Nottinghamshire Police Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working culture
Real Time Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arnold, Nottinghamshire22 February 2019
Great working culture but there is no potential for advancement and continuous fear of job security due to being public services. The hours are difficult but due to the good working culture you do get great support from your colleagues and management.
Pros
good shift allowance
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience and great team
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottingham31 January 2019
Stationed as administrative lead throughout application and implementation process. Acted as go between for applicants and local pension provider. Liaised confidentially with colleagues throughout highly sensitive and trying process;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding career
Custody Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham City Centre, Nottinghamshire13 January 2019
Served as a police officer for 30 years with Nottinghamshire Police from 1989 to 2019. Throughout this time working for Nottinghamshire police has been challenging and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and great colleagues
Detective Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham and EMSOU27 October 2018
I enjoyed every working days at Notts Police. No two days were ever the same. I met and worked with some of the most amazing and committed people in a great environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Police Investigation Officer (Former Employee) –  Nottingham6 August 2018
Excellent place to work, all depends on where you are posted.

Like all places, the experience comes down to management, training (or lack off).

As a civilian investigator, you will be working more or less non stop but the experience one gains is exceptional and a lot of civilians will use this role as a stepping stone to become a dedicated police officer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed work place
Digital Forensics (Former Employee) –  Nottingham2 July 2018
Seeing a weeks work in different departments of Nottinghamshire police gave me an experience of work which was highly organised but also pressurised. The work there was very serious and was a harsh environment to be in at times, but also you get a sense of achievement after the work is done and is made easier working with people with good humour and communication.
Pros
Good Technology and equipment
Cons
pressurised environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Injury
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire30 June 2018
If you get injured on duty you will be left high and dry without any help whatsoever. No work, home life balance whatsoever, be prepared to cancel any arrangements at short notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and Diverse
Detective Sergeant CID (Former Employee) –  Nottingham9 March 2018
People that work within the Organisation make it work and the job is the best in the world, helping people and taking bad people away. Management have always been an issue but the staff within make it
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed feelings
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Nottingham11 February 2018
This profession bought out the best in me and allowed me to flourish in the policing environment, including getting promoted to Sergeant which meant extra responsibility of managing people.

Overall I enjoyed working as a Police Officer, very demanding an rewarding.
Pros
Good salary and career prospects
Cons
Poor work life balance due to long hours and shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and rewarding career
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire31 January 2018
Being a Police Officer was an interesting and sometimes exciting career, with the opportunity to change peoples lives for the better as well as dealing with those that sought to victimise other members of society. Day to day duties varied massively and you never knew what was coming next.
Sadly, financial pressures resulting from the crash of 2008 resulted in the organisation forcing a large number of officers to retire, many of whom, like me did not wish to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
undersupported
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  Carlton, Nottinghamshire18 January 2018
hard working, devoted staff, let down by management. In a difficult political climate the officers persevere despite cutbacks to provide a high level of service and protect the people of Nottinghamshire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and stressfull
Uniformed Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Nottingham shire police various locations11 January 2018
Very busy management very poor working nights is very hard work
6 days on is a very hard long time in such a stressful environment
Lack of breaks constantly under pressure
Pros
Shift work
Cons
Off late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Officer
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire21 October 2017
A fulfilling job with great potential to diversify. Good sickness pension package and great colleagues.
Highly motivated and stressful. Every day is different and sometimes dangerous. definitely not a 9-5 job.
Pros
something different every day
Cons
highly stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant atmosphere
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Worksop11 October 2017
waste bins emptied daily, always cleaning up after police officers. I received training to achieve my level one and Two in NVQ Cleaning Qualification and also received numerous awareness training which included Legionnaires and also COSHH and health and safety at work. I had good management up until we were out sourced due to government cuts.The hardest part of my job was clearing up after police officers who thought I was there for their benefit. The best part of the job is you meet some lovely people
Pros
meeting lovely people and my work colleagues
Cons
flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse and challenging
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  Mansfield, Nottinghamshire29 September 2017
Every day is different and I have learned to work as part of a team and alone. Everyday is challenging & diverse.good to work with a variety of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
notts police
patrol officer, Beat Manager, and latterly (Former Employee) –  West Bridgford17 July 2017
varied, exciting at times, hardwork, alot of paperwork. It can be very unpredictable and wouldnt suit someone who wanted to know that they were guaranteed to finish on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  Nottingham23 June 2017
There's a hidden culture of "networking", so new positions in sought-after roles (such as working on the Divisional Support Unit or Motorway) are rarely advertised, they're simply given to people with the right behind-the-scenes connections.

The mid-level management don't receive any training for the role and Sergeants stripes are often seemingly awarded on the basis of ethnicity or visible sexuality. Positive discrimination is never-ending, and the organisation firmly believes this is a good thing.

The annual PDR process is a complete waste of time. Supervisors have no interest in your professional development - I can state that factually as nobody cared about mine from 2005 through to 2017!

Working hours are horrendous. The longest shift I ever worked without going home for a break was marginally under 24 hours. Normally you can expect to have personal plans completely ruined as unwanted overtime at the end of a shift is commonplace due to a culture of refusing to authorise the handover of work to the following shift.

Extremely suspicious organisation - monitoring is also commonplace. Radios and cars are GPS tracked, all cars are black-boxed, all radio recordings and phone calls are recorded, all e-mails, text messages and saved files are routinely backed up and cannot be deleted, and all data is stored for 7+ years.

Vindictive upper management - anyone who's had any experience will tell you they're borderline corrupt. They work what they want, are accountable for nothing and answer to nobody. They can be extremely aggressive and confrontational when challenged.
  more...

Pros are virtually non-existent. If you're offered anything free or as a gift (such as a packet of biscuits) you have to surrender it and declare it on a formal register. Free teas and coffees from local businesses were outlawed as they were seen as potential bribes!

I would never work for Nottinghamshire Police again!
  less
Pros
None that I can think of anymore
Cons
Long hours, unskilled middle management, vindictive senior management, high levels of personal responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite a dull environment at Lakeside
Accident Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lakeside, UK2 May 2017
I work at Lakeside and the atmosphere is very dull which is one of the reasons why I wouldn't recommend working at that location. The flexi time you can accumulate is a bonus which enables you to accrue a total of 15hrs then you need to take the time off to a total of one day per month. There is plenty of training you need to complete as a new employee which is a little overwhelming but it is mandatory. I would advise to focus on job vacancies at Pheonix House and HQ.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Service
Detective Constable (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire28 April 2017
An underfunded service staffed by amazing people.

Its' management structure is too heavy and, until funding increases, promotion possibilities are extremely limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close knit team
File preparer (Former Employee) –  Nottingham17 April 2017
i was employed in the same role here as with Surrey Police, and the duties and responsibilites were pretty much the same. I was originally employed within this role at Nottinghamshire Police and due to a relocation to Surrey i was lucky enough to be employed within the same role. I enjoyed the working environment of being employed at a police station and interacting with police officers and other police staff and non police personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nottinghamshire Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
511
421
39
23
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Nottinghamshire Police Reviews by Location