Ocado Employee Reviews in Hatfield

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an easy job
Butcher (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire11 February 2018
You have to be able to get on well with managers if you want to be have an easy life there. Most managers have their favourite people and if you go against one manager then be prepared to be picked on. Certain people can get away with a lot where as most people can not get away with it. The warehouse is manly made up of different cultures. If you are sick and they say you have to be off for 48 hours when you come back to work and if you have been off 3 times in a year they won't except being sick as an illness so you get stages.
Pros
Can't think of anything.
Cons
No life outside of ocado.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picker
Picker (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire11 January 2018
The worst job ever, the worst management ever, if they don't like you're face you could expect that you can have complains without knowing and for no reason.
You cand get faild without knowing , they only call you to the office and say that you have too many complains and you are not good for the company even if you tried you're best and you didn't even know that you have one complains..i had no absences, no lateness, always trying my best and get field because two of the managers didn't like my face.. so think twice before you want to work there
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unhelpful hard work
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Hatfield12 October 2017
Not easy & terrible management they do not care about workers & put alot of pressure on the new employes, there is good benefits that's about all what is positive
Pros
Pension
Cons
Long hours to much pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic work
CSTM delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield11 September 2017
Either have to be there at half 5 in the morning or at 3pm. I started at 3 and got home at half 1 when i was meant to be done at 11. You're given too many drops to do in an hour and the way the route is planned is so that you do a rough loop into London then back to base. Not taking into account the hour time slot the customer has arranged for you to drop to them. Meaning, when you get your route, you're already automatically going to be late for about 4 customers due to poor route planning, and by the time you've done the first 4 drops you're out of sync anyways and have to pull over and ring all the other customers saying you're going to be late which throws you back another half hour. Furthermore, the vans are often loaded incorrectly meaning before you have even left the van has to be reloaded knocking you back half an hour before you've left. The job is poorly organised, the items are thrown in by the warehouse staff so when you get to a drop milk has exploded all over the shopping. Not once did i stop for a break, never finished early, you are truly overworked and your back will be so achey by the end of the day. Honestly, I'd look elsewhere i did two weeks and threw the towel in as the stress i was experiencing was not worth the £72 a day.
Pros
none
Cons
no social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire31 August 2017
come into work and set up your computer, log into your phone.

look at any tasks you may have from the day before.

start taking calls and working.

management is nice and can be very fun however expect you to get your work done.

hardest part of the job is waking up early.

most enjoyable part is being in a friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Hatfield17 May 2017
Great place to work, extremely friendly staff and management. Work place is safe and trustworthy in my opinion. Never had a bad incident or poor treatment whilst working here.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonus for working hard is a scam
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Hatfield8 May 2017
Don't work for them. If you work your hardest while others stand around, happy to earn the minimum, you still won't be rewarded by their so called bonus scheme. The only people who earn exra, are those who don't follow the on screen instructions, basically cheating the system.
Pros
none
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire28 April 2017
it was nice working there I cant complain, I had lots of fun and hard working delivering to private houses and different cities in the country, there was not one thing I didn't like about the job and when I left I had two weeks of payment.
Pros
good
Cons
early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
customer service and learning (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire5 April 2017
Ocado in itself is a very friendly environment, we are able to be casual but professional at the same time.

I love working with different people everyday and creating new relationships as we do hot desk.

I would say the working hours and shift patterns does cause some what stress and has affected my personal life.
Pros
paid 30 mins breaks
Cons
shift work and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, UK27 March 2017
this is best job i ever had, to bad i had to leave because i fall in love, i will always go back to work in here, i had a lot of things to learn and a lot of skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, Little appreciation
CSTM (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire27 March 2017
It's not a bad place to work if you don't mind staying in the same role for a long period of time. Career progression is limited and doesn't get offered on merit rather gets offered on who you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire21 March 2017
The job is very challenging , every day is a new experience with many different tasks on variable temperature . Quick moving job as a team player or on your own as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point for your career
Planner (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire22 February 2017
Dynamic environment, there is a lot of staff to learn at the beginning but once you get more experience job might be boring and repetitive. There is not much opportunities to develop your skills and pay is not great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire18 February 2017
Workplace and environment are really good at Ocado Technology. You can learn a lot, they use cutting edge technoogies, you have nice colleagues. Those are the only pros of the company
Pros
Nice environment, cutting edge technologies
Cons
HRs, Management, low salary, Hatfield
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield4 February 2017
was an ok company to work for apart from some deliveries required me to carry the customers shopping up 10 flights of stairs no lift
Pros
good benifits
Cons
heavey lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Pickers (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire15 January 2017
I have no tips I don't know what to say . It's a very good job .you can make 400-500 a week you can also do different types of jobs like picking end l
Pros
Performance bonus
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid, Awful
Warehouse Operative - Dispatch (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire23 December 2016
You are stuck where they put you.
I was issued a position on Frameload in Dispatch... If they try to put you there, walk away. You are worked like a dog and it's inhumane.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cusotmer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hatfield28 November 2016
Good place to work as everyone is very helpful and communication between all levels is good and chevron approachable, good opportunities to progress just the hours can be demanding
Pros
Highly Subsised Food
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hatfield1 November 2016
Management great but work life balance not so much long hours and unsociable hours.ideal as a first job.

co workers are what make the job and ideal for uni students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Hatfield6 October 2016
Good work environment if u like that sort of thing. The company is well organised, it offeres flexibility, a good and friendly work force and a wholesome work to get you by. Downside, transport essencial.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Requires alot of hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 17Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ocado. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 336 reviews
554
496
384
242
160

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture