Oak Furniture Land Employee Reviews

Found 126 reviews matching the search See all 129 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St helens a horrible place to work head office in Swindon looked the other way when i complained
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside20 October 2019
Was sacked because of sickness the foreman asked the so called relief Recruitment manager for industria to get me dismissed.
When i involved jb global in swindon he simply didnt want to know?
This foreman had lied in his application to get a job his previous history etc!
Pros
Mon for fri 7 to 3
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies, lies lies!
GENERAL STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 October 2019
Tell you that you will earn £40k, more like half that, and twice the hours! Long boring shifts, sometimes bot seeing anyone. Only interested in figures not people!! So many ticket changes after work, every week and the higher management/HR do not listen. Queing system for talking to customers, and you are made to be a 'pitch' robot, turnover of of staff at 40% says it all!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Swindon16 October 2019
Awful place, awful management team, with no consistency.

Probably out grown itself - pay is good as that is the only way it attracts any staff. Treating like a number that can easily be replaced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire14 October 2019
Worked at OFL 2 and half years now , and hope it will continue. It’s a fast paced growing business and along with hard word and focus from my end has provided me with stability and great earnings whilst I’ve been here. Any time worked over is all ways given back , which I have found a is very rare in retail sales, so a massive positive there too. And again with hard work comes an opportunity to earn lots of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Stressful
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Midlands7 October 2019
A working day is to greet and convert incoming customers to purchase along with maintaining general store standards and amend pricing at least 3 to 4 times a week.
Management within in the business is not the best because there is a distinct lack of consistency with different managers doing different things in their stores.
The workplace culture does not generate a team ethic because to earn a decent living you have to be selfish and put your self first.
The hardest part of the job is the fact that your income is not always within your control because the biggest influence is the amount of customers you can see to convert and even if you convert at a high level if the footfall is low your income will suffer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
False promises
Sales (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire3 October 2019
High authority living in dream world with unrealistic targets. Commission structure absolutely ridiculous. You have to sell £80k in a month to earn £500 which is absolutely ridiculous. Won’t recommend anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place h&s rules being broken
Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Swindon27 September 2019
They force drivers and driver mates to lift units over 130kg. Terrible working hours 60h a week. Rates of pay silly but most important they break LAW!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former store manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Aberdeenshire27 September 2019
Company only interested in hitting green even when I went down to 2 staff instead of 6 they still expected the tragets to be hit not interested in reasons (excuses as they called it) for not hitting target. Termination decision made before final review.sp termination if not 100 percent of target company still trying to trade on past success and not taking into account area changes to prosperity
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire20 September 2019
Only work here if you want to be told by managers how to talk to people. Your not aloud to use your personality and even get told off for ‘taking to long with a customer’ who could be spending £1000’s with you! You get treated like a kid, and expected to work 11hr days quite often sometimes 6 days a week! No weekends off! Basically only come to work here if you are desperate!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Norwich2 September 2019
Great management however you have to work weekends. Good way to make money on commission but you have be be rigorous in the sales department. It’s a high pressure job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom aldridge/walsall22 August 2019
worked at Aldridge depo through agency.
cons:
pay is rubbish for whats expected from you. carrying 150kg furniture up multiple flights of stairs for example.
managers have a bad attitude towards there staff any complaints and you be punished with the worst deliveries and a you can be replaced easy if you dont like it response.
old outdated car satnavs given to use resulting in been sent wrong ways with low bridges or not finding places.
forced overtime
pros:
other drivers are a good bunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish place but great drivers
7.5 tonne driver (Former Employee) –  Aldridge12 August 2019
Absolute horrible place to work for management dont really care for you. I worked for JB Global LTD but its owned by the CEO of oak furniture land. They ask you to do too much for the money paid, dont get me wrong good momey for a 7.5t driver but the graft and all the other things that come with it not worth the money being paid. Heavy lifting up stairs aswell i was comfortable with it but if you havent had much manual labour jobs before your in for a real surprise and if you struggle to lift you are still expected to lift the furniture up the stairs else its goodbye to you. You get occassional early finish time bit always finish late and unless the face fits youll finish late all week. One of the managers was alright but would just switch and gang up on you with all other office staff.

The only really good thing is all the other drivers and drivers mates they are all a good bunch of lads and you have a great laugh only thing kept me there as long as i was.
Pros
All other drivers good laugh. Weekly pay
Cons
Terrible attitude towards their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run organisation
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple, Devon8 August 2019
Not a good employer to work for if you are not hitting all of your targets all of the time, as they have a culture of sacking those that do not consistently succeed.
Senior Managers come across as uncaring with the only constant being you can't believe the rhetoric.
Stay away it will only end in disappointment, they promise so much but deliver little in return.
Pros
Earnings can be good
Cons
Poor footfall with days when you sell nothing at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont care,no morels
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  England1 August 2019
I've worked for them just over a year,my dad got stage 4 cancer,I was given lip service by higher so called management,but all they cared about was targets,when I first heard about my dads cancer the higher management seemed concerned but when I didn't hit my target,whilst my dad was dying, I was given a disciplinary when I got back after my dad passed I got a written warning
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure Pressure Pressure
Retail Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire30 July 2019
Most negative company ive ever worked for. New commission structure means you work your butt of for bugger all. Constant negativity from Regional manager and store manager. Such a horrible culture. No wonder staff retention is so poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Night shift temporary shift manager and stock (Former Employee) –  St Helens29 July 2019
Get treated like suit no job security no health and safety in the warehouse no security on site for you belongings management have double standards no proper training
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst ever place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  North West27 July 2019
Steer clear. Worst company I have ever worked for. The manager in the store is a complete control freak. Turn over ofstaff in the store is very high. Work 9-8 shifts and if work over you never get time back as this is for the needs of the company, constantly changing prices, sales are false too
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours and the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the management insercurity
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset19 July 2019
due to lack of management , I was regularly working 6-7 days a week 8am until 8pm ,
Pros
good product
Cons
long hours, managment lack of structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant products
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  South West14 July 2019
Bullying is rife in this organisation.

The sales Director is the driving force in driving a bullying culture.

4 years ago , the staff turn around was nearly hitting above 55 %.

He has now been promoted, but leopards never change their spots.

When you do well, they are not interested why. Miss selling is a culture, driven buy the Regional Managers from the directors.

As long as you sell interest bairing finance, especially when 0% finance is available. The bully boys are happy and leave you alone.
Pros
Great earning prospects as long as you do as you are told
Cons
Long hours and if you do not sell chargeable finance they are after you like a hawk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Supply Chain Administrator (Current Employee) –  Swindon13 July 2019
a lot of training provided so that the employees are well trained and skilled. Lot of fun activities.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oak Furniture Land. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 129 reviews
522
419
327
224
137

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture