Ocado Employee Reviews in Dartford

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 333 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Delivery Driver (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Dartford, Kent26 June 2017
very good company, enjoyed lone working and seeing new places. mostly delivered to peoples homes with grocery shopping, also delivered to work places and offices in London, such places include the shard and I often drive past Big Ben and London bridge.

The hardest part of the job is having to work different days every week and different times.

if this was a Monday to Friday, 9-5 job I wouldn't even be looking at other jobs but for personal reason it I have to look at other options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, easy job
Buddy Trainer (Current Employee) –  Dartford3 March 2017
This is more than just delivering, its customer service, so if you like meeting lots of nice customers and if you don't mind working 8 hour shifts starting anywhere between 5.30am up to 4pm on a rota system this is quite a good job with quite reasonable pay.

Pretty much all the management started at the bottom so know the score and everyone gets along really well.

Drop numbers can vary mostly between 18 to 30(max) per 8 hour shift with the lower generally having more milage to cover. My shortest round trip route was 37 miles and my longest 206.

Progression in the company is available through various means including a management training scheme.
Pros
As long as customers happy your left to get on with it
Cons
Shift patterns can take a bit of getting used to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad company
CSTM (Former Employee) –  Dartford, Kent10 February 2017
a very oppressive company with badly planned routes, management disengaged from work force, and bad communication skills,,you are just a number high turnover of staff.Very strange way to run a business you are constantly watched this is a sad example of a modern work place ,can,t see much of a future with the amount of people they turnover they will run out eventual.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
bad shifts bad managers risk your license for 9 pound an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Dartford, Kent11 January 2017
Once you find your feet you'll fly thru your routes. Everyone is friendly and up for a laugh. Good a rearranging holiday if you need days off or can swap your shifts with other cstms
Pros
Finishing early
Cons
Early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 32Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cstm
Customer Service Team Member (Current Employee) –  Dartford, ENG31 January 2016
Delivering food and drink from the internet.
Driving is fun and it is nice to meet people but London is not so good for this
Pros
Driving, your own boss on route
Cons
London, Flats and traffic jams
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Dartford, ENG8 July 2015
well normaly from start i log in and then print the paperwork, get the delivery van and i check everything is loaded, i check the condition of the van, fuel etc then on my way. i have gained experience how to use the hand held device and view more destinations which i have never been before. the management was alright and also i had really enthuthiastic co-workers and the job was very easy to do. the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new customers all the time and serving their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering Shopping
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  Dartford14 July 2014
Working for ocado involved driving a delivery van to various places in the South East of england delivering peoples shopping to schedule, and finding and unloading it when we arrived at their property.

I learned to be efficient in my use of time and to manafe my frustrations when driving in traffic

the hardest part of the job was when i had to drive into central london and find places to park
Cons
tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job with few career prospects
Customer Service Team Member (Current Employee) –  Dartford, ENG28 November 2013
A typical day involves you getting in your pre-loaded van, then making around 12-22 deliveries per 8-hour shift around the southeast of England.
Learned about health and safety and food hygiene, and that the customer is always right.
Majority of co-workers are friendly and willing to help you out if you are running late.
Hardest parts of the job are sitting in traffic, particularly when you are heading back to the depot which is right by the Dartford crossing. Having to contact all your customers to tell them their delivery is going to be late due to circumstances beyond your control. Having to try to deliver shopping in the snow.
Most enjoyable part of the job is driving round the countryside in the summer and seeing parts of the country you would not normally see.
Pros
Fairly easy job, van is loaded for you, see some nice places around the southeast of England
Cons
Unsociable hours, working a lot of weekends, no real way of progressing in the company, high staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Customer Team Service Member (Current Employee) –  Dartford, ENG24 June 2013
They dont seem to care about staff.
Trucks run late and staff are expected to stay late to do deliveries.
Even after injury you are expected to carry on even kept from medical attention
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report

See more Ocado reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ocado. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 334 reviews
552
496
384
242
160

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture