Ocado Employee Reviews

Found 417 reviews matching the search See all 430 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they don't care
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Andover, Hampshire6 October 2018
3 sickness and your out i had 1 sickness and accident at work and 1 allergic reaction they through me out the door they dont give second chances to anyone
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun workplace
Digital Designer (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire1 October 2018
Ocado is a relaxed and fun environment to work in. There are lots of opportunities to get involved with new projects and lots of social activities you can join in with too. Working there is like being part of a big family. The only negative is that the hours are long
Pros
free food, brown bag lunches, social activities
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Stock Picker (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City30 September 2018
It was long hours but the work was enjoyable and varied so that you would not get bored during your shift. the people were also great and came from varied backgrounds so it was good to talk to them to find out more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
End of the river job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dordon, Warwickshire30 September 2018
The turnaround of drivers says it all. Dreadful job. If you don't want a life outside this job, this is for you. Totally not enough time given between deliveries. Some of the places are terrible. Ask yourself why are they using online to deliver their food in the ist place? You will fall behind every day & when you do the phone doesn't stop ringing. Management are intilely 1 sided. Holidays hard to book. Hard to make friends as you see them 1day & don't see them again due to so many people work there. Pls take my advice Don't Bother to apply for a driving job at OCADO
Pros
Clocking out
Cons
Clocking in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brillant job
Customer Service Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  London24 September 2018
i would recommend this job to all delivery drivers because the way ocado do things you have a monthly router so you no whats days you are working. you don't have to load your van. everything is computer rise and you get good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work for
Personal Shopper (Current Employee) –  Andover22 September 2018
The company does try to look after its employees in many ways, though obviously they will be thinking of profitability first. If you work hard, you will get on fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are not a human being,you are a number
Driver (Former Employee) –  Park Royal, Greater London22 September 2018
Nothing to do here,look for another job!

Do not bother with this company. You are practically a slave for a company that only cares for the numbers,not people....

Bad wages

No breaks

No holiday when you want

No days off when you need

No weekends off,ever!

In essence you are delivering 20-40 kilos! to people living on the 7th floor with no lifts. Parking is an issue always
Pros
none
Cons
all described
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back breaking work
Personal Shopper (Current Employee) –  Dordon, Warwickshire20 September 2018
:ots of heavy duty lifting on some aisles. not for someone who wants to progress at a job. Great if you need something to keep you going. managers can be helpful when needed. very solitary job and can be lonely
Pros
easy to get a job there
Cons
irregular shift patterns, must be flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviorment
Contact Center Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hatfield18 September 2018
Ocado is a great place to work and is a very young company so its every exciting to be apart of the company.

They offer great opportunities in house.
Pros
Great perks
Cons
Hours are a bit difficutl
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it. Just.....don't!
CSTM Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire17 September 2018
Management couldn't care less about you. Poor wages. Routes are a joke. Sat-navs are useless. Marshalls are all up their own a***s. Vans are all in s**t state. Shift times are ridiculous (don't expect a social life.....or a family life........or just a life in general).

In short: back-breaking, stressful work that pays peanuts whilst the management with screw you over the first chance they get.
Pros
Clocking out.
Cons
How long have you got?
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work hard
Personal shopper (Current Employee) –  Hatfield15 September 2018
if you are hard worker thats the place for you. Picking up heavy stuff, input data in the system, work fast as of that depends the bonus you will receive.
Pros
no pressure
Cons
heavy job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workforce an office staff
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire15 September 2018
Nice easy job, 1 or 2 drops a day which you unload with warehouse ops.
Decent wagons, well maintained and not old. The problem with this job is security, your only ever one bad day away from getting the chop. Cameras watching you in the cab procedures that are not flexible. Lost count how many guys got sacked while I was there. Sadly your just a number and as such get treated that way by senior management.
The other thing rubbish start times and low pay. The money is poor and you do long days
Pros
Decent wagons easy work
Cons
Management/ job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cstm driver
Customer Service Team Member (Current Employee) –  Bristol13 September 2018
Silly hours, not enough time on route, sat navs are pants. Vans are damaged and on there last legs, management are not helpful and marshalls dont care! £330 take home
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Andover, Hampshire31 August 2018
It was a good place to work, the people there were lovely but the hours dragged. The food in the canteen was amazing and the company shop prices were insanely amazing.
Pros
4 days a week working
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personal Shopper (Current Employee) –  Hatfield28 August 2018
Hard work People help togheter like a team work. I like this job but is to far away from my home thats why I would like to change my job for a weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours bad salary
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire18 August 2018
Less pay with long hrs of work and no one will ever appreciate you or your team for your hard work. Promoting people is based on god knows what reasons. People are getting sick and tired and no one has motivation to work. People will work hard if they get appreciated as an individual or a team.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long lost
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good work place
ocado (Former Employee) –  dorson11 August 2018
I applied for van driver job and passed driving assessment and THE DBS clean but they didn't give to me job.... big time resist company.
thanks... they treat you dog no look after ... no holidays... just work just work...
Pros
no good
Cons
no good
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 15Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor place to work
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London11 August 2018
At the beginning everything is sweet you get short routes and easy areas but after first three months they will give you more totes than your van can take I don’t recommend this job to anybody as it is a back braking job you’ll have to deliver to flats with no lift expect even 4 th floor and loads of water they say they can appeal parking tickets when you get one but forget about that you will have to pay it anyway
Management think they are better than you they all started as a CSTM’s so they haven’t got any managerial experience basically treat you like a dog. Money is rubbish expect only between 320-360 depends if you do am or pm shift oh and forget about social life as you gonna have to work almost every weekend so for 320 pounds a week it’s not worth it
Pros
Free coffe
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobsworth
none (Former Employee) –  Heathrow, Greater London9 August 2018
Arrived for interview on time. The guy behind the reception desk completely ignored me because he was on the phone to a driver. After about 15 minutes he finally asked me if I was there for an interview. I said yes, so he phoned someone. A bloke came out and said he couldn't interview me because I was late. I explained I had been on time and his answer was that I should have turned up half an hour early to avoid such a problem. No wonder they're desperate for drivers.
Pros
none
Cons
Arrogant attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work, just not for me
Personal Shopper Freezer (Current Employee) –  Dordon, Warwickshire7 August 2018
friendly management and ok place to work, hard work and long hours and not a lot of breaks, ok pay, longish commute for me and the job just isnt for everyone.
Pros
Friendly management
Cons
Long work days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ocado. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 430 reviews
571
4111
3100
257
191

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture