One Stop Stores Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company management part of the team.
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swindon2 August 2018
I enjoyed my time working for one stop. I was a great team and very local to me. Team were great to work for and management were professional but friendly..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wootton31 July 2018
had a fun and enjoyable experience, it was a great learning curve working with customers and it helped form more developed skills in communication and social skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rubbish - dont do it to yourself
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands31 July 2018
if your lucky you can manage to have a 5 min break in 9 hours management are questionable in my experience. bully you to go in to cover if someones off ill and if you escape one stop with out having a mental breakdown then your one off the lucky ones
Pros
leaving, 10% discount and
Cons
long hours, bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice before applying
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Wellesbourne, Warwickshire30 July 2018
please think twice before applying to work for this company. I was employed for 23 years by this firm and when i first started i loved it but slowly over time they bring you down so that you feel worthless and they treat you as though you are the lowest of the low unless your face fits then you are golden. Certain people in this company have made the right connections for themselves and no matter what they do they are untouchable so you really dont have a leg to stand on. PLEASE think very carefully before applying
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
unfair treament being told your thick every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham26 July 2018
average pay but each day is different so the role is really enjoyable. work with nice people only downside for me was the amount of thefts but that simply cannot be stopped.
Pros
other staff
Cons
some customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job. Better mangment
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff24 July 2018
Better management at the store I used to work in. Manger unfare to her cor workers. Many left, new faces on regular basis. Not trained properly. Very unfare when need time off or have booked time off. If under better management at this store it would run better instead of stress and be nicer place to work in.
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome first job
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cranleigh20 July 2018
Was my first job from leaving school well looked after really flexible hours and amazing staff in store manager always helped out where he could to make sure staff was happy
Pros
In store discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst workplace to date.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Suffolk9 July 2018
When I left school, I never thought I'd be in such an immature and petty environment again. Then I started working at One Stop. I'll start with the few positives that there are. For the younger generation the pay is good, currently at £8.00 per hour and the job isn't particularly difficult, which is a good thing. Now onto the juicy part. The management , well, I've never been spoken to so poorly or made to feel like rubbish like I have by those in charge of the One Stop store I work in. They consistently sit out in the back office on their phone whilst directing orders at you. Your colleagues are either with you and make the shift a lot easier and more enjoyable or they are on side with the manager and do exactly as they say and make you feel singled out. Also I was told when I first got my job here that you'd work one weekend in and the next one off. I'm currently on my 13th weekend in a row and counting. Overall, I cannot wait to leave this job.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great staff
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne19 June 2018
great staff and great hours as they help if you have children and understand when they are ill.
work around you but will also give extra shifts if you want them and they have the hours.
everyone helps one another covering shifts if off work.
Pros
friendly staff, considerate, great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful
Paper Boy (Former Employee) –  Lowestoft, Suffolk14 June 2018
enjoyed my time there. found the manager very understanding of my abilities .....the people were friendly the tips were great. i had alot of ups and downs but the staff were great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Purton12 June 2018
Great company to work for would recommend this shore I worked on the tills most of the time but really enjoyed it as get to meet new people the team are always happy to help but would of loved more hours and more flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job in a friendly environment. Hardest part is delivering in bad weather conditions.
Week end paper delivery person (Current Employee) –  Leigh, Lancashire8 June 2018
As a paper delivery person you need to be at the store from 7am and load your trolley with newspapers on your round.
Good excercise and friendly clients. The downside can be the weather.
Pros
Easy earnings
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire3 June 2018
Absolutely loved my time working for this company,worked round my childcare, was alway happt to help you no matter what you needed, staff and management were brilliant to work alongside of
Pros
Great company to work for
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
General assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk2 June 2018
Its a good first part time job to have , whilst in college. The tills were easy to use and there was always plenty of stock rotating to keep you busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire30 May 2018
Great place to work. Is a very demanding job with no day ever the same. There are great opportunities to progress within the business and lots of training courses you can attend to help you get to where you want to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company to work for
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hawkenbury30 May 2018
I have currently been off from work on sick leave as i got ill. We had a contamination of rats and i was hospitalised on two seperate occasions, the manager has no man management skills and have tried to harrass me to leave my current position. As i have previously been a retail manager i got no instore training and was left to find my own way of their work polices
Pros
staff discount
Cons
bad company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merseyside18 May 2018
Pros - a typical day is straightforward, hard work at times but overall quite satisfying. Soon learned that what is promised in the ads is all smoke and mirrors, the management at my store was managing from a book and had very little ACTUAL experience, so would sulk, throw tantrums and leave nasty notes for the staff if everything was not 'just so'. The culture reflected the management, don't turn your back on anyone and definitely don't trust them not to drop you in the brown stuff if it will get them off the hook.
The hardest part was leaving the customers, you soon get a repartee with your regulars and it is hard to leave them behind when all the backbiting finally gets to you - and it will get to you.. Ironically the most enjoyable part of the job was finding another one and handing in my notice. I've worked retail for most of my life and managed businesses, the whole dynamic of how these places are run needs looking at IMHO
Pros
It payed the rent
Cons
Long hours, no backup, no gratitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Malvern11 May 2018
It was a great place to work, and i really loved my job. But now I have relocated back to the Walsall area. I want to get back into work sales assistant.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
21 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside8 May 2018
I really enjoyed working there, had to leave due to family problems.
Would have stayed there much longer, but circumstances dictated that I had to resign.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service assistant at waterbeach
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterbeach29 April 2018
I got the job at waterbeach and worked here for a very little time because they lost my contract and then told me it was a temporary contract, They laid me off for no reasoning just said they no longer needed me, I then later found out that 2 weeks before i was laid off everyone in the work place knew! so not only did they break confidentiality they lied and left me with no leg to stand on.
Pros
none
Cons
everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at One Stop Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 358 reviews
581
4106
377
228
166

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture