed about with wages every pay day & not paid the correct amount. I left & had to wait 3 months for my wage to be paid to me after going in countless times to sort it out. Management wasn’t the best, very in approachable. The care staff was lovely , a great bunch of girls to work with but I would say avoid at all costs. Orchard are a shocking company to work for!
Pros
Shift patterns
Cons
Underpaid and management isn’t the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Lyme Wood court (Former Employee) –  Haydock, Merseyside18 June 2018
I worked here for 2 months, loved the job and residents. Management bully's, lazy staff leaving residents in wet pads. Report problems and they make out your the bad one. Avoid at all costs, feel sorry for the people who live there
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orchard Care Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 106 reviews
516
411
316
217
146

Ratings by category

2.2Work/Life Balance
2.2Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.5Culture