Ocado Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment,
Engineering Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Dordon, Warwickshire5 April 2017
Typical day at work involves dealing with reactive breakdown issues and repairs, management are OK but get caught up with little things. The work place culture is that of blame and is not always constructive. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the same issues day in day out with no resolution which leads to a lack of job satisfaction. The most enjoyable part of the job are the interactions between Engineers
Pros
Good facilitates and salary
Cons
Work place culture and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
customer service and learning (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire5 April 2017
Ocado in itself is a very friendly environment, we are able to be casual but professional at the same time.

I love working with different people everyday and creating new relationships as we do hot desk.

I would say the working hours and shift patterns does cause some what stress and has affected my personal life.
Pros
paid 30 mins breaks
Cons
shift work and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unsociable hours
CSTM (Former Employee) –  dordon5 April 2017
I worked here for 12 months and hated the place, the actual job itself is ok but the hours required to work are a joke for example I ended up doing 7 weeks without a weekend off so no time to spend with my family, evening shifts are horrible start times range from 1pm to 4:30pm everyday being different, some deliveries are tower blocks & lifts are broke & your required to take 20-25 bags of shopping to say the 8th floor and do so in 10 minutes or it will make you late for the rest of your drops which requires you to call the customers and explain this which requires more time, most vans have broken radios and your not aloud to use your phone on hands free either so it can be a very lonely place for 8 hors a day, they also have cameras in the cabs watching you, You can get verbal warnings just for yawning at the wheel because they say if your tired pull up and rest and believe me if you rested every time you need to yawn the shift would take you 12-14 hours a day, also vans are disgusting inside I wouldn't let my dog eat in it let alone a human, full of rubbish, bogeys, bitten off nails, ear wax, pubes, you name it I have seen cleaner wheelie bins
Pros
Benefits
Cons
unsociable hours, dirty vans, unrealistic routes
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, hard working unhappy drivers and nice customers.
driver (Current Employee) –  london2 April 2017
Used to be a nice place to work before new management
took over. Happy staff, happy customers? not anymore, staff treated like slaves and put under to much pressure. The management has no respect for staff and moral is very low.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
unfair working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Personal shopper in freezers (Former Employee) –  Dordon, UK30 March 2017
Fast paced environment, opportunities to move up in the company with the internal vacancies advantage. Flexible working days and holidays, with the ability to move your shifts around and to swap shifts with co-workers.
Pros
Canteen, flexible shift rota, opportunity to further career.
Cons
Fast paced, strenuous tiring work in freezers, allot of physical expenditure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job poor management
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Dordon, Warwickshire28 March 2017
I have worked for ocado as a cstm for 3 months now and can say it was OK for first 3-4 weeks on road and the other drivers and Marshalls are sound . If you get stuck in traffic one early shift on motorway & can't ring customers then you are in for an earfull from customers and managers full stop. Expect to be spoken down to on "the desk" unprofessional
You are just a number.
Pros
Good tips
Cons
Management haven't a clue
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, UK27 March 2017
this is best job i ever had, to bad i had to leave because i fall in love, i will always go back to work in here, i had a lot of things to learn and a lot of skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a load of rubbish! go to McDonald's
Customer Service Team Member (delivery driver) (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire27 March 2017
only good thing is the money ( when you do lates) managers literally do not care about you 1 bit you get sent out miles away from base and if everything goes caput all they have to say is we dont have the resources to help you, im currently working for this company and have only worked for them for 6 months and looking for a new job, if you dont like talking to people enjoy being left alone and have no social life you would probably enjoy the job, but in reality the back breaking work you do for the wage is ridiculous in the time frames you have, i dont care how fit you are, it will break u eventually. if your looking for something to put you on maybe worth a punt as you have to be a dimwit not to get the job, but if your looking for something half decent or a future career look else where! the progression in this job is to an even worse job of loading the vans (marshall) and you will sit on that job for years! for 50p extra?! they pride themselves on smart technology that doesnt work?
Pros
benifits
Cons
back breaking/ no managerial support/ insufficient tools for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Driver (Former Employee) –  Andover, Hampshire27 March 2017
Good training, nice people to work with and the Warehouse team have a friendly atmosphere. personal reasons wishing to leave no reflection on the company
Pros
staff shop
Cons
6 days a week sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, Little appreciation
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire27 March 2017
It's not a bad place to work if you don't mind staying in the same role for a long period of time. Career progression is limited and doesn't get offered on merit rather gets offered on who you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire21 March 2017
The job is very challenging , every day is a new experience with many different tasks on variable temperature . Quick moving job as a team player or on your own as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try somewhere else.
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Dagenham, Greater London16 March 2017
Within 3 days of working in the compant it seems they favour English staff more, so if your foriegn like me just nod your head and shut up because they just want you in and out. And from what i heard sitting in the reception they are not fond of eastern europeans do just keep that in mind before you try to make any contributions whilst in your class room. Its a shame really because the company structure and training is very good just the peoples attitude in this site stinks.
Pros
Free coffee, decent pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience ever
customer service driver (Former Employee) –  Knowsley13 March 2017
After a short spell unemployed i started here, the training was good but coming towards end of training they give you your rosta and then it went downhill from there. Everything from ignorant managers who look through you, half of co-workers dont talk alltogether a bad experience.Get used to being blame for damage on vans, sat nav thats outdated, but i think the worst is having no social life work every weekend just a soul destoying job overall. The old saying is your just a number and its true here. My advice dont bother
Pros
Loads of uniform, free coffee
Cons
Everything, a total and utter nightmare
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
dispact (Former Employee) –  cfc dordon12 March 2017
waste of time targets are there to sack the non favroites to get agency workers in.
just a bad place really staff turn around is amazing very high.
people get sacked for no reson.

IF I COULD GIVE A 0 STAR I WOULD
Pros
non
Cons
the lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of week end working
CSTM (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 March 2017
Worked for a while out of a London Branch/spoke. Hours and lots of week-ends, so can be pretty hard at times.
Their GPS systems are awful, and planning of routes insane and very cost ineffective.
Poor customer notification of late deliveries from offices/customer services, so poor old driver gets it in the neck if you are late, even if the delivery from Central warehouse is late into the depot or the route planning daft.
The place was a revolving door with new drivers in and out, many here for a very short time.
If you need something to tie you over it helps but pay is poor and not many opportunities for overtime despite what they say.
Pros
Nice boots
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London7 March 2017
Delivering groceries to customers, have developed a higher level of customer service within myself. Difficulties with the job would be delivering to a customer on the fourth floor with no lift. Making people smile is always a joy.
Pros
Automatic van
Cons
Bags packed badly sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demoralising at times
CSTM (Current Employee) –  crawley5 March 2017
shift hours are like a rollercoaster one week earlies and the next week lates, you need to have an awful lot of patience and be chilled out. job can be stressful at times especially when cfc is running behind schedule and you always get the occasional custer who is very rude.
Pros
none
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, easy job
Buddy Trainer (Current Employee) –  Dartford3 March 2017
This is more than just delivering, its customer service, so if you like meeting lots of nice customers and if you don't mind working 8 hour shifts starting anywhere between 5.30am up to 4pm on a rota system this is quite a good job with quite reasonable pay.

Pretty much all the management started at the bottom so know the score and everyone gets along really well.

Drop numbers can vary mostly between 18 to 30(max) per 8 hour shift with the lower generally having more milage to cover. My shortest round trip route was 37 miles and my longest 206.

Progression in the company is available through various means including a management training scheme.
Pros
As long as customers happy your left to get on with it
Cons
Shift patterns can take a bit of getting used to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work just to earn money
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Inbound1 March 2017
Better paid than other warehouse jobs. But overall not friendly colleagues. Everyone is focused on his target. If you're not a friend with people on PPT, you'll just have to accept that you'll reach your target reaaalllyyy hard.
Pros
Staff store
Cons
Hight target
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strictly all rules keeping place
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire25 February 2017
time keeping , very strict organisation and all procedures keeping.
focused on SAFETY, not to have any accidents or incidents. focused to have everything very clean.
all this things are helping to provide the best service for the customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ocado. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 337 reviews
554
496
384
242
161

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture