OCS Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 503 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just avoid this place at all costs
Finance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 November 2018
Pros.

Heavily discounted event tickets, depending on your division. Reasonable pay for the market. Some friendly staff.

Cons

No job security as they restructure almost every year, poor management, 3 month notice in most jobs, irrespective of job role (a big trap), poor IT systems implementation and very limited systems training.

Only management are entitled to any bonus.

Many people looking to leave. Heard some eye opening stories of how they treat professional staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under engaging job role
Customer Care Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 August 2018
Very little work load. Found it difficult to keep motivated as there was little task involved in a typical day. Most days left with no Duty Manager on site. No one to support me or the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy co workers
roro skip Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham6 December 2017
Great place to work.
But co workers are very lazy and hide away in the north car park.
Or always going sick at busy times so be prepared to work hard and non stop
But overall a great job ruined by lasyness and no team work.
Pros
Good trucks
Cons
Lasy people
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Customer service agent (Current Employee) –  Birmingham1 May 2015
i work hard and long hour, i do 12hours on 4on 4off roster.

i learned how to deal with different kinds customer, i have improved on my talking, listing, and working as a group.

the management are ok but they need to improve alot to staff they way they treat them.

i work with sum good co workers what gets you though the day every time i am at work.

dealing with angy customer and try to solve there problems.

meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 23Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Traffic Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 October 2017
Within the traffic dept definitely a culture of bullying, and there is a clic and if your not in it, your on the outside and treated accordingly, as in not wanted shown your not wanted.
Pros
non
Cons
bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good view
Any works (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 January 2018
I have good skills for communicating with clients follow procedures and make routine workes . And i Like my working fullhelp my team working and laering QuickTime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Badly Managed, Badly organised, badly funded and badly resourced
Movement Controller (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG25 August 2014
The Management were detached from the work force. They would source insufficent staff for the busiest times of the day, and too many for the quieter times. Which equated in people being paid to sit idle, doing nothing, and when they were needed for the busy periods, they were gone home having finished their contracted hours.
There was a lot of in operation bullying. Un-professional attitudes, passengers of certain ethnicities treated differently to others.

I learned how to manage complaints and how to deal with irate people in a professional, pragmatic and patient manner. Ensuring that any issue I would see through to fruition and that persons satisfaction. If it should be passed to management it would be swept under the carpet and not addressed.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when elderly or disabled passengers would thank us for the service we provided - stating that they would not be able to go on holiday if it werent for the service we provided.
Pros
None
Cons
12hour night shift with insufficient staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Birmingham8 November 2016
No communication from management as regards to when you will
be working.
Process of recruiting takes forever and then you are not offered any work anyway, you are told you will be doing a job then end up doing something else.
Far too many different managers / supervisors and no idea who is in charge.
On the plus side the staff are friendly.
Pros
friendly people.
Cons
Very poor organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job but poor management and often rushed off our feet
Customer Care Agent (Current Employee) –  Birmingham14 December 2013
my job entails assisting disabled passengers, which is fun meeting new people on a daily basis, however the management is poor, unprofessional, not suitable for the job and bias.
Pros
meeting people on a daily basis
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 72No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
CLEANER / CLOAKROOM (Current Employee) –  NEC BIRMINGHAM11 March 2013
Love the work at the nec good team work every one gets on well I work a 0hur contract and still do
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 21Report

See more OCS reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OCS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 503 reviews
5101
4112
399
261
1130

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture